We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers

Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers
22 Jordan Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1188
(315) 685-0100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great and Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything is fresh and it tastes it! You are in the middle of farm country and the salads are fresh, the eggs are fresh and the beef is fresh

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    19
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Love that you can order cafeteria-style and create your own (even with their already delish list of possibilities). I had one of the best burgers I've ever eaten at Johnny Angel's. I think it was called the 'sunrise burger' - it had an egg on top and I added some avocado--YUM. Not only could you order a scrumptious burger, but grab a beer fresh out of the iced cooler and a yummy side (sweet potato fries anyone?). There are picnic-style tables and kids toys to play with in the restaurant, so it is definitely geared towards families in a causal atmosphere. It took 10-15 minutes for our family of 4 to receive their order, but that is expected during a busy lunch hour. I will be returning soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This spot did NOT live up to its "Heavenly Burgers" proclamation. The 1/2 pound burger was nearly $9.00 and had no flavor. Our selection was supposed to be cheddar cheese on it, but we had to look to see if it was even there because the cheese didn't have any flavor either! The coleslaw was little more than chopped cabbage with no dressing of any sort. And the french fries were "shoe string" style with little left to enjoy. Will not go back any time soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Casual Lunch place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Even though burgers are there specialty none of had a burger, one had a grilled cheese and 2 of us had a Portabella burger. All the items came with french fries and we weren't asked if we wanted something else, I declined the french fries and gave them back, I wasn't asked it they could get me something else The girl at the register where we ordered my have been fairly new and couldn't answer some of our questions about the menu items.
It was fine for a quick meal, you order at a register, they call you name and you go get your food. They had some "topping" that you could add on your own, this was good, but some of the bins needed to be refilled.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Sunday breakfast...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Large place---long tables with checkered table cloth, lots of room to sit...its a burger joint, but in a swanky village so it is spotlessly clean, designed "rough" edges, etc.

Up front was a collection of toys in a corner...it is a family place...read on for more there.

Sun a.m.---for some b'fast not in a formal setting or "brunch", main option is this place in the Village.

Service line, cashier, several kids manning the grills. Eggs, sausage, hash browns, ham---bagels, donuts...cereal...you get the drift.

Everything is fried in butter I think...tasty as hell but bring the zantac. Other option there but just ordered what I guessed at...delicious but oh mama later!

We arrived at 8:45...only a couple locals ---seniors---in the place. One communal newspaper...being devoured by a couple---walked down the street got our own...came back and no more than 5 minutes later and several couples with kids appeared. Within 20 mins it was a tidal wave of 30 somethings all with rug rats in tow...outside looked like a stroller parking lot (when did those things get so high tech???)

The point---this is where all locals go after church for some grub---sure fire sign it is a good choice.

Just be ready for a million little ones on a Sun a.m.---food ok, just watch what you order.

I'll go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Angel's Heavenly Hamburgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.