We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An obvious total lack of knokwledge in the kitchen from a to z” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Mirbeau Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Mirbeau Inn & Spa
851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$199 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An obvious total lack of knokwledge in the kitchen from a to z”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I am sadden to read that some guest supposedly in vacation suddenly become self proclaimed food or hospitality critics....gimme a break....now we know your dream...what s your real life???
Anyway, where is the Chef? The food is a sad trial with a total absence of culinary background. Why do they gamble so much with the credibility of the spa.
We were there after Cristmas and everything was great until we approached the food or what it was hoping to be.
You have the wrong person in the important place. The guy with curly gray hair at the front desk is Not an asset to your company despite what he is sure of(come on body, a little humility goes a long way....i experienced the talk....you failed at the walk...)and the chef is not a cook or anything that belong in a professional kitchen, surely a nice guy but for the love of God not, Not a culinarian....
We will be back and hope to enjoy the changes.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations and invite you to contact our property to further discuss your experience. We look forward to seeing you at Mirbeau again in the future.  
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    80
    47
    41
    16
See reviews for
29
189
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed three nights (paid $250/night plus additional $12 resort fee and taxes). We stayed in a King Cottage, so we had to walk a short distance outside over the lovely bridge to the lobby/spa/etc.

FYI IMO: Skaneateles, NY - "town center" itself consists of three blocks of boutiques, restaurants and utility stores (realty offices, pharmacies, etc). Very nice lake and gazebo. Stores and cafes seems to open around 10am and close around 5-6pm. Only the restaurants seem to stay open later. Not much to do otherwise. There are area wineries, but if that's not your thing...

HOTEL:
I overheard the hotel was fully booked, but the grounds were fairly quiet, as were the rooms (no noise from adjoining cottages). It snowed on and off the days we were there, which made it very lovely. Although we did see workers salting and shoveling the walkways, it was not done consistently, so there were always some icy patches on the walkways and some small piles of snow and icy spots in the parking lot.

The lobby has a large sitting area and fireplace. When we were disappointed that there was no hot chocolate or apple cider and cookies (it had been set up only for the town's Dickens Christmas event), the manager offered to have the bartender/kitchen make us some. We declined, but I thought it was very nice of her to offer. FYI, there is a large hot tub at the spa, but the hotel has no pool. Kudos to Sheri at the spa and Renzo at the restaurant for their cheerful attitudes.

ROOM:
There are fireplaces in every room, most spa treatment rooms and at the outdoor hot tub, ALL gas (no wood). The room fireplaces have timers. The room is fairly spacious, with a small writing desk and a small seating area. There is a flatscreen TV but no HDTV signal, so the picture is stretched and the logos/channel markers are OLD (channel listings for channels that don't even exist anymore or have changed their name). Room has a hairdryer, a digital safe roomy enough for a laptop and more, plenty of pillows, blackout curtains, coffee maker, minibar, radio, and plenty of towels.

The bathroom is very large with dual sinks, a claw foot tub and a large triangular walk in shower with rain shower head. There is good water pressure. I liked the hotel branded toiletries by Gilchrist and Soames ("Wake Up Rosemary"). Two robes were in the room - one size fits most. Men need a larger robe, so it would have been nice if there had been another size available. The room needs more lighting - when the curtains are closed or it is nighttime, you cannot read in the room. The batteries in the remote control to the DVD player were dead and the replacement batteries I requested from housekeeping did not work either.

The $12 resort fee (which I believe is not optional) includes turndown service, wifi (no password needed), bottled water, newspapers, unlimited fitness classes, use of the gym (equipment is NOT "state of the art" as advertised, they are older machines, but the gym does have TVs, water, headphones and towels), in room DVD player and unlimited DVD borrowing from their library. I would suggest that they roll the $12 fee into the nightly room rate and advertise all of the amenities as free of charge - it would make the customer feel less nickeled and dimed and that they are getting more luxuries for free.

SPA:
The spa treatments we tried were very good and the therapists were friendly, professional and thorough. The treatment rooms are nice, in room showers where applicable, gas fireplaces, clean, and had a relaxing ambiance. There was NO hard sell on products after a treatment, which was nice. The relaxation lounge has water and tea, plenty of lounge chairs and a heated foot pool (the water was warm, not hot, when I tried it).

