We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mediocre hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pridwin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Pridwin Hotel to your Saves list
The Pridwin Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A mediocre hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed at the Pridwin for four days, simply because it is one of the few locations in Shelter island on the water . We had a water view room on the 3rd floor - no elevators!! With that said, you should be aware of a few things and BEWARE of one thing in particular.
1) The hotel is outdated and not in particularly good shape. Carpets are worn and dirty. The ceilings and walls are in need of paint. The light switches and electrical receptacles are quite old and should be replaced.

2) The mattress was in need of replacement and the pillows were on the hard side.

3) The bathroom in our water view room was renovated and in good shape. The shower was excellent, though the towels were quite small.

4) The hotel does not employ a bellman or front desk person to assist with the luggage. You are on your own.

5) The people at the desk know very little about the island for the most part and won't provide you with information about the beaches, the restaurants etc. By way of example, the beaches require a special Parking Permit. Failure to use the permit which costs $35 for a week will result in a $100 ticket. We found out the hard way that this permit is offered at many hotels and bed and breakfasts, as well as the town clerk's office. They didn't even advise of the time for breakfast or where it was served or give us any information about the fishing boats on the island.

6) The breakfast - decent. Fruit/eggs/bacon or sausage. All fine - not creative but certainly acceptable.

7) The beach - directly across the road and very, very small.......

And now to the real issue -- The hotel has a barbecue (hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken, etc for $35 pp) and a band on Wednesday evenings. Great if you didn't have a room at this hotel. You can listen to music and then go to your nice Quiet hotel or home. Not so if you're staying at the Pridwin though. The crowd (21years - 40+) mulls around on the outside deck drinking, yelling, etc. The music goes on until 12:30 AM or 1 AM. The entire scene is all so loud, it is basically impossible to sleep.

And so, if you want a quiet hotel - not the Pridwin on Wednesdays. If you want information about Shelter Island bring a guide book. If you want a well kept hotel - modify your expectations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    44
    20
    17
    20
See reviews for
41
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livingston,NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

If you are expecting the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons then you will be disappointed. If you are expecting a small but clean room with hot water in a vacation area with lots to do then you will be happy. The hall ways and lobby could be redone but I could care less as I didn't sleep in either. The room was small but fine for a night or two. Our goal is to shower, change and get out and do things.

Breakfast was good and the view from the deck is amazing. I would recommend the hotel but remind friends to set there expectations accordingly. I have some friends who would be fine here and some who would not.

The pool and the tennis courts all looked good.

The price at $375 a night with tax and breakfast included is no different from anyplace else near bye

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

The people slamming the Pridwin in other reviews must have failed to recognize the place for what it is... an older seasonal beach resort on a laid back island. It ain't The Ritz, guys, and it's not trying to be. If you're looking for chic chic, look elsewhere.

We just returned (today) from a 7 night stay which included attendance at a wedding reception held on the property. We had read the negative reviews posted here and wondered both why this place was chosen as the venue and if it would be survivable.

Surprise, surprise! We had a ball, and would gladly return. We didn't take the meal plan but enjoyed the included full breakfast offered daily and poolside food service for lunch and drinks. Poolside was a relaxing and refreshing pleasure every day...except for the one day it rained, but that's not the hotel's fault. Otherwise, it was quiet and uncrowded. Swim, read, relax, nap, BS with friends.

Although Pridwin boasts a private beach, it is *very* narrow and pebbly. Don't go there...or just about anywhere on Shelter Island...for the beach. For that, Montauk's our choice.

Final thought... it's great for adults and families with small kids who can be easily entertained. Teen's and the 20-30's crowd can easily get bored out of their minds anywhere on the Island.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Pridwin. With tax and an extra charge for our daughter to stay in the room, it came to slightly over $400 per night! Though the room was reasonably clean, it was terribly outdated. The beds were uncomfortable, we had a tiny, tiny shower and absolutely no vanity in the bath. Our daughter slept on a sofabed and while I realize they are not known for their comfort, this one was horrible! Parking is terribly inconvenient. There is no adjustment on the a/c vents and the cold air blew right on me during the night, while my husband and daughter said they didn't feel anything. There was no a/c in the bath and no fan, but at least we could open a window as it became so warm in there. Some other friends stayed at the Pridwin at the same time and they were equally disappointed. The grounds are pretty and well-kept and the swimming pool is lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Pridwin with another couple for July 4 weekend and had a great time. My expectations were low after reading some of the reviews on this site but I found the staff and grounds to be a pleasant surprise. The views and amenities (tennis, kayaking, pool) were excellent. Our waterview room had a renovated bathroom (a plus) but was very small (a minus). I'd recommend a corner room on the second or third floors, even if the bathroom isn't renovated. The rooms are a bit overpriced but less so than the Sunset Beach, which is just down the road. I'd definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing weekend outside of the city.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, NY
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We booked our room to attend a wedding being held there. We had to book for a minimum of 2 nights although we were only staying for one. I was told if there were vacancies, I would only have to book for one night. Upon arriving, I reminded the desk clerk of the situation. She told me I had booked with her and denied ever saying I could pay for only 1 night. After a little banter, I just paid and went to my room. The wedding reception was fabulous but the hotel itself would not be on my list of "places to recommend" as far as vacationing. The staff was less than friendly and my room was extremely damp. You actually had to make a "special" request to get a bathmat and flushing the toilet was a fifteen minute project in itself. Shelter Island is lovely but I would not recommend the Pridwin to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The location of the Pridwin Hotel is spectacular. The hotel is nestled into a hill above the water with direct sunset views from many rooms as well as the large front deck that is part of the restaurant. Shelter Island is a mellow, Un-Hamptons place and the Pridwin Hotel reflects this: the hotel is a little sleepy and some rooms need updating (others are renovated - ask for a newer room, definitely get water-view!). That said, the place is still a deal! Many free amenities - bikes for exploring the island, sunfish, kayaks and other water-toys, tennis, pool, and small beach. Free wi-fi in the lobby/common area. Can't beat it for an affordable weekend on the island.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pridwin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pridwin Hotel

Address: 81 Shore Road, Crescent Beach, Shelter Island, NY 11964
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pridwin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pridwin Hotel is an iconic Shelter Island hotel on Crescent Beach, Shelter Island. With 40 rooms, 9 cottages, private pool, beach, docks for boating and a restaurant and bar overlooking the bay, the Pridwin is a small resort with many amenities for a relaxing escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pridwin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pridwin Shelter Island
Pridwin Hotel Shelter Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pridwin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.