We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive for What You Get” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison Blanche Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Blanche Hotel
Save
You added La Maison Blanche Hotel to your Saves list
11 Stearns Point Road, Shelter Island, NY 11965 (Formerly Olde Country Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
New York City, New York
1 review
“Very Expensive for What You Get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at LMB over this past Labor Day Weekend. While there are some great things about the hotel (location and rooms), overall the price paid ($750 per night) should have come with much more.

Service - While the hotel is small, the staff is bare bones and every staff member seems to do double duty. E.g., the restaurant host is also the front desk manager. So if you want to ask the front desk manager something during dinner time, you better hope he / she is not seating guests in the restaurant. Given the double duty / minimal amount of staff, towels will sit on the pool chairs all day long without being swapped out. If a guest leaves a finished drink by the pool, it will probably stay there all day long.

Value - While we knew we were paying an inflated price for Labor Day Weekend, LMB simply does not offer any ancillary things that any other hotel at this price point would offer. There is no free continental breakfast or even coffee in the morning; however, LMB has set up a quick shop bakery that will sell you these items at an inflated price. There are no phones in the rooms, so if you want to order room service (only available when the restaurant is open) you need to go down to the restaurant and order it. There is no free bottled water in the room. While all of these things are minor, they are terribly inconvenient and are rather frustrating when you are paying $750 per night.

Rooms - The room we stayed in (#8) was large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was massive. Only room issue is that the blinds do not shut out the light, so it is difficult to sleep in with the sunlight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at La Maison Blanche Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear NYC to Wherever,
Thank you for taking the time to write your critique, the items you pointed out have been noted.
I am glad you enjoyed your room for the most part, we do offer sleeping masks in the mini bars for our guests who like it very dark during daylight sleeping.
Room service, as you said, was available when the restaurant was open: which was 11:00 am for brunch until 3 pm and then until 10 or 11 pm. Our bakery prices are in line with other hotels and restaurants on Shelter Island, hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our home baked croissants, pastries or muffins.
Lastly most of our college students and intern employees ended their employment with us mid August, we were operating with a smaller than usual staff; if that proved to be an inconvenience for you I apologize.
I hope you will choose to visit Maison Blanche again, the Fall is a beautiful time of the year on Shelter Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    44
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
22
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

LMB is a lovely hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. The room rates are pricey. This is understandable given the time of year. But, breakfast should be offered at the hotel. Our room was very nice...the bathroom lighting could have been better. There were two other things that were annoying...first the price of a beach parking pass...$35!!!! We recently had stayed at an inn on the North Fork. where we were asked for a deposit for the beach pass which was returned when we returned the pass.....that's how is should be done. Second, we were traveling with our dog and we paid $150 for the dog for a two night stay!!! We knew the price in advance, no problem...but there wasn't even a treat for the dog. All high end hotels, 4 Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, etc. charge for the dog. However, they provide a dog bowl, treats, a bed....here nada! All this aside I would recommend LMB for a relaxed and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at La Maison Blanche Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. We are very proud of our staff at Maison Blanche and the courteous attention paid to our guests. Each room is decorated to induce a serene and relaxing mood and am glad to read you enjoyed your room. As far as the beach permit price: we purchase the permits from the Town Hall for our guest's convenience for the same price we charge for them. No permit is used again as each individual license plate number and the date of your stay is written on the permit. Perhaps the north fork township has a different policy.
I appreciate your suggestions for our canine guests and will certainly consider them.
Once again, thank you for your review, and I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

After a short enjoyable ferry ride over to Shelter Island we came to the Hotel. The grounds and Hotel were very well kept as well as the pool area. The room was also very nice.
It would have been even nicer if a breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at La Maison Blanche Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed our hotel, pool and grounds. Thank you for your complimentary mention of the staff...each one of them is a valued employee and bring their own personality to the job.
While breakfast is not included we do strive to have delicious home-baked goods daily in our in-house bakery. I hope you took the opportunity to sample some of our croissants, muffins and breads. Brunch is also served in our restaurant from 11:00 - 3:00 with wonderful menu choices.
Please become on of our return guests, we'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great stay at La Maison Blanche for a week - with family in the owners suite and my partner and I in room 4. We also had other friends staying at La Maison Blanche over the weekend in room 5, 10 ,7 and 8.
La Maison lived up to its promise of understated and simple luxury and provided a quiet haven and relaxing stay for our whole party.
We enjoyed our own deck as part of the owners suite and the access to a kitchen and a dining area and lounge made for a very relaxed stay, especially with a 1 year old in the party.
The young international staff were low key, helpful and friendly. Which is the kind of service we appreciate - this is a small privately owned inn and this is part of the charm.
Dinners at La Maison Blanche were simple and elegant and again the crowd were low key and sophisticated.
The rooms were modern, comfortable and clean with lovely linens, towels and bath products. The AC worked well in our room as did all other appliances etc. The pool was cool and clean and had comfortable chaises and towels and the bikes were enjoyed by some of our party.

