We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finger Lakes Lodging

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Finger Lakes Lodging to your Saves list
Finger Lakes Lodging
857 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$69 (USD)
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Love this quaint little lodge. Not far from town. Cozy little gas fireplace. Clean updated room and shower. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marym79, Guest Relations Manager at Finger Lakes Lodging, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, cozy, Adirondack-style place to stay in Skanteateles, NY -- Finger Lakes Lodging is the place to stay. TRUST ME. We've practically stayed at every affordable place between Skanteateles and Auburn, NY -- this is by far the BEST. The first 2 nights we stayed in a 2-queen bedroom and it was very comfortable, but a bit small. We loved going on the back porch, though and sitting on the Adirondack chairs and just chilling. The next 2 nights, we were able to move to the 1-bedroom suite and it was FANTASTIC!! Huge bathroom, a 6-person dining room table, nice living room -- just wonderful. Staff were super responsive and it's so centrally located to the village of Skaneateles, you really cannot beat it.

Reading other reviewers, I would like to say that if you really want to stay at the Mirabeau Inn and Spa -- you will be disappointed by the Finger Lakes Lodging -- even though the Finger Lakes Lodging is owned by Mirabeau. You'd be comparing apples to oranges. Readers need to know this -- or of course they will be disappointed! Duh! We would NEVER be able to afford to stay at the Mirabeau Inn and Spa when we visit family. However, we will definitely be staying at Finger Lakes Lodging again!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandisfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Recently we stayed at the Finger Lakes Lodging on our way between Niagara Falls and Mass. It was a quick stop over, just a day and a half, so budget was an issue. I am writing to set the record straight, as i had read a very bad review. The motel was decorated in a cozy, rustic style and had whatever we needed considering the low cost of the room. It was clean and there was a staff person on premises to get ice and give directions and dinner suggestions. We checked in at Mirabeau Spa and the desk staff there was also very helpful and let us check in early. For the money, I think it's a great option. There was coffee available in the great room in the a.m. and a little deck area behind to sit and relax. It's a perfect stopover in a sweet upstate village.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

I have to agree with the reviewer who panned this place. We had a reservation at Mirbeau for Sunday but couldn't get Saturday so they offered us a room at Finger Lakes Lodge. This place is NOTHING like Mirbeau. It is a basic drive up motel set up with an REALLY overdone Adirondack theme.
The windows don't open (which I generally hate) but it does have a rear door that leads to a tiny deck. I made the mistake of leaving the door open only to find that a hour later I had about 100 mosquitos flying around the room (no screen - obviously). We ran out of tissues (but not toilet paper thankfully). The lighting is bad, the chairs are uncomfortable, there are no closets. It's just a weird set up and we paid as much for that bare bones room as we did for the room in the Mirbeau. Go figga!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

After unsuccessfully trying to get a room at the booked Mirbeau Inn for a last minute trip with friends, we decided to stay at the Finger Lakes Lodge after finding their special on the Internet. A room for the four of us that included access to the Mirbeau Spa and breakfast at their restaurant. Buying four day passes at the Spa and breakfast would have cost us more than the price of the room.
Having low expectations and picturing a 70's style highway motor lodge, we booked the package deal. We were pleasantly surprised on arrival.
The Lodge is across the street from the Mirbeau Inn within easy walking distance. You actually check in there. The room was very charming decorated in a mountain lodge theme. The girls loved all the little touches (rocking chair, indian blankets on the bed, bear and moose fixtures, gas-fired stove, etc). There was a rear door that opened onto a small deck.
Our room including the bathroom was clean, comfortable, and well kept. During the night, none of us were bothered by outside noise from either the nearby highway or the adjoining rooms.
All in all, a good choice if the Mirbeau is booked. Especially with their spa access and breakfast package.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2008

There is a WORLD of difference between the Mirbeau Spa and its "satellite property", the Finger Lakes Lodge, which proudly sports the Mirbeau name/endorsement on it. My husband and I had been hoping to stay at the wonderful Mirbeau Spa just up the road for a special getaway weekend, but they were booked; seeing the Mirbeau name stamped on The Finger Lakes Lodge, and the hefty price tag per night (well over $200 per night and basically equal in price to the famed Mirbeau itself), we made reservations here for two nights, trusting that we could still enjoy luxurious Mirbeau dining and facilities even though we were a short distance down the road. Do NOT be reassured by the Mirbeau name on this property. Bottom line: if Hell has a direct portal/front gate, this is it. The rooms are FILTHY beyond words: old dried food on the carpets, surfaces black with dirt. Enough to make your skin crawl. It's basically a cheap drive-up motel hiding behind the Mirbeau name. The light fixtures were dangling precariously from walls; some lights and electrical outlets in the room did not work at all. No pictures on the walls, minimal (and unsuccessful) attempts at making the room attractive. No night manager on duty at the property-- keep your fingers crossed you don't need help or security, because it's down the road at the REAL resort. The shower is too small to even raise your arms to shampoo in. Bring your own toilet paper-- there might not be enough in the room (we had about ten squares left on the roll when we got there). My husband had to go to a nearby convenience store to purchase toilet paper, drinks, nasty pizza, and ice. The filth was so overpowering I literally couldn't sleep that night-- I just laid awake counting the minutes till we could leave! (Had there been a night manager, we would have refused the room as soon as we saw the place, but we were trapped till morning.) There is a difference between the advertised "Adirondack Style" and feeling like you're roughing it at Scout Camp!! When we went to the Mirbeau desk the next morning to check out early, they tried to stick us with an "early cancellation fee"-- no way. Just no way. I completely lost it. The Department of Health should know about this place! The Mirbeau, in a lacklastre attempt to retain our booking, offered to show us a Finger Lakes Lodge "suite" to use instead: it was just a larger version of Filth. Management candidly admitted to us that the place needs a major renovation and "maintenance walk-through" and complaints like ours are routine/daily. 5 star prices for 0 star quality! The Mirbeau should be ashamed to even put their name on this place. Don't believe the carefully photographed shots on their website: the bed is the only attractive part of the room, and the colorful outdoor chairs that imply you can kick back and relax are literally scant feet off a busy highway. Sit in one at your own risk! Speaking of the highway, you'll be serenaded at night by the roar of commercial trucks screaming past your room only yards away. My husband and I felt completely robbed: what a waste of money and a horrible "getaway". We ran as fast as we could to another hotel.

  • Liked — Leaving. It was absolutely godawful.
  • Disliked — Being there... it was filthy and badly maintained.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Finger Lakes Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finger Lakes Lodging

Address: 857 West Genesee Street, Skaneateles, NY 13152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Skaneateles
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Skaneateles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Finger Lakes Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finger Lakes Lodging Hotel Skaneateles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finger Lakes Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.