We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mirbeau Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Mirbeau Inn & Spa
851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Sainte-Marthe, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Mirbeau Inn is an oasis of tranquility and beauty where we spent our 20 th anniversary. All staffmembers were so pleasant! The best sleep we have had in any hotel and you can purchase the pillows and mattresses at reasonnable prices. The spa is worldclass and the wine bar was fun. Unfortunately the beautiful gardens suffered greatly from this summer's drought but the surroundings were still beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor allow you to eat breakfast outside on your private terace but rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed your experiences with us and thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special celebration. We look forward to having you as our guests at Mirbeau again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    80
    48
    41
    16
See reviews for
29
191
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Mirbeau is a beautiful property within walking distance to town. Rooms are beyond comfortable. The restaurant is great for breakfast. Dinner was pricey and the food was solid but not over the top. For a restaurant with a French flair the bread was surprisingly ordinary. Where was the warm crusty French bread instead of run of the mill rolls? The spa was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio over looking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your hotel, dining, and spa experiences at Mirbeau. When you visit again, please be sure to inquire to the restaurant about our French bread (baked in-house, daily) from our Bakery. This is found during the daytime hours. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you for another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Had a 50th birthday celebration at Mirbeau with family and friends. We had fantastic massages (others liked their facials, etc.) and an excellent dinner. Breakfast was mediocre. The grounds were beautiful - our room overlooked the pond filled with lily pads and koi fish which were fun to feed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pre-massage relaxation room was very peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review as well as including us in such a special birthday celebration. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spa and dining experiences and hope that you will return to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday. It was beautiful! The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating! The room was gorgeous and clean! The bathroom was huge and there was a cool tub and a giant stand up shower! Dinner there, although very expensive, was worth every penny!! My massage was amazing! Well done Mirbeau, I will definitely return!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you very much for including us in your girlfriend’s birthday celebration! We are pleased that you enjoyed all your spa, dining, and overnight experiences at Mirbeau. We hope that you choose to return and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed one night in the August long weekend and this hotel was very nice experience. The price is high but it worth. The room is very luxury and have a very comfortable bed. The shampoo and other stuffs are high quality.

If you stay for one night you can use the spa for free. So, if you are a couple, I would suggest to stay and enjoy this comfortable/charming spa.

There were few issues but nothing serious. The reservation information said that the room would be available at 4pm but they delayed for 1h or more. The access to the rooms have some stairs, so you need to carry your luggage.

I would for sure recommend to my friends.

Room Tip: Pick the cheapest one - all of them are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Mirbeau experience. When you return, please let the front desk know if you need luggage assistance. Our bell staff would be pleased to assist you in luggage transfer to your room. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guests in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a room with 2 queen beds as we stayed with our 2 young kids (4 and 9). The place is very beautiful inside and out. Our room was pretty big and the bathroom was huge. It had a clawfoot tub and a walk in shower. The hotel let the kids feed the fish in their pond in the morning which they enjoyed. We ate breakfast at the hotel one morning. They provide you a continental breakfast in the price of the room and they let you choose something off their menu and pay the difference if you want. We tried the french toast which was very good and the kids had the donuts. The other morning we just grabbed some muffins and croissants to go and they gave us a couple carryout boxes for that which was nice. The hotel is located close to downtown Skaneateles but not necessarily within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you chose to visit us with your children and that you enjoyed our breakfast service. We hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I went to the spa recently with a friend . We had a nice massage and enjoyed the spa but wanted to go to the wine bar after. We were extremely disappointed! We were ignored by the bartender even though we had a menu in our hand and stood around for 15 minutes . We left and went somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Mirbeau Inn & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience at Spa Mirbeau and apologize for your disappointment in our bar service. We will review your comments with our dining management and adjust any services issues that we find. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Address: 851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirbeau Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.