We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Jack's Goodtime Tavern sodus point ny

Captain Jack's Goodtime Tavern sodus point ny
8505 Greig St, Sodus Point, NY 14555
315-483-9570
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Sodus Point
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Waterloo, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average to Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really liked the atmosphere. Had reservations for dining room with a table to look out at lake Ontario. Got there a half hour early but they got us seated right away at the table we asked for. Our waitress was very good. Food was average. My friends wife can be a bit fussy, but she only had a few minor complaints which is good for her! Had a nice time. will go back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Not the best ever but fun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Jack's is on Sodus Bay in Sodus Point and seems to be a 3 meal a day place plus a bar with a beautiful water view. Food was good but not outstanding. There were 7 of us for breakfast, each having a different entree and everyone was pleased. We liked the rustic/nautical atmosphere and think it would be fun for any meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I only had breakfast here, but it was a very nice location and the food and service were good. I'll return in the evening.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“there for a reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had the buffet offered for the group I was with. The dinner was decent but the dessert left much to be desired. Location is great, and it looked as though the regular diners were quite happy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fair Fixins at the Point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Four of us were seated immediately at a table at Captain Jack's on a Saturday night. However, the wait staff seemed to forget that we were there. After about 15 minutes, we were able to put in a drink order as well as our dinner order at the same time. One of our party tried the soup of the day, a lobster chowder that was full of large chunks of the seafood, very tasty. For dinner, one of us tried a hamburger since we had found good reviews for them at this restaurant, "best at the Point". It was mediocre at best, much more bun than burger. The side of french fries was somewhat soggy instead of crispy. Two of us ordered the fish fry, which was a good sized portion. Mine was bread coated, which was a mistake. The breading was too thick, although tasty. I was not able to eat all of the thick coating, but the fish itself was flaky and well cooked. A highlight for me was the side salad, which was lightly dressed with a wonderful, light touch.The last person in our party tried a pulled pork sandwich, which was rather small. All in all, I might return to Captain Jack's, but I would order differently.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Jack's Goodtime Tavern sodus point ny also viewed

Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
 
Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Captain Jack's Goodtime Tavern sodus point ny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Jack's Goodtime Tavern sodus point ny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.