The vestibule from the spa to the outdoor hot tub needs better ventilation, as there is a gas smell build up from the wall mounted gas fireplace. Parts of the outdoor hot tub area were covered in snow and the wet bar was never open when we were there. The hot tub could easily fit 25 people, but the sign posted says a maximum of 15 people. There are bathing suit spinners in both locker rooms, which were very convenient. There is a very nice eucalyptus steam room and dry sauna in both locker rooms. Lots of locals use the spa.

Having used the ladies locker room at the spa every day that I was there, I observed that the attendants collected used towels and restocked the amenities very sporadically. I did see them working, but there were times that I saw the plastic bags for wet clothing were out, the make up remover was out, the lavender scented towels were there once and the mouthwash was never refilled the entire time I was there. The large ottomans in the locker room are very stained and need cleaning badly. The lockers are very shallow - barely 12 inches deep. Gilchrist and Soames Wake Up Citrus, Rosemary and Lavender are available for use in the locker rooms.

RESTAURANT:
Guests are welcome to walk around in spa robes during breakfast and lunch.

The Continental Breakfast consists of three cheeses, fruit, pastries and small mini bagels, yogurt, granola, ham/proscuitto, coffee and tea. As it was explained to us every time - each hotel guest is given a $10 credit to use towards either the continental breakfast above OR towards the other entree selections on the menu (which are mostly $10 or above). If you order the lemon ricotta pancakes ($10, they were nice) and a glass of OJ, you'll be paying for the OJ. Taxes and tips are NOT included in the $10 credit. The french toast was actually a pumpkin bread pudding. I did ask our server the time so we could finish breakfast before our spa appointments and she later reminded us of the current time to keep us on track, which was thoughtful.

The restaurant was fully booked on Christmas Eve, so we ate from the wine bar menu in the bar area. It took 20 minutes to be served our caesar salads. They mistakenly gave one of our main courses to another table, where it sat for 15 minutes before they realized their mistake. We had to wait for them to make a fresh order, so I was finished with my meal before he even got his entree. They WERE very apologetic and comped his main course and a dessert for us (they offered to comp our whole meal, but we declined).

We ate at the hotel's $44 Christmas Day brunch buffet, as everything else was completely closed on Christmas Day. We opted to eat at one of their three seatings. Lots of choices of appetizers and desserts, main course choices a little lacking -- as advertised:

"eggs made to order" - it should have been listed as an omelette station (they were not set up for scrambled, hard boiled, eggs over easy, poached) and my omelette was a bit greasy and runny

"pasta station" - only ONE pasta (pappardelle) and ONE sauce (alfredo) available (we asked our server if we could get marinara sauce and were told it would take at least an hour), and since it was cooked to order, it took MORE than 15 minutes to get the fresh pasta cooked from the single portable butane burner, which I ended up foregoing for the ready made penne with cheese at the kids' station

But it was all you could eat, steamship of beef, glazed ham, chicken fingers, mushroom and spinach risotto and roasted veggies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for joining us at Mirbeau for the holidays! We appreciate the thorough review of your stay and our resort and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room, spa treatments, our resort, and our staff’s service to you. We will review your comments with our staff to correct any issues we may find. Thank you again and we hope to see you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stay in Skaneateles about 3-6x per year and have usually stayed and eaten at either the Sherwood or Packwood. We decided to stay at Mirabeau this season for just a few dollars more and were totally amazed by both the Spa and Resort.

We stayed in a club room and glad we did - it was like having another living area and room all to ourselves. The afternoon wine and snacks were a huge plus for us. It was worth the extra $$ for sure.

We had massages and that was a great experience including the waiting room, workout room, outdoor hot-whirl pool area, and the actual massage itself.

The staff was friendly, albeit a bit timid and green. Every staff member all said hello, but nobody went the extra mile to see if everything was ok, if they could do anything for us, etc.

The restaurant was average for breakfast and dinner was horrible (see my other review on the Mirabeau restaurant).

I would definitely return the Mirabeau for the resort and spa as this experience was superb, but will not return to the restaurant for dinner. If there is one weak link in the Mirabeau quality chain it would be the restaurant - the rest of the links (spa, resort, accommodations) in the quality chain are of high quality.

