We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of the luxury, none of the hype.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelter Island House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shelter Island House to your Saves list
Shelter Island House
11 Stearns Point Road, Shelter Island, NY 11965 (Formerly La Maison Blanche Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“All of the luxury, none of the hype.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

For those who want a sophisticated hotel but without the hype, this is the place for you. It's a small boutique hotel with cozy accents and attentive staff. A stone's throw from Crescent Beach and Shelter Island Heights, La Maison Blanche is perfectly situated on Shelter Island. Though, the restaurant is good enough that you may never need or want to leave. If you're looking for a quiet few days on Shelter Island, with a few games of Pétanque thrown in, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Adam U,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the hotel and our award winning restaurant.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers (we currently have one running on Groupon Getaways).

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    44
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
23
109
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Nice place for rest and relaxation. Room five is a little small but quiet and well appointed. Nice pool, friendly staff. Ate lunch poolside...salad was a little brown perhaps they don't do enough food sales toaintain freshness?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear bckathleen1982,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay but I was disappointed to read about your salad. I wish you had brought it to our attention.

We are a very busy restaurant (even more so in the month of August) so it would not have been down to slow sales but it seems we did drop the ball on that and I have shared your comments with the chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for some fantastic winter offers that we have coming up.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Le Maison blanche from Mon-Friday the first week in August and could not have had a better experience. It felt like a combination of an inn and boutique hotel.
Our room #8 was amazing! So spacious and the cleaning and turn down service was exceptional. The new pool was lovely.
The staff was so friendly and available for any questions or concerns. Matt the manager was around at all times and fixed a small issue in the room immediately.
The restaurant food was fabulous! The bar had a great selection of top shelf liquor with lots of unique cocktails and super friendly bartenders.
A special note about Amelie who worked at the front desk and also taught yoga on the weekends. She made special accommodations for me to have private yoga at my early morning convenience (and she was an amazing yoga teacher!) She also gave us great information about the island.
We were away from our 3 children for the week and could not have picked a better place for peace and quiet, beautiful scenery, and complete relaxation.
Getting on and off the island via ferry to go to different towns was super easy as it was a slight concern of our about staying on Shelter Island.
We plan on returning next summer!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear DinaZ,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both our award winning hotel and restaurant.

Given that we are "kid friendly" we look forward to welcoming you back either with the family or just yourselves in the very near future.

We will have several promotions during the winter months so please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for these.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend for my husbands birthday. The bocci court & bikes (although dirty/rusty) were a great touch. The room was nice and clean. However the AC did not work and it was at least 15 degrees difference from the rest of the hotel. The bakery was a closet stuffed w deli quality items. Good if book w a discounted rate but not worth the retail price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Kimberx,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed that we fell short of your expectations.

Please feel free to reach out to me to discuss some of the issues further so that we can get them resolved: alistair.maclean@maisonblanchehotel.com

I look forward to hearing back from you in due course.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Us
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great room, great location but service bordering on amateurish. We were somewhat disconcerted at checkout to be told that our account would stay open until housekeeping checked we "hadn't taken anything from the minibar". Other places we have stayed usually ask the guest whether they've purchased, not "taken," anything from the minibar, and then I presume, housekeeping discreetly checks anyway. Wouldn't mind but already had to remind the bar staff on two occasions that they hadn't charged us for drinks and the front desk that we hadn't been charged for a meal. Now, more than a month after our stay we receive an email saying they failed to charge us, I presume, for said meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear UsDiner,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you appreciated the room and the location but was disappointed to read about your comments regarding our service as it is something we are constantly working on to improve and we take great pride on the service that we provide our guests.

We did have a glitch between our interface in the restaurant to the hotel which caused a back log in charges and I apologize for any inconvenience this caused to you.

With regards to the mini bar charges, I am sorry that our method of charging after check out inconvenienced you. Having been in hotels for over 25 years this is pretty normal practice as there are times on check out a guest may say on check out that they have not touched the mini bar when in actual fact they have and therefore they are charged a separate charge after check out. Unless the mini bars are electronic and can charge automatically when something is being removed from them what we do is pretty much standard practice.

Nevertheless I have duly noted all of your comments and despite them I do hope you will return and notice improvements in the service we proivde our guests. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservations so that I can ensure everything goes smoothly.

We will have several special offers during the Winter months so please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I’ve stayed at La Maison three times and being a fan of everything French, I think this is the perfect little Provencal escape for New Yorkers - less than two hours drive from Manhattan. La Maison is an eight room boutique hotel - rooms are chic and airy, with simple modern decor. No need to stray from the hotel for dinner, as the restaurant is actually one of the best in the Long Island area with an excellent array of wines & food that rivals anything in France. Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: If you have a little extra cash, splash out and reserve the "The New York Times" suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear MindyJoyce,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the hotel and our award winning restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th visit very soon and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We hesitated between staying at Sunset Beach and LMB and we are very pleased with our choice. Sunset Beach is great but so crowded and loud. Winning combination is to stay at LMB, enjoy the bikes, the pool, the yoga, the tranquility, the food and go for fun nights out to SB which is 5 minutes away from LMB.

About LMB: Everything was perfect from our arrival to our departure. We spent three nights at LMB in room 5, one of the smallest rooms they have and had a wonderful stay. The room was very comfortable, the bed was great, super high and firm as we like. Wifi worked well. Morning yoga with Amelie was amazing, especially when we got to have the class outside on Sunday morning. What a bliss! And Alistair was super helpful in getting us a table at Sunset Beach on Saturday night despite the restaurant being totally booked up. Thanks again! The food at LMB was excellent too, we had dinner there once and did not regret our choice. Lunch by the pool every day. Try the scallops and the profiteroles for desert in the evening and the Lobster roll by the pool at lunch time. We used the bikes every day to go around the island. We hope to return soon, this time with our daughter!

About us: couple from Paris (France) who took their first trip away since the birth of their daughter last year. 5 nights in NYC, 3 in LMB. Mid 30s, loving boutique hotels, nice restaurants, places that are not too touristy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaMaisonBlancheHotel, Owner at Shelter Island House, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear CocoCTLondon,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed both the hotel as well as our award winning restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming the whole family back in the near future and in the meantime please feel free to follow us on Twitter and Facebook for upcoming special offers.

Regards,

Alistair MacLean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelter Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Island House

Address: 11 Stearns Point Road, Shelter Island, NY 11965 (Formerly La Maison Blanche Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive at Shelter Island House, you feel like you are at home. Located a stone’s throw from the famous Crescent Beach on Shelter Island, the hotel boasts 11 graciously furnished rooms with splendid garden views that add to the tranquility of this very unique hotel. The hotel has both a lounge bar and an outdoor bar in the garden, plus indoor and outdoor dining with a brasserie style menu that has a sophisticated feel. Whether it be relaxing by the fireplace in the winter or dining alfresco in the beautiful gardens in the summer this is a place for all seasons. Our friendly staff will take care of your every need. Come and have a cocktail around our roaring fireplace, where serenity will be right at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Shelter Island House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Shelter Island Heights
Shelter Island Heights Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelter Island House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.