We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful evening on the porch with Boat52” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomato's

Sweet Tomato's
15 Grand Ave, Shelter Island Heights, Shelter Island, NY 11965-2000
631-749-4114
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful evening on the porch with Boat52”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We just enjoyed a lovely dinner at Sweet Tomatoes. The menu was inventive and fresh. Mussels were perfectly cooked and the broth was fabulous. Beet salad was refreshing in its simplicity. The mascarpone risotto was a delicious compliment to the fluke, which was slightly overlooked. We were delighted to find churros with chocolate on the menu, which prompted us to order dessert, and we were glad we did! Would definitely recommend dinner on the porch at Sweet Tomatoes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    13
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch on Shelter Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have been to Sweet Tomato's on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed my experience there, whether for lunch or dinner.

I was recently there for lunch and I loved the Tuscan Pizza, and the salad with fresh local greens.

There was only one staff member visible during this lunchtime; he was the greeter, server, busboy, and bartender all in one! He did an admirable job, though, keeping up with all the tables. His name was Wayne, and I thought he deserved a raise after that day...

Normally one of the owners, delightful young man who takes very good care of his guests, is there. I was sorry we missed him. The food, however, reflected the same high quality, authenticity, and taste I had come to expect.


  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, creative menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had a summery dinner on the porch. Fantastic service. The mint-chip gelato is beyond delicious. (If it's a post-rainy evening, bring bug spray.)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just had a wonderful dinner here. Everyone in our party truly enjoyed their food. Service was overall excellent. Only negative was they were down a bartender the night we were there. Our appetizers arrived before our cocktails. They took them away and we had time to enjoy our drinks before the food returned. Clean, nice, casual atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A True Sweetie of a Place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I think Sweet Tomato's ranks as among the best food joints on Shelter Island. Reserve in advance. Their preparation of local fish was perfection. We also enjoy lamb chops and the appies were perfect with our cocktails. If you have to wait, there's a nice porch to sit on, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomato's also viewed

Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 
Shelter Island, Hamptons
Shelter Island, Hamptons
 

Been to Sweet Tomato's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomato's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.