I really hope that La Maison Blanche can pride itself on being this slice of quiet luxury on the island as this is what sets it apart. The cost is considerable - but I think worth the money for the experience .
Thank you to everyone at the Inn for a very memorable and enjoyable stay -

Room Tip: Room 5 & 7 are furthest away from the restaurant and bar areas and afforded us great sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at La Maison Blanche Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sasha,
It was wonderful having you, your family and friends at Maison Blanche. It's a privilege when we get to be a part of such a joyous occasion.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel, the staff and the restaurant, I am so glad you enjoyed our "simple elegance". I hope Maison Blanche will always be part of your Shelter Island destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Management is not honest. Do not leave a credit card # for a restaurant or hotel reservation. Manager is not honest. You will be charged and they will claim you did not cancel your reservation. Beware!

Room Tip: Beware! The management is not honest
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at La Maison Blanche Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Joseph C
I am very sorry you feel you have been so wronged. It is my understanding that the $150 which was charged to your card was going to be deducted from your bill when you came in for your next reservation, which you cancelled.
Mistakes happen and whoever received the call regarding your first cancellation did not enter it in the computer, therefore the restaurant manager thought you were a "no show".
We do not have your complete cc information... you made your reservation on line. If you'd like to call and speak with Kathy, my personal assistant, she will be glad to refund the charge.
Life is too short to be so angry over something that can be rectified with calm communication.
We hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed on Shelter Island before I was nervous about booking a hotel on pictures alone- luckily the hotel was as described and more. At the north end of the island it's just round the corner from Sunset Beach which seemed in comparison shabby and noisy. The staff are lovely, the decor simple, elegant and welcoming. We enjoyed cycling on the free bikes, swimming in the pool and playing ping pong in the early evening. If you want to catch the sun setting over the water just walk round to the Pridwin and enjoy the view then pootle back for cocktails and dinner at Maison Blanche. The hotel doesn't serve breakfast but there is brunch from 11. I enjoyed discovering local places on the island. My only wish- id been able to book 6 nights instead of 4- it's worth it and really compared with what I've seen on the island good value. Looking forward to staying again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, Owner at La Maison Blanche Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. It is our desire to make all our guests feel welcomed and tranquil. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the bikes and exploring our beautiful island. Hopefully next time you will be able to stay for 6 nights. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Upon arrival we were helped with the luggage, since there is no elevator. The room was definitely better than we expected, really modern, super-clean, a bathroom with the window which is a very big plus.

Be careful with the windows which have air-conditioners installed into them. I was not used to such air-conditioners, since we do not have them in Europe, and once you try to open the window, this device falls out. Crazy )) But they helped us rapidly to fix this problem.

In general the hotel employs the seasonal stuff, all pleasant. Some are more, some are less professional. I asked for the dry-cleaning, which is mentioned in the hotel brochure, and the receptionist said I was the only person ever who asked for it, and here is the phone number, call them yourself, because I do not know how do it. I was seriously shocked at this kind offer.

The pool is beautiful, real Saint-Tropez atmosphere around it.

The hotel guests are mostly educated and civilized, however you can not be protected against the rednecks. The walls are VERY thin, so if a bad-lip-job mother of three starts to fight with her half-drunk husband in the middle of the night, and the obsessive-compulsive grandmother joins, it will be a very happening atmosphere next door with you knowing all the details of the miserable marriage. Ear-plugs do not help, knocking on the wall will help for the next 10 min though )

Given into account the size and comfort of the room, the price in the middle of the week I found to be of a very good value, and I would definitely recommend to stay in this hotel, but opt for a bigger room

Room Tip: opt for a bigger room on top floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison Blanche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Blanche Hotel

Address: 11 Stearns Point Road, Shelter Island, NY 11965 (Formerly Olde Country Inn)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at La Maison Blanche, you feel like you are at home. Located a stone’s throw from the famous Crescent Beach on Shelter Island, the hotel boasts 8 graciously furnished rooms with splendid garden views that add to the tranquility of this very unique hotel. The hotel has both a lounge bar and an outdoor bar in the garden, plus indoor and outdoor dining with a brasserie style menu that has a sophisticated feel. Whether it be relaxing by the fireplace in the winter or dining alfresco in the beautiful gardens in the summer this is a place for all seasons. The hotel was recently acquired by John Sieni and Alistair MacLean who wasted no time transforming the island gem into an international destination. The hotel dates back to the late 1800’s, but they have added a modern beach chic twist that embraces the classic charm while enhancing the allure of this timeless property. With 24hour front desk services our friendly staff will take care of your every need. Come and have a cocktail around our roaring fireplace, where serenity will be right at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shelter Island Heights
Shelter Island Heights Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison Blanche Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.