We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doug's Fish Fry

Doug's Fish Fry
8 Jordan St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1110
315-685-3288
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I used to live in the Skaneateles area, this place the the best. I try to go up to NY once a year in the summer to see family and friends and I make sure to stop here each time. Try it out, you will love it...

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    91
    26
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrow, Alaska
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

All good food. Excellent and unique fish fry. Very efficient even when busy.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I don't even eat fish and love this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is the only time of year that I actually eat fish, sad since I know it is good for me. Doug's batter and the fresh flavor is terrific, make a stop here every time we visit. Huge portions, so we usually share. The strawberry sundaes are delicious to!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton township, nj
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

huge portions of fried fish.....Everything is fried here. Fish was very thick & fresh on a small tiny burger bun. you can do w/o the bun. the lobster bisq soup was kinda watery, but flavorful. good location. there was a line at lunch time, but it moved quickly. waited only about 15 minutes for food. the fish was good......

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fosh fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a Skaneateles icon. The best fishfry in the world at the best price! Not to be missed, but plan to stand in line if you visit during the summer months.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doug's Fish Fry also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Doug's Fish Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doug's Fish Fry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.