We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelite Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Candlelite Inn
Save
You added Candlelite Inn to your Saves list
Route 114 South, Shelter Island, NY   |  
Hotel amenities
Long Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Overpriced is all I can say. I am not picky, but this is not a typical B&B. For $250 a night, it was a rip off, as are a lot of places on the island, but come on, you cannot even find someone here to welcome you or ask questions. Shared bathroom, and kitchen was stocked, but not great stuff. We stayed here because of a family event the next morning, I've stayed at 5 star resorts for less than $250 a night, so I was kinda wondering where they got the nerve to charge this..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
morristown, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband I just got back from Shelter Island we went to attend our friend's daughter's wedding. We have never stayed anywhere on the island before, as we always stay with our friends, who recommended this place to us. The people who run it were very hospitable, and could not have been more accommodating. The rooms are clean and fresh, and although the bathroom is across the hall, each room has a dedicated bathroom, which makes it very easy. There is a really lovely porch where we were able to sit out and read, and also some common spaces inside, had the weather not cooperated. The kitchen area is stocked with juices, yogurt, coffee, tea and other items, including a fridge that you can have access to 24 hours (like if you have yummy leftovers form an area restaurant). Breakfast is strictly continental (and "do it yourself" as opposed to many B&B's we've stayed in), but there were cereals, fruits and muffins and you would not need to go hungry. I have stayed at many B&B's and this is one the nicer ones I've been to.

Room Tip: We liked room 5 since it is at the end of the hall and maes it feel a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Stayed here recently and have to say it wasn't what we expected. The owners are "missing in action"
and there is no one around to greet you or answer questions. You're pretty much left to your own devices. And when you do contact the owners they are neither accomodating nor friendly. The breakfast is below average...just grocery store food of poor quality. And the kicker...the bathrooms are not in the rooms - they are across the hall. Very inconvenient! Overall, would not recommend for the price!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The B & B is a pleasant, simple, and clean place to stay on Shelter Island. If you are planning to spend most or all of your time outside and on the road, then this will fit the bill.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We highly recommend the Candlelite Inn. Between the quiet of the country and the incredibly comfortable beds, you're assured a great night sleep. We searched around for accommodations on Shelter Island, and found these to be a great value. The rooms and the house are very well-appointed by comparison, and are very well kept.

We appreciated the owner's laid back approach which ensured a high level of privacy. The owner was very helpful with recommendations, but was not pushy. The breakfast selection provided a great start to our day. In addition, the Candlelite Inn is ideally located near the Shelter Island ferry and close to restaurants, the main street, and the nature preserve.

We highly recommend the Candlelite Inn. We're coming back!

Room Tip: Call in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We dropped in without a reservation mid-week and found a reasonable price. The rooms appeared extremely clean and well maintained. The owner was found in the first floor hair salon and he provided good information on dinner opportunities.

We are not B&B experts, but there is no one living in the building (or on the property we were told) and the front door in unlocked at all times. This is Shelter Island, not Cape Fear, but if you are uncomfortable with only a fragile room door lock between you and the outside world, you need to take note.

Although the rooms and common areas are “clean”… I have only one complaint… bugs. Upon check in, there were a few small black ants on the bathroom floor. This is the country in summer, so a few ants are no surprise. After returning to the room from dinner, I sat in the large, very comfortable leather chair to check email. Joining me on the arm of the chair was a half inch long, multi-legged, antennae sporting, tubular shaped, light brown bug.

We went to bed with a half eye open and at 1:15 my wife leapt out of bed, turned on the lights, and stated that a bug was crawling on her. We looked and found a good sized silverfish crawling on the pillow. The Japanese beetle flying around the room at the time can also to be expected in the country. We did not sleep well the rest of the night. We did not see roaches or bedbugs. (although I never identified that 1/2 inch tan fellow)

Since the Innkeeper’s hair salon was busy with customers the next morning, we thought it more appropriate to tell him about the issue when we got home the next day. He said he would look into it. The place was very clean – but dirty and bugs don’t always go together. These things happen, but should not be taken lightly by the owner, so ask to be sure he has had the building de-bugged before you stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candleliteinn, Owner at Candlelite Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
In reference to this review, We do have someone on the property at all times for emergencies. I, the owner live 2 blocks away and supply all guest with my cell phone number in their check in paper work, posted on the entrance door, the refigerator and all emails that we exchange.

The door lock is far from "fragile" it is a regular house front door lock on each room. If it was on the front door or the bedroom the security is exactly the same and would keep you safe from "the outside world".

The hotel is sprayed regularly for bugs, this is the country. If there was a flying beetle it would indicate that the guests left the door open and the beetle flew to the light. All beds are BRAND NEW Sleep to Live, pillow topped, hypoallergetic, foam reinforced coil mattress.

Unfortunately this review makes it sound like we are in a high crime, burgular infested, bug infested deserted area. We have been in business since 1997 and have had 3 reviews of people who are afraid to be alone. There are other larger less quaint hotels on the Island, none of which have 24 hour armed security. Shelter Island is the country, beautiful and SAFE with or without natures creatures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

This is a small B&B, at 230$ a night somewhat expensive for what you get. Does the work but has no particular character and limited service.

Room.
We stayed on a room facing the street with a bathroom in suite. The room was clean, tasteful and well appointed with high end soaps, shampoos and the like. There is no TV in the room. You can watch a small tv with basic cable in a living room downstairs.

Service
We've been greeted by our keys in an envelope and the breakfast was self service. So the service is efficient but rather cold.

Breakfast
The breakfast was continental buffet with one of those cool self serve capuccino makers. The breakfast room was nice, but the food nothing that you cannot buy in the grocery store.

We went to the Olde Country Inn for dinner and we had a memorable meal. After beach drinks at the Sunset also a must people watching activity.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candleliteinn, Owner at Candlelite Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2011
Positives, clean, tasteful and well appointed with high end soaps sampoos and the like. Like many bed and breakfasts there are no Televisions in the rooms, as of now we have a 42" flatscreen in the living room. Things left out of positives. 600 thread count sheets and bedding, pillow topped foam reinforced, hypo allergetic mattresses, white fluffy cotton towels, Central Air conditioning, well maintained grounds, hammocks in a private area of the yard, plenty of parking. We are a casual Island and love our guests and hope that we can continue serving the public with a quality product. Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlelite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelite Inn

Address: Route 114 South, Shelter Island, NY
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Shelter Island
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelite Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.