We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mirbeau Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Mirbeau Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Syracuse
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as nice as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mirbeau a couple of times over the past few years. The last time, two years ago. This past week, we went to stay for our anniversary. I was very disappointed. One thing I loved about the Mirbeau was the smell of lemongrass and lavender everywhere in the hotel. That was goine. It was a hot day and the air conditioning didn't seem to be working very well. Our room was only okay. I noticed water marks on furniture, the concrete countertop in the bathroom was worn and the bathtub leaked all over the floor. Also, the service you'd expect when you pay 300-400.00 per night wasn't there either. The girl who checked us in seemed annoyed. This time, we were staying in one of the cottages insead of the main lodge. We were a bit confused trying to find it. A male staffperson wearing a name tag walked right by and ignored us when we said we couldn't figure out where our room was. The Mirbeau is not the high-end spa it used to be. :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your Mirbeau experience was not enjoyable. We perform room inspections and customer service training daily and have reviewed your comments with our staff to correct any issues. We hope that you will visit us again for a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    83
    52
    42
    16
See reviews for
33
198
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Valley, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed here many times in the past and while the rooms and gardens are still nice, service is really poor. No one greets you to help you with your bags, not enough staff in the bar or restaurant and the twelve dollar resort fee that is mandatory is just another way to take your money. When you are spending over $300 a night in the prime of summer, you deserve better value. Eat at Rosalies next door for great Italin food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read that you were disappointed in the service given during your Mirbeau experience. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and corrected any issues found. We hope to see you as a Mirbeau guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautifully conceived, created and carried out, Mirbeau is a special, totally out of the ordinary experience in every way. The details would go on and on beyond what anyone would read, so we'll say only, besides noting the enthusiasm, knowledge and helpfulness of everyone on staff, that Mirbeau not only constantly delights the senses and satisfies every expectation you could reasonably have, it over and over satisfies expectations you didn't know you had. We thought about not writing this for fear that we'd never be able to get a reservation again, but when a place is created and run so well, it's unfair to everyone associated with it not to acknowledge what they've accomplished.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed your Mirbeau experiences. We pride ourselves on our 4-diamond service and are happy to see that we have succeeded in your visits. We hope to see you again soon as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The gardens are spectacular. The service was exceptional. We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to bike in the region. Liz went out of her way to get us a custom bike ride that was spectacular and helped whenever we needed assistance. I would highly recommend Mirbeau and am looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Mirbeau. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experiences and thank you for sharing your anniversary with us. Your travel photo is also quite lovely, capturing our gardens in the beginning of their bloom. We hope to see you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Took advantage of a special all inclusive package. Money towards dinner, free breakfast and two spa treatments with an overnight stay. Fantastic. I was, however expecting lighter "spa" fare, which I did not find for either dinner or breakfast. Place is spotless and the staff was amazing. We were treated as true guests. We plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy to see that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experience and the package that you chose. When you return, we suggest inquiring about our Light Fare menu that is served in the Aqua Terrace after 2:30 p.m. This menu features the lighter, spa fare that you were looking for. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were staying about an hour and a half from this hotel in a home on Keuka Lake. My husband and I were traveling with my best friend and her husband. Typically, when we travel, we'll do a girlie day while the boys go fishing. After seeing the website for Mirbeau, I decided that even though its a drive from our house we should make the trek. It was definitely worth it. The grounds are beautiful, theres an indoor meditation area where you can wait for your treatments. We really loved the outdoor space with a "natural" hot tub and waterfall. We got the massage and lunch package and asked if we could have our lunch on the patio. We had our treatments on a wednesday so the spa was quiet and we had the whole space to ourselves. Both my friend and I had great massages and we both really enjoyed the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to read that you were able to take advantage of the quietness of a mid-week visit and that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experiences. Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you and your friends as Mirbeau guests again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had high hopes for this place from reading reviews and looking at their website. In fact, we were worried that it might rival our favorite not-too-far getaway spot, the Mirror Lake Inn in Lake Placid. The MLI need not be worried -- the theme for our entire visit was that everything looked like it'd be spectacular, but the experience came up short. While most of the staff are fairly enthusiastic, they generally don't seem to know how to provide really top notch service.

