We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Raw Bar - Snooty Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sherwood Inn
Save
You added Sherwood Inn to your Saves list
26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Raw Bar - Snooty Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We could have really enjoyed this meal, but the snooty staff really brought down the experience.
The Friday raw bar is delicious, pricey but delicious.. The hostess was very unfriendly, when seating us, even though there were many open tables, she sat us directly across from the waiter station. When I asked if we could get a better table, she shook her head and took us to a table in the back of the restaurant, slapped our menus down and walked off. I'm guessing this was do to our very casual attire, and some dreadlocks, but who knows.. The menu price for our raw bar sampler, changed apparently during our meal. Because when the waitress brought our bill at the end of the meal, she informed us that prices had went up .. Wth ???
So if you can get past the suddenly changing prices and unfriendly staff, you might very well enjoy your meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    19
    12
    7
See reviews for
20
91
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Fl.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have made many trips to the Sherwood Inn over the years and have never, ever been disappointed. Although I have seen a couple of bad reviews, my wife and I cannot for the life of us fathom what these individuals found to complain about. Yes the Inn is very old, but it is well taken care of and the rooms are beautiful and well maintained. As for the restaurant, it is excellent. The wait staff is very efficient and courteous at all times. We have sampled many of the items on the menu and never has anything been anything but excellent. If you are seated in the front you will have a beautiful view down the lake. We especially like the sun porch when the weather is warm enough to open the windows for some fresh lake air. After eating you can stroll the main street shops or sit on a bench and enjoy the lake. All in all, it's just a great place to spend a day or two.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the ones on the front side are nicer because of the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Actually this time we went to the Blue Water Grill and it was fabulous. Ought on the lake in the village. Loved the carpaccio and the lobster/crab sandwich. It was busy and if you wanted a quiet spot this isn't your place but I like the hustle of the summer. Service was also very good. Well worth the visit!

Room Tip: You are in the heart of the village so you can shop and browse without any effort. Wish that the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

charming, large inn located across the street from the lake. If you reserve on line you can see all the rooms and pick what you like. Great bar scene, large martinis, very good food and service...worth a stay if you are in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our second visit to The Sherwood Inn in two years. We will likely return again and again. It is so easy to travel around Skaneateles either on foot or by car. There are many things to do while there. We have enjoyed an annual sidewalk sale and the local farmers' market. We have enjoyed many of the restaurants in town and will continue to explore the area.

Our room was very comfortable. It was tended each day by a very good housekeeping staff. Many of the rooms have beautiful lake views. Many have sitting areas apart from the sleeping area. Many have both. The only drawback is that if your room is on the third floor, you must use the stairs. There are no elevators.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are much pricier than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pretty rooms, 4 poster beds and fireplaces in some, but housekeeping a bit sketchy. Shades in room dirty with bugs on them, water glasses in bathroom dirty, jet tub needed a serious scrub, coffee cups had dirt in and on both of them. Bathroom glasses in particular should be sanitized in dishwasher, not just rinsed out by the room maid. Bed not too comfortable. Nice location across from the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We made a reservation for a party of 8 for an early dinner reservation. We had a gift certificate valued at 300$ from a company called "Select Registry". In making the reservation, we told the inn that we had this specific type of gift certificate, and asked if they would honor it. They gladly took the reservation. Upon arrival I just wanted to verify that the certificate was good for them before we ordered food. THANK GOD I did that! Was told that the restaurant and the inn were two separate entities. Thanks Sherwood Inn, now my party of 8 has to find a new place to eat. Guess the customer is always wrong in their eyes. Also, we spent over an hour to get there. Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Inn

Address: 26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For almost two centuries, travelers have come to the Sherwood Inn to rest and relax. The Sherwood Inn offers 25 comfortable guest rooms, each carefully restored and uniquely decorated to retain the Inn's original charm. Many of our guest rooms overlook beautiful Skaneateles Lake, the easternmost of New York's five Finger Lakes. And always, our hospitality is enhanced by an attentive, friendly staff to make your stay comfortable and carefree. Lakeview dining is available in our casual Tavern and Front Porch or in our romantic, candlelit Dining Room ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Hotel Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.