We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Caprese Salad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Water Grill

Blue Water Grill
11 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1004
315-685-6600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: $10 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
NO CALIF
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great Caprese Salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

At first we were put outside and it was too hot and flies. We asked if we could go inside to the air conditioned part. They were very accommodating. We all chose salads and an order of nachos. The Caprese salad (basil, tomato, fresh mozzarella, basil cheese toast on a bed of field greens. Their sandwich and burger menu was extensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    126
    40
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favorite Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our favorite lunch spot in Skaneateles. We love to take the boat out and dock at the community docks which are next door to Blue Water Grill. The daily specials and soups are great and go quickly. One of my favorites is the Portobello sandwich with boursin cheese. The bar can get very crowded later in the day but the drinks are good. They have recently added many draft beers and also a second bar next door called Blue Goose.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence, New York
2 reviews
“Lobster Roll , Garlic Scallop Corn Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It felt like I was in Bar Harbor Maine. Staff very friendly fast service Clean , and great location on the lake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location . . . too bad food didn't match it!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very disappointed in the food. I was excited to see a selection of sushi for an appetizer and when I got it it looked like someone had cut it with a machete. Hunks of tuna and salmon. And the rest of the meal disappointed, too. Mashed potatoes appeared to be instant and everything seemed a bit "weepy". Should have known better when there was sushi, Italian, Mexican and regular American food all on the same menu. Can't be all things to all people . . . Premier location in town but both the atmosphere and the food didn't make it worth it at all. Someone could get a hold of this space and really shine!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice beak from boating.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here on a whim for breakfast after docking our boat at the community dock. Quick service and good food. Say a table by the windows in the lake side. Quite nice. Breakfast meals were $6-$9 on average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Water Grill also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Blue Water Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Water Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.