We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice B&b, but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sodus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
7563 Lake Rd, Sodus, NY 14551   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sodus B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice B&b, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Overall we had a pleasant stay at this B&B, which is located in an historic house about two miles from Sodus Point. Upon arrival we were welcomed by the owner, who gave us a tour of the house including its historic background.

We stayed in the Elizabeth Swayles room, which had a large bed and a view of the Lake (even though you can only see it in the distance between the trees). The bathroom was a bit old-fashioned and could do with an update. It was hard to figure out how the shower worked. The room had no tv either though this didn't bother us at all. There was also no wi-fi.

The house was pretty and very well presented. It was very clean and welcoming. We had use of an oiffce with a communal visitor fridge too. Breakfast was very nice (french toast with homemade peach butter and fresh local peaches). We both really liked it.

All in all we had a great time here but felt it was a bit expensive, 129 $ plus tax seemed a bit steep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I would definetly stay at Maxwell Creek Inn again and again. Loved the historic buildings, breakfast and inn keeper.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper41, Owner at Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
To all those who choose to stay at B&B’s. When you think about value please remember that; first, the Innkeepers do not live in the home for free. When we open our doors to allow strangers in for a safe and clean respite we not only generate income but also generate expenses. The locks on the front door are for your security and safety and the keys to gain access cost us money to duplicate and give to our guest. The soap, toothpaste, lotions, tissue, toilet paper, make-up removal cloths cost us money to provide. The initial expense of sheets, blankets comforters, pillows, decorative pillows, bath mats, towels, curtains, lamps, bed stands, luggage racks and more, cost money to provide. We have to replace the bath linen more often than you think because the guest thought it was OK to clean their shoes with them. The light bulbs for the hall lights that stay on all night for your safety and batteries for the smoke detectors cost us money to keep you safe. There is an expense to launder the sheets, blankets, mattress pads, pillow protectors, towels, bath mats after each guest. The guest use our water to bathe, to flush the toilet, and clean their sneakers in our showers. The guest use our electricity when they enjoy the air conditioner in their room full blast when not in the room, leave the TV on all night, turn on the lights, use our or their hair dryer. The guest enjoy the warmth generated by our furnace of which we must purchase the oil in order to run it. The guest enjoy the well groomed lawn , the pruned gardens and the lawn chairs we provide for their use. After each guest the accommodations are cleaned with the utmost care using environmentally safe products of which cost the innkeeper money to purchase. The guest enjoy the sumptuous breakfast that includes farm fresh fruits, or home baked goods with orange juice, coffee or tea, with the main breakfast that may be something like a Florentine egg basket or a peaches and cream French toast. The breakfast ingredients cost more than the plate full of food served. It includes the gas for the automobile to get to the farm market and grocery store. It includes the electric or gas to cook it. It includes the water and electric to wash the dishes and linen tablecloths and napkins. The electricity to run the vacuum cleaner after the guest has left. Not to mention the cost of the innkeepers time to do all of these things that the innkeeper does not draw a paycheck for. Furthermore, there is the expense to advertise through the Internet and or belong to industry organizations in order to draw guest to your establishment. The few things that I mention are only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to owning and operating a bed and breakfast. Additionally, the views of the outdoor scenery change with the seasons.

So when you think of value please remember what it cost the innkeeper to open their doors for your safe and clean respite with a friendly and warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

The Inn is situated on a lovely piece of property with a tiny view of the Creek and Lake Ontario, not, as advertised "on Lake Ontario". Our room was large with a lot of wicker furniture and a comfortable bed. But, for the price, $160.00, we expected more than 2 tiny plastic cups to drink from, a tiny TV set from the 50's, a few toiletries, AND heat! It was about 40 degrees and we were freezing but were informed that the heat had not been turned on yet.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper41, Owner at Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
We have not raised our rates in four years. However, our cost of doing business continues to escalate and we continue to absorb these cost. Our average room is $125 which includes a king size bed, private bath and a full gourmet breakfast. This is less than what most people pay for other accommodations. We are NOT a hotel. We are a bed and breakfast in a country setting surrounded by woodland wildlife, apple orchards and views of the lake. It is peaceful and relaxing with no traffic or loud noises. Guest are treated with the utmost respect and the best hospitality. Our rooms are kept immaculate unlike other accommodations. The grounds are groomed impeccablly and guest have free access to all common areas and the grounds. Although, we realize that all our guest have different taste in accommodations, we know that we can please some of our guest some of the time, but we can not please all or our guest all of the time. We realize that we can not be all things to all people and do it well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7563 Lake Rd, Sodus, NY 14551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Sodus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sodus
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 1846 Cobblestone house nestled on 6 acres along Maxwell Creek and Maxwell Bay on the south shore of Lake Ontario two miles west of Sodus Point on the Seaway Trail. Surrounded by Beechwood State Park and apple orchards the property boast a 1/4 mile of prime private shoreline fishing. 5 Gracefully appointed guest rooms with private baths in the main cobblestone house plus two efficiency suites in our Cobblestone Carriage House with kitchenettes;perfect for extended stays, families and groups. Full complementary breakfast included in room rates(except extended stays)Close to some of the best hiking and biking trails, wine trails, farm markets, museums, restaurants, gift shops, golfing, beach, boating, fishing and more. Guest enjoy the sites and sounds of the city in the rural charm of the country. Peaceful and relaxing this tranquil setting offers a piece of heaven on earth and gracious hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxwell Creek Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.