We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Thanksgiving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobbit Hollow B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hobbit Hollow B&B
Save
You added Hobbit Hollow B&B to your Saves list
3061 West Lake Road, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
Fairport, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Since our children typically celebrate Thanksgiving with their in-laws we choose this time as a "get-away".

Our initial plan was to stay at the Sherwood Inn and have dinner there. Since the Sherwood was full we were referred to Hollow Hobbit B&B. What luck!

Although our dinner was wonderful at the Sherwood it was bedlam in the lobby area, not conducive to a restfull few days.

On the other hand, Hollow Hobbit was the perfect spot for a relaxing stay. The room was large, inviting, and full of amenities.
We had wine before a crackling fire. Since there are only 5 rooms you barely saw the other guests. It was like having your own mansion.

Laura, the innkeeper was very pleasant and tended to our every need. Her breakfasts were a delight.

We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

This was a gift from friends when my husband was home on R&R from Iraq. It was a wonderful place for a reconnect and enjoy each other during the short period we were together. We appreciated the quietness of the area. We went to the Sherwood Inn for dinner - a wonderful choice. Not much in walking distance to the Inn but a short drive brought you to downtown Skaneateles. Very beautiful.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

We chose this B&B because the Sherwood Inn which is located right in Skaneateles was full. This is one of their other properties just 2 miles outside town. The inn boasts sweeping views of Lake Skaneateles saying that it is just across the road from the lake. What they failed to mention is that parallel lake road is about a half mile from the Lake and that there is a vineyard between the farm house, the road and the lake so while you can see the lake – it is a long way away. This was the biggest disappointment.

The B&B itself is beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful. We upgraded to stay in the Lake View Room which was $230/night for 3 nights. Had we known just how far away the lake was, we would have stayed in one of the much cheaper rooms because you still get all the amenities and views around the farm house. Plus if you want to see the lake in the distance, they have a screened in porch at the front of the house where you can sit and relax. The lake view rooms are just not a good value in my opinion. The room itself and the en-suite bathroom were quite large and had lots of amenities like thick terry bathrobes, spa products and an in-room TV. It was furnished with antique furniture and the bedding included high end $800 Frette sheets. They must have a problem with their washer though because we noticed that the sheets and some of the fluffy towels had holes that looked as though they got caught in the washer.

The common rooms feature gorgeous furniture as well as things to do such as TV’s, games and high speed internet access. Wine, cookies, cheese, bottled water and other drinks are complimentary and easily available by asking the hostess or getting them from the refrigerator. Breakfasts were fantastic and included selections such as fresh fruit, local granola, blueberry stuffed French toast (they used croissants for the bread), vegetable frittata with ham on the side and traditional French toast with fruit.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

My wife and I spent our honeymoon week touring the Finger Lakes Region. We looked for B&Bs that were elegant but not outrageously priced. We checked on Hobbit Hollow online, saw the reviews here and booked it. The house is tucked away from the Lake on a quiet hillside. The interior is immaculate and well-decorated with fine antiques. Our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was large and clean. The Hostess gave us several recommendations for dinner and prepared a delicious breakfast the next morning. Being only a few minutes from the heart of town, the property was still very secluded, quiet and romantic. It was the best B&B that we stayed at on our trip (5 inns total). We would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — Luxurious Room
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

I spent the night at Hobbit Hollow Farm B&B with my boyfriend and it was everything we could have hoped for. The Innkeeper was a complete doll. She tended to our every need and was also conscience of our privacy. The rooms were all perfect right down to the ironed sheets and big fluffy towels. We were looking for a romantic getaway and that is just what we got. The room had a big jacuzzi tub with views of the lake. The breakfast was delicious and she served us outside on the deck since the morning was so beautiful. It was a little more than we planned on spending, but after checking out the other inns in the area we were glad we did so. Just a short ride to town and not far from the vineyards in the area. I will be writing a review on our wine trip and the must sees in the area.

  • Liked — The view of the lake
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

I loved the Hobbit Hollow. We stayed here for a night in the fall and it is just beautiful there. The breakfast was amazing and the service was great too. We had dinner at the Sherwood Inn (which owns Hobbit Hollow). It was a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

Maybe the wealthy investor hired a new innkeeper. This one is helpful but not at all intrusive.
We stayed over for our anniversary and had the Masters Suite..with a gas fireplace,a double whirlpool and an enclosed porch.
I am not too big into the decorative touches but it seemed just fine to me..We spent most of our time in the room,anyway and the room was lovely. We could see the lake from the veranda,where we sat and sipped wine in the afternoon.
Breakfast was well prepared and very good.
I wasn't REALLY expecting to feel "wowed" by the decor..It IS an inn after all and not a home.Wasn't looking for anything but a nice place to spend some time alone with my hubby. For what it is, it is just great. We have already booked this room for our next anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hobbit Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbit Hollow B&B

Address: 3061 West Lake Road, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on top a rolling hill and rising above colorful meadows, Hobbit Hollow offers sweeping views of vineyards and Skaneateles Lake, the Eastern Gateway to the Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Hobbit Hollow is a turn of the century Colonial Revival farmhouse featuring five elegant and comfortable guest rooms, each uniquely appointed with master-crafted period furniture including four-poster beds, antique accessories, exquisite linens and private baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbit Hollow Bed And Breakfast
Hobbit Hollow Hotel Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobbit Hollow B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.