We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed perfection because of a few minor missteps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mirbeau Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Mirbeau Inn & Spa
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Missed perfection because of a few minor missteps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We stayed at the Mirbeau for 3 nights. It would have been perfect except for a few missteps, all of which could have easily been avoided by the staff.

A call the week before asked if our stay was because of a special occasion - it was, I told them the occasion, and it was never mentioned again during our stay. Then why ask?
The "chilled champagne upon arrival" was not there, we waited about a half hour, called, and soon received a bottle of nice, yet lukewarm champagne.
We stayed in a club room - if you are considering this, feel free to contact me directly for the pros and cons - where you share a large, comfy, pleasant "living room" with who ever may be staying in the other 2 rooms. The first night of our stay, the couples staying in the other rooms partied in the common area. I went out there around 8 am to watch the morning news and eat breakfast. I finally had to call to get someone to pick up the beer bottles, half-consumed drinks, etc. from the common area.
Each day of our stay, there was some small thing that was not attended to in our room - used dishes not taken away, bathroom glasses not replaced with clean, bathmats not replaced.
The spa is lovely, but when I went there to make some purchases, there was only one person there - it was impossible for her to assist me, answer the phone and manage walk-ins. Plus, the lighting is so low, I couldn't tell if the cosmetics I was interested in buying were the right color!

Ok, none of that is serious, but for the price, none of that should have happened.

Echoing what others have said, the setting is beautiful and tranquil. One of the days of our stay was an unusually warm Monday, and I sat outside and read all afternoon and never saw another person! Every staff member I encountered was friendly, yet not overbearing. The food is fantastic, the wine list outstanding, and the service was impeccable - we had lunch one day, and ate dinner on two evenings. It was perfect each time. Our spa treatments were fine, but we both agreed that we're not "spa experience" people, we're just there for the treatment.

Again, if you are considering the club room, feel free to contact me directly.

  • Liked — Quiet, beatuiful facility with outstanding dining experiences.
  • Disliked — Missed the little things that would have made the stay perfect
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    83
    52
    42
    16
See reviews for
33
198
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

Oh my goodness, was this place amazing. You drive off the road and you think, how could this place look like it does? and then you drive and you're in Europe... in Monet's garden. The spa was magnificent, the food was better than amazing ( a 5 course tasting menu where each course was better than before with a wine flight)- it's a spa for couples that feels great for a man to be there as well as a woman! We can't wait for another excuse to go back!

  • Liked — a romantic getaway
  • Disliked — it's far away from our house
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This is a lovely property tucked away on the outskirts of Skaneateles (a charming if somewhat limited little village). The staff was friendly, helpful, courteous and professional.
The rooms are spacious, clean, and unique from most other hotels you will encounter. Beamed ceilings, warm wall colors, and a bathroom to die for.
The restaurant is quite nice, although a little stiff in terms of ambiance, but the food was some of the best we had in the region, and they try hard. The service in the restaurant was impressive.
The single most wonderful feature of this property is the spa. The "aqua terrace" is an amazing outdoor rocky hot tub which faces a large outdoor fireplce. You do not need to book a spa treatment to enjoy this space, but the treatments are worth it, should you choose to indulge.
I can't end this without mentioning the beds. This is the single most comfortable bed we have EVER slept in! The only downside to that is that you might fall asleep a little sooner than you might like to, when in a place as romantic as this one.
Off the beaten path. Close enough to the wineries, but far enough away from the crowds. Not your typical "tourist trap" enivironment. This place is not to be missed!

  • Liked — The garden. The bed. The
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed at Mirbeau one night for our anniversary. I like smaller hotels with character, and this one fits the bill. As others have written, the staff is attentive, the grounds are beautiful, and the food is excellent at the restaurant. My wife had a spa treatment, which she claimed to be superior, I used the gym, which was great for a hotel this size. The spa area is very well done, with numerous choices for whirlpools, saunas, etc. Our room overlooked the garden and was large, and comfortable. This is a very well designed little place.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila.,PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2007

Mirbeau is a beautiful destination. The entire property has a polished country french charm. We found the gardens spectacular, and all the folks who worked there were helpful and friendly. One evening we ate dinner in the dining room. It was delicious, and our waiter was extremely helpful, recommending destinations in the area. Over all a worthwhile trip.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

This place was amazing. The room, the food, the spa. I read a few negative reviews here and completely disagree. Compared to the renowned Hershey Hotel and Spa, Mirbeau is far nicer. The spa pays attention to every detail. The staff is friendly without being intrusive (which is nice when you are looking to get away from everything). The rooms were amazing. The food was also amazing. Loved the gardens, the background music etc. I will Definately return soon!!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2007

If you've always pictured how it will be when you die and go to heaven...this is it!

This was a 3 night stay in middle June.

Not a place to bring the entire family. This is where you escape the rat race with your significant other or friends and learn what it means to relax. The kids would go seriously bored.

With less than 50 rooms, this property is small but every detail works without being gaudy. The focal point is a lovely pond surrounded by seasonal flowers and foliage that is fashioned after Monet's Gardens (and lives up to it!). Hear the birds and frogs singing into the night and early morning. View it all from the amazing quality restaurant. Just sit on your patio (do the cottage lower floors; there are no other private patios) - and read a book.

Everybody says "yes" at Mirbeau - it's pound for pound the best service we've ever encountered, from housekeeper to waitress and even at the spa - where they are not snooty.

Speaking of the spa, the treatments are very good, but use the Resting Center, Whirpool and Sauna/Steamer. If you can't loosen up here, you're a lost cause.

And the restaurant...simply amazing for breakfast and dinner. Have lemon pancakes or french toast brioche...try the 4 course dinner with little palette cleansing gifts between courses. What a treat!

Only downsides are that 1) it's not walking distance to town, which isn't that great anyway. And that doesn't matter much, b/c you drive to the wineries, so who cares; and 2) that if the place is heavily booked it might be annoying to share such bliss w/lots of people.

Just go!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirbeau Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirbeau Inn & Spa

Address: 851 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mirbeau Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirbeau Inn & Spa is a 34-room luxury Spa Resort combining the amenities of a boutique country inn, world-class spa and nationally acclaimed fine dining, all with the elegant comforts and residential feel of a wine country estate.The Inn and Spa consists of six buildings clustered around beautifully landscaped ponds and impressionist gardens. The exterior architecture, interior decor and landscape design are reminiscent of an Old World French Country Estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mirbeau Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirbeau Inn And Spa
Mirbeau Spa Skaneateles
Mirbeau Hotel Skaneateles
Spa Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirbeau Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.