We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sherwood Inn

Sherwood Inn
26 W Genesee St, Skaneateles, NY 13152-1020
315-685-3405
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Sherwood Inn features seasonal menus rooted in Classic American fare. Sherwood Classic items such as the Yankee Pot Roast and Baked Scrod Christopher are available year round, while our chefs change other seasonal entree selections based on the market availability of the freshest seafood, finest steaks and chops, and freshest locally grown produce. The menu often showcases several food and beverage options which are produced in New York State. A wide selection of Finger Lakes wine appear on our Wine Spectator Magazine award winning wine list.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“July visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The service, ambience and view were great. We ate in the Tavern side, which is more casual atmosphere and supposedly the same food. I was disappointed in the food overall, it was average. I had a $30 steak which was tough and not very flavorful. First course of lettuce wedge and French onion soup were average. I would say the lake and sidewalk views were worth it, and the staff took excellent care of us, very kind and classy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    87
    29
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We loved dining on the porch overlooking the lake. Dinner was excellent and service was superior. The menu offered a lot of options for both food and price range.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“great all-around American restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Beautiful and historic inn on the main street of Skaeateles. We were seated on the screened-in front porch facing the lake. Despite street noise, this was a great setting with a cool breeze coming off the lake. Menu had a lot of variety and almost everything was really great. Both varieties of bread served were excellent. The food was well-prepared with the exception of the steaks which surprised me since prior reviews mentioned how well the steaks were prepared. The strip steak ordered medium-rare was actually rare.
Service was super-friendly.
Overall, this place does a great job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We always eat on the Pub side and have consistently had wonderful waitresses. The food is always very good. On this visit, I had one small issue with my filet being med-well, instead of med-rare. The waitress noticed after my first bite and quickly asked if I wanted a new one. Because the rest of my family was already happily eating and the filet was still quite good, I declined. At the end of our meal, she graciously comped our desserts. It was a nice, professional touch. We'll be back again and again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What did you say??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Average food, nice setting across from the lake but low ceiling on the porch and a large dinner party in the main room right next to us made dinner conversation difficult.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherwood Inn also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sherwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sherwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.