We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I tried it...might revisit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abe's Waterfront

Abe's Waterfront
8527 Greig St, Sodus Point, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Sodus Point
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sodus Point, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I tried it...might revisit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Dining outside was awesome, with a beautiful view of the bay. Service was on the slow side and I had a bee in my wine. Obviously not the servers fault. She took it away and replaced it with another (20) minutes later. My hubby had a burger and fries which he said was just OK, I had chicken French which tasted like a soggy wet sock. Might try it again because the scenery is beautiful and the wine was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We enjoyed another dinner at Abe's last night. Our kids and grandkids ALWAYS want to go to ABE'S when they are in town. (they are from the Midwest) Although it was a cold night, the view was still great, the drinks were wonderful (we got the recipe for one) and the food made everyone happy, so much food. We planned to split a shrimp asiago dish and they actually served it on 2 separate plates from the kitchen. We got our favorite waitress back, she was so great helping the kids chose from the menu and helping our 10 year old with a cake surprise for great-grandma.
Such wonderful personal service. You can't go wrong, just go when you have time to spend and you can enjoy the experience. Love it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FINGER LAKES
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We planned a trip to Sodus Point for early October. I did some research on tripadvisor to find a good place for lunch and decided on Abe's. We were not disappointed. It was a warm mid fall day and we sat out on the deck right next to the water. The view great and the ambiance pleasant, It was the middle of the week and not very busy. Our server was prompt, attentive and very friendly. Our food was cooked to order and very good. We had a reuben and guacamole burger

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place has a beautiful view of Sodus Bay. Unfortunately, the service was slow, and the broiled perch were badly overcooked. I will give them another try.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Waste of a great view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Here sits this restaurant with this amazing view. We walk in no one says hi. no one really even acknowledges that you exist. We walk upstairs, no one says anything. We come back downstairs and finally someone says something. There are three adults and three toddlers (two and a half years old- triplets) in our party.

We order drinks and a crab dip with a caprese salad. 7 minutes later our drinks come. We ask the server for crackers for the girls as they are near meltdown mode (our bad for not thinking to bring any). Spur of the moment trip.

She brings the crackers rather quickly. Our crab dip arrives 22 minutes later. The server says the caprese salad will be out shortly. For real?? Cutting tomatoes and mozzarella cannot be done in 22 minutes... I digress. the salad arrives 6 minutes later.

Upstairs there are 7 tables, downstairs there are 15 tables outside and not a soul in the place inside.

Crab dip had no crab in it. Tasted more like a buffalo wing dip. When I asked server she said it was spiced as a buffalo wing dip but yes there was crab in it.

Caprese salad was good. Tomatoes were a little thin. A little see through

We ordered 3 seafood baskets and 2 kids meals for the girls to spilt.

Haddock was delicious in the basket, Scallops were tasty but the shrimp were completely overcooked. The cocktail sauce to dip in was still frozen.

It just sucks.. Here it is a girls day out, beautiful view and lunch sucks... took forever to get. And we are not talking it was cheap. It was not super expensive but still we drove 45 minutes to have lunch in Sodus Point, chose this place. Blew almost $100 and left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abe's Waterfront also viewed

 
Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
Sodus Point, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Abe's Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe's Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.