One note: the reservationist was truly excellent -- really helpful and accommodating when we needed to delay our visit due to my hubby getting sick.

As you can see, the setting is beautiful, imitating Monet's garden. It was wonderful to sit on the open air patio overlooking the pond and listen to the pond frogs while awaiting lunch. The frogs were actually a favorite element for us -- in the evening I sat on our room's patio with my iPad and figured out which frogs/toads were calling each other! As for the food in the restaurant, my hubby had a fantastic salad while I had an overcooked piece of chicken with a mediocre risotto. LIkewise at breakfast -- it was great being out there, but our server neglected to mention that we were entitled to the continental breakfast set up inside in addition to our hot entrees until we had been sitting there for 20 minutes, waiting for our coffee and entrees. The food was OK -- not bad, but not great.

Our room in the cottage had that great patio overlooking the pond, however to get to that patio we had a sliding screen door that kept coming off the track. The room was set up in a way that wasn't practical. For example, the facial tissue was in a dusty wicker box along with extra toilet paper and was situated behind the toilet in a separate room from the sink. The armoire that held the TV and the mini fridge had doors that did not have room to fold back, so we had to move furniture to fold them back so that we wouldn't slam into them when walking in the room and they were open. There was an ice bucket available but no indication of how one got ice (I called the front desk and she said there wasn't anyplace to do it but she'd go to the kitchen for us to get some). The claw-footed soaker tub was very nice but the stopper was off its chain and the chain was hanging into the drain.

The spa was a big draw for us picking this place. Unfortunately, it also looked better than it was. I was given a quick orientation to the facilities before my massage, but the staff member neglected to show me that there was an outside lounge area with a hot tub available. In the women's locker room there were used robes piled on chairs. The spa makes a big point of arriving early enough to "enjoy" the resting area before one's treatment, and it is the place where your therapist comes to collect you for your treatment. This faux stone room had a doughnut-shaped foot bath, a fire place, and napping chaise lounges. As others have mentioned, there was not a lot of room (the room is large) for people to sit/lounge and we were there on a Monday and Tuesday. A much bigger problem, though, is that the room was HOT -- I sat in an upright chair, grabbing one of the two ice washcloths available to literally endure being in there. The cucumber water dispenser was full but didn't work. The chaise lounges where people were supposed to sleep had towels at the base of the lounge chair that did not get changed between people. The lounge chairs themselves had soft canvas cushions on them -- not the most sanitary looking situation. By the time my therapist came to get me for my massage, my heart was pounding from the heat as if I had been in a sauna -- not relaxing! The second day I made sure not to get to the resting room any earlier than absolutely necessary (the cucumber water spigot didn't even trickle that day). After I told the staff about the spigot someone came to poke around in the water and left. However, they were kind enough to bring me some of that water in my treatment room as the spigot was broken. I had two spa treatments during our stay, and both the massage and the pedicure were fine, but not outstanding.

Most importantly, we took the time to carefully and in detail fill out the feedback from for the property (we had to find a blank one as the one supplied in the room had already been filled out by someone). We dropped the completed form off at the front desk at check out, including our contact info should they want further details or to respond to our comments. In addition, my husband filled out another feedback form emailed to him after our stay. It has been well over two weeks since we filled out these forms and we have not heard a word from the management, Sadly, this reflects our experience in staying at this property -- the forms said they wanted to know about our stay and how things could be improved, yet (so far anyway) there has been no response,

So the next time we are looking for a little getaway with attentive service in a wonderful setting overlooking the water we'll go back to the Mirror Lake Inn and Spa -- we'll miss those Mirbeau pond frogs, though.

Room Tip: If you do book here, I would choose a first floor room in the cottages so that you'll have a pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your Mirbeau experiences. We have reviewed your comments with our staff regarding service and facilities and have corrected any issues we have found. We pride ourselves on our 4-diamond service and facilities and appreciate responses like yours to continually improve. We hope that you will reconsider and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Address: 851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirbeau Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirbeau Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.