We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Gilded-Age (and Beyond) American Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kykuit

Kykuit
361 N. Broadway, Sleepy Hollow, NY
+1 914-366-6900
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grand home and grounds of this former Rockefeller estate offer a marvelous collection of modern sculptures, Chinese and European ceramics, fine furnishings and beautifully landscaped terraces and gardens.
Jaffrey, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Classic Gilded-Age (and Beyond) American Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The opulent gardens that surround the Rockefeller estate are an American Classic, and show
what can be accomplished when money AND taste coincide. The house itself is interesting, but
not of any particular architectural merit. The grounds, however, are exquisite and are well-worth
two hours of your touring time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    63
    19
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tujunga, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful worthwhile tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We don't tour many homes anymore because we have seen so many few seem worth our while (see Biltmore East, Falling Water, Hearst Mansion) but my wife wanted to do a return visit but with me this time. The docent was very knowledgeable but didn't pretend to know if she didn't...she would find out. The views of the Hudson wwere magnificent as were the gardens. We did the Grand Tour and it was worth every dollar.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour of the Rockefeller estate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came here as part of a college reunion weekend, and the tour was outstanding. Despite the unseasonably hot day for May, we had a great time, and our guide, Christina, was wonderful --- very knowledgable, witty, and considerate of those with mobility issues. The mansion and grounds are spectacular, but the highlight is the viewing of the rooms upon rooms of modern art amassed and displayed in a whimsical fashion by Nelson Rockefeller. We took the "classic" tour and at just over two hours, it was just right.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Rockefeller Estate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros: It is a short drive from the city. It gives an inside perspective on the one of the richest families in the States. House is very modest (size wise). It contains the notable collection of Chinese art. Underground floor has a modern art collection. Noteworthy, the collection contains the tapestries by Pablo Picasso.
Garage has 12 cars. Cars are from 1910-1960 (approximately).
Grounds are beautiful. The best time to observe them is during a sunny day. Classic tour covers only small portion of the gardens (however, it is a best deal if you want to see house and gardens).

Cons: it is a price of admission. Museum does not offer “suggested price” policy. Most of other NYC’s museums have this option.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Visit on a Summer Day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went to this estate and enjoyed fantastic sculptures, paintings, tapestries and other Art in and around the property. These items were collected over time by the Rockefeller family members who lived at the property. The tour guide also gave an interesting context to how the house came to be built, the stories of the family members growing up on the estate, and how the estate evolved over time. Also a fun visit to the Barn to see the carriages and family cars over time as well as learn more about the lifestyle of the Rockefellars from the early 1900's to today. Overall a fun visit and a very worthwhile day. Also - don't miss the Union Church of Pocantico Hlls - it has incredible stained glass windows by Chagall and Matisse that were purchased by the Rockefellers for the Church. I have never seen stained glass like those in the Church - truly breathtaking. You can see the Church as part of your day - you can drive 10 minutes from the visitor center and tour the church in under and hour. The tour of the house is 2 1/2 hours so in four hours you can see it all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kykuit also viewed

Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Tarrytown, Westchester County
 
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
Sleepy Hollow, Westchester County
 

Been to Kykuit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kykuit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.