We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated and Under Staffed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rosalie's Cucina

Rosalie's Cucina
841 W Genesee, Skaneateles, NY 13152
315-685-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Syracuse, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Over-rated and Under Staffed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited on Saturday night in my quest to find a decent Italian restaurant in the Syracuse area. Unfortunately, my quest will have to continue. Although you do get bread with one meatball (inside joke for fans of Ry Cooder), the meatball was overcooked and suffered from far too much bread crumbs and oregano. The pasta that accompanied the meatball was incredibly heavy and was covered in an insipidly bland tomato coulis. My wife loves polenta, but the appetizer she ordered was, in her words, "simply awful." Her entree, Rigatoni della Cucina, suffered from a similarly bland sauce and tasteless chunks of beef, veal, and pork...she couldn't tell which was which.

There was only one waiter and one busboy for the entire upstairs room...the cacophony downstairs was intolerable. Although they tried to be pleasant, repeated requests for drinks, water, and fresh ground pepper took far too long to fulfill.

I find it impossible to understand the high ratings... maybe no one writing has ever eaten in a decent Italian restaurant. I have, at at FAR less expense!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    46
    16
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food in a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had our anniversary dinner at Rosalie's. The atmosphere is wonderfully authentic Italian. The service was outstanding. They are very prompt, attentive and friendly. They answered all our questions and we were served in a timely manner even though it was a very busy night. The food was excellent and the ingredients were fresh and tasty. The night ended with a little old man playing the mandolin and singing from table to table. He serenaded me with a few Italian love songs after my husband gave him something a little extra. It was magical. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“superior service not so superior food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went this weekend to Rosalies expecting a wonderful meal because of the great reviews. We found out otherwise. The service was outstanding but we got our food and were completely disappointed. I ordered the boneless rib special and it came with green beans and tater tots. The ribs had NO flavor, none and the beans were barely cooked almost needed a knife to cut them. My husband ordered the pasta with 3 types of meat and he said it was very subpar with the noodles very al dente and sauce that tasted like chef Boyardee. We were very disappointed that we didn't even bother with desert, we went to Chilis for that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary with a dinner at Rosalie's. We had outstanding service.We were seated immediately and had prompt attentive service.The food was well prepared and delicious!
The atmosphere was old school Italian complete with a strolling minstrel! He was awesome! great voice and great presence! We would surely visit Rosalie's again and pick up some outstanding bread at the bakery next time!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best eats in Skaneateles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We've been going to Rosalie's for years, and it's always consistently great. The menu doesn't change much, except for the daily specials, but why tinker when it works so well? The warm spinach salad with roasted garlic is a must-have starter, and big enough to share among as many as 4 people. My personal favorite main course is the Cappa Santa, pan seared scallops, always perfectly cooked, wrapped in pancetta, and served with diced tomato and olive oil over angel hair pasta. Beware of the fresh-from-the-oven bread with olive oil to dip in, or you won't have room for the great food. They have an excellent wine by the glass menu, paired perfectly with the food. The noise level is a bit high when the restaurant is full, making conversation at a 6-person table difficult. Servers are friendly and attentive enough, without being intrusive. Check out the fresh meat and fish displayed in front of the open kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosalie's Cucina also viewed

Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
Skaneateles, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Rosalie's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosalie's Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.