We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful During Winter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn of Skaneateles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skaneateles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Village Inn of Skaneateles
Save
You added The Village Inn of Skaneateles to your Saves list
25 Jordan St, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Skaneateles B&B and Inns
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Careful During Winter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I wanted to like this inn. The village of skaneateles is fabulous and we received a great rate on our stay for a Saturday in February. We stayed in the french country room, and the room was nice and comfortable. I'd recommend taking breakfast at the Sherwood, even in the dead of winter - it is a lovely setting. Here is the problem. We stayed during a snowy night. The village is plowed such that the snow from the whole village is pushed into an intersection right behind the inn. The plows with the scraping noises and "back-up" beeping, kept us up ALL night. The Sherwood (management for the Village Inn) should switch all guests with reservations at the Village Inn to rooms in the Sherwood or Packwood on snowy nights (if available) so as to provide a good night sleep. The alternative was just miserable.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The Village Inn at Skaneateles (part of the Sherwood Inn) is on the corner of Jordan and Fennell above a shop called "Paris Flea." First, you must go to the Sherwood Inn on Genessee Street (Route 20) to register and to check out. Not very convenient but not the end of the world either.

The Village Inn has only 5 tiny narrow parking spaces so you best hope that another tourist hasn't swiped your parking spot. The hotel is secured by a card key entry lock, but we sometimes found the door open. Doesn't give you a warm fuzzy feeling since there is no one on duty at the Inn.

There are 4 rooms, all with entrances on the 2nd floor. However, 2 of the rooms are on the 3rd floor while the other 2 are on the 2nd floor (a mistake from a prior poster's information). The hotel is not handicapped accessible.

We stayed in the Terrace Room on the 3rd floor. The room was pretty but not worth the $210 per night price that we paid. The carpeting was dirty and threadbare in spots. The bed was very soft. The room wasn't very clean -- there was still leftover food in the fridge from prior guests, the whirlpool tub itself was clean but the jets were moldy and dingy looking, and there were spiders and bugs on the rugs and in the bathroom. UGH!

The terrace (balcony) didn't appear safe to us. When we stepped out on it, the floor wobbled and shook. We beat a hasty retreat inside!

On the plus side, the room was spaceous and included a large bathroom. The fridge worked, as did the TV. The color scheme was very pretty and the lighting was ample.

The Continental Breakfast at the Village Inn was fine -- coffee, juice, muffins and yogurt -- and is included with your room rate. But you can also walk to the Sherwood Inn for their much better Continental Breakfast (also included with your room rate).

One other note. There is a window in the bathroom. Be sure to draw the shade as there are construction workers walking just outside your bathroom all day! Yikes!!

  • Liked — Centrally located to everything in Skaneateles, yet off the main route; Quiet for sleeping
  • Disliked — Not clean; old; run down
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This property is part of the every popular Sherwood Inn family. The location itself was great. However, the Village Inn is a little worn around the edges. It only has 4 rooms and they are all on the 2nd floor. We stayed in the "English Estate" room. It was a nice size with decent furniture. However, it looked out over the street. The street lights were very bright at night and it was noisy. The most disappointing part was the bathroom. It advertised a whirlpool tub. The tub was old and dingy. We opted for breakfast at the Sherwood Inn each morning (they also provided a contentail breakfast in the inn). Overall - it was overpriced for what it delivered.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The bathroom was worn and a little dirty
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston-salem, nc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2006

We stayed one night at the Village Inn during the week of our honeymoon trip to the Finger Lakes and Skaneateles, the week of October 15.

The Village Inn has a fabulous location in this postcard town of central New York. Its association with the Sherwood Inn is a plus, but staying in the 4-room, beautifully renovated inn is an experience unto itself.

We stayed in the French Country Room and the king size sleigh bed, in-room gas fireplace, and spacious bathroom with jetted tub were fantastic.

Check-in and out were a snap at the Sherwood (just around the corner) and the continental breakfast served at the Village Inn would have been plenty, but we indulged in the benefit of having a free breakfast at the Sherwood.

We can't find anything bad to say about this beautifully decorated Inn that was reasonably priced on a Friday night.

Enjoy!

  • Liked — The room decor
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing
  • Tips/Secrets — There are two flights up stairs up to the French Country Room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurens, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2004

We were just at The Sherwood Inn one week ago for a wedding and it was BEAUTIFUL! The grounds, the Inn, the general surroundings! I highly recommend The Sherwood Inn to anyone visiting Skaneateles, NY! We plan on going back very soon! Thanks for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2003

The Sherwood Inn offered beautiful accommodations. Their staff is warm and friendly and their dining room is majestic overlooking Lake Skaneateles. Every visit to Skaneateles has me looking at "homes for sale" to one day relocate here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2003

We just returned from 2 nights at the lovely Sherwood Inn across from Skaneateles Lake. The decor is a beautiful mix of antiques and oriental rugs and everything is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We also were impressed by the friendliness of the staff who made our stay most enjoyable.
Although we had our choice of several nearby place to eat, we chose to have dinner in the Tavern part of the Inn and thought the food was excellent. The location makes it easy to walk to the many shops in the village or simply stroll along the lake. We would recommend the Sherwood to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Inn of Skaneateles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Inn of Skaneateles

Address: 25 Jordan St, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the 1970s, the current owner purchased and restored the fading inn, where Eleanor Roosevelt was once a guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Inn Of Skaneateles Hotel Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn of Skaneateles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.