Room Tip: Get a club room - you will have a much better & roomier experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Mirbeau experiences at the Resort and the Spa. Our Club Rooms are the perfect setting for travelling with friends. We apologize that our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We work very hard to give the best quality food and service and will review your concerns with our staff to correct any issues we may find. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at Mirbeau in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The staff really made me feel welcome. They truly cared about how happy I was. They made me feel that I didn't have a care in the world.
The property is like being in France and my partner wants us to return to see the beautiful garden in the summer. We loved the wine bar and the restaurant was top notch, again offering unmatched service.
The spa spoils you with oils and aromatic essences. The massages and fitness classes are an added bonus.
We can not wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experience! We strive to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and are happy that we succeeded during your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here multiple times over that 6 years. I keep giving the place chances. Recently, we booked a club room over a busy Dicken's weekend.

The place is run-down looking on the exterior and interior. The price is just too high for what you get. No valet (since Jack died...just a vacant chair out front). You have to lug your own luggage to and from your room...and to the car.

The furniture and most finishings are showing a lot wear...doors, carpets, tables, and stained fabrics everywhere. Debris in walkways. Cobwebs on the ceiling in the club room's bedroom...drapes falling down. Poorly stocked club room...not even cream for the coffee. Nothing but messy cabinets below as I searched for coffee supplies. Sunday brunch food was not replenished and what was left was dried out.

Young staff overall that has no real skill in hospitality...awkward. One would expect more for a $1,000+ bill.

Spa...timid staff seemed nervous and rushed...especially for the hundreds of dollars in services. Staff made quiet room noisy by droves of them constantly going in and out of staff room. Debris around overly chlorinated hot tub...dirt and leaves and paper. Fabrics all stained in locker rooms.
Won a spa award...how?

I really got the feeling that the place is only interested in two things booking rooms and booking spa services. Their extended effort stops after they get you there...disappointing experience...should be magical.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your last visit with us. Please be assured that we do perform maintenance checks regularly around our facilities and will review your comments with our staff to correct any issues we may find. Also, our dear doorman Jack is alive and well and celebrating a well-earned retirement. Thank you again and we hope to see you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I surprised my wife and took her for an early birthday getaway weekend to Mirbeau. First let me say the town of Skaneateles is very quaint and the Anyela winery is a must see. We fell in love with the '11 Dry Riesling, it is now one of my favorites. Now onto the stay....We checked in early and our room wasn't ready, and as my plan had it we went down to the spa and utilized the outdoor jacuzzi. A few hours and glasses of wine later we went to the front desk and received our room key. Now when we did check into our room we had an issue that could of ruined our stay, apparently a past guest decided it was okay to smoke in the non smoking room. We called and spoke with Jennifer who works as the housekeeping manager I believe and she took care of the problem immediately. Customer service is truly important to them. The rooms are great, very cozy with an intimate feel. We had dinner next door at Rosalie Cucina and that was spot on as well. My wife did have a massage the next morning and she said she enjoyed it thoroughly, it was apparently done with oils that were scented with wine. Overall I would stay here again in a heartbeat and hopefully will soon. They take care of their guests and everything about the hotel is top notch in my book.

Room Tip: We had a cottage and enjoyed the separation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experience. We are also happy that Jennifer was able to assist you immediately. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and are proud that she was able to do this for you. Thank you again and we look forward to having you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There's not a whole lot that we found in the fingerlakes region that is of similar caliber to this property. We stayed with wife and kids over thanksgiving and had a decent stay. Obviously it was a bit off season, so the inn seemed a bit slow, but the spa was bustling the entire time including all day on thanksgiving.

The room itself was spacious and well appointed. The bathrooms are configured very nicely giving great space for the vanity with the toilet in a separate area. Also a nice big separate tub. The breakfast was a bit disjointed. A "european continental" is included, but you still have a waitstaff seating and providing drinks. One morning we had 3 different people asking our drink orders and bringing us plates. It wasn't the end of the world, but it seems like Mirbeau could simplify the process. That being said all of the items were fresh and homemade. The hotel staff was friendly and prompt but seemed like they have a lot of young people working there.

The spa must be the only spa of it's kind in the area because there was a lot of locals using it. The relaxation room was impressive.

I have to be honest that this was not the nicest hotel i've stayed at, but in comparison to sherwood inn in town, you get the idea that this is one of the best options on the east side of the finger lakes.

4 stars is only because of the price (as others have noted here) is high for the value. But there's really no other serious options in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for spending your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experience with your family. We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Address: 851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirbeau Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.