We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ram's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shelter Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ram's Head Inn
Save
You added Ram's Head Inn to your Saves list
108 Rams Island Dr, Shelter Island, NY 11965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Grafton
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our second visit to the Ram's Head, our first time staying over. The most obvious thing to say about the Ram's Head Inn is that the setting, from the building to the grounds and vista, is spectacular. We were blessed with perfect summer weather. Even poor weather does not take away the comfortable covered veranda, warm inviting lounge and elegant dining room.
When one did encounter a negative, such as the tiny bathroom in room 4, it was always balanced with a compensating treat.....no TV in the room. We may be odd, but this was very nice for us. This is a New England Inn which does not try to be a chain hotel in terms of amenities- and that worked just fine for us.
The Continental Breakfast is ample, unpretentious and tasty. The dinner menu, and every item on it, is amazing. Most of us had the scallops, which were cooked perfectly and served on a bed of the freshest and tastiest succotash I have ever tried. The pre-dinner salads were perfect. Our wait staff was attentive and thoughtful.
During the day we enjoyed the very clean beach, and its assortment of watercraft set aside for guests. The Ram's Head is nicely off the beaten track on Shelter Island, so one does not feel at all cramped by crowds. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Do check on the bathroom size in the room you reserve. Our small bathroom (#4) was fine for us, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at RHI after an event. Make no mistake this is an expensive proposition. The a/c was barely keeping the room cool and there is no way to control the a/c yourself. Drawers that barely close on the dresser and tiny bathroom space were small inconveniences. The location is incredible. Serene rolling lawn and water views from your adirondack chair make this a calming venue. The bottom portion of the inn is not air conditioned. Someone needs to address this as it was extremely uncomfortable. Even the restaurant was not air conditioned during a heat wave. Hello??? People don't like to sweat on their food. Bring bug spray or you will be eaten alive.
Breakfast was sad. How difficult would it be to add Danish and pastries. Boxed cereal and bread were so basic. Not what one expects at a pricey venue.
With a few fixes this could be a five star venue. Dinner was amazing. The chef is top notch. Again not inexpensive but the food was awesome. The people who run the front desk were lovely especially Ashley.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at this property for a wedding. The property is beautiful, as is Shelter Island, with lots of flowers, rolling hills, and a view of the bay. The Inn has it's own little beach area as well as a tennis court, boats, etc so there's something for everyone.

The room we stayed in shared a bathroom with another room. We knew our "room mates" but I imagine it could be awkward if you didn't. When I first heard we'd be sharing a bathroom I pictured each room with it's own hallway entrance and a "jack and jill" style bathroom in between. In actuality, we had one entrance on the corridor, a bathroom straight ahead and then our own bedrooms but it felt a lot more like sharing a room than I was picturing in my head. This wasn't as much of an issue for us b/c we knew the other room (other family members).

The room was a little on the small side - enough room for a queen bed and dresser, side tables but not a lot of room for the pack-n-play we needed to set up for our infant. It was doable, just a little tight. The other room was a king bed and probably would've worked better with the extra crib. We also brought our own pack-n-play - it is possible the Inn has one that is a little smaller that would fit better - we didn't ask. The bed was fairly comfortable although there was no headboard, which made it feel a little flimsy to me. The walls are covered in a floral wall paper - cute but maybe a little much. You can be a historic property without being so kitschy. The linens on the bed were very nice however.

Because the Inn is an older building it is not equipped with modern amenities like mini-fridges. Before I had kids, that wouldn't have bothered me at all. Unfortunately it makes traveling with a baby who is still nursing/eating homemade baby food a little bit of a struggle. I couldn't store milk or food so I had to do store bought food and I couldn't keep milk pumped for her. The Inn did offer to let me store the milk in the kitchen but that just made me uncomfortable having it out of my sight (not knowing who was going in/out of the kitchen, possibly leaving it out too long, etc). We just made do without it. There are no tv's in the room. We wouldn't have used it anyway since the baby was asleep but just be aware the only TV is in a little sitting room on the first floor. The first floor is not air conditioned so it was pretty muggy/hot while we were downstairs - the rooms felt pretty cool though, so sleeping wasn't too bad.

The Hotel offers a continental breakfast - we ate it each day but it really wasn't that good. Sugary cereals, apples or oranges, some yogurt, hard boiled eggs and some bread were about all they had to offer. It was disappointing. My mom stayed at their sister property, the Chequit, and said they had the same offering there. Odd since both hotels had a restaurant and since the Inn is more B&B than hotel, I'd say they were lacking on the breakfast. I hope they bring that up to more current standards soon. The other food we had there throughout the week was pretty good.

The worst part was beyond the Inn's control and that was the mosquitos - I left with about 30 bug bites and they're still itchy. Bring bug spray. And anti-itch cream.

I think it would be a great spot for people without children staying for a night or two on a romantic getaway. We were there 4 nights and I was a little frazzled by the end of it.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend sharing a suite unless you know the other bedroom's occupants - it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Inn is gorgeous - situated on a hill with a rolling lawn that leads down to private tennis courts and a private beach. The Inn is well maintained but beware the somewhat surly staff. A sure sign of absentee management. Continental breakfast is included but does not meet the standards of the hotel - small cardboard cereal boxes, jams in plastic containers, very little selection of nice breads and fruit. Rooms are beautiful and worth the steep price. We enjoyed our 3 night stay last week but would have appreciated more friendly and helpful staff, especially at front reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband were lucky enough to be at The Rams Head just a few weekends ago. It was such a lovely Inn. Our bedroom was clean and had a beautiful view of the rolling lawn and the bay.

We had received an email the restaurant would be closing for the season but when we arrived... it was open. We made 8:00 reservations and it was wonderful. We both enjoyed our dinner very much.

After dinner we enjoyed brandy on the deck outside, the weather was just starting to chill and again it was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, Ny
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A wonderful old Inn with excellent destination restaurant - in the summer.
Romantic rolling lawn down to the bay on a lovely island near the Hamptons.
Very old fashioned - lots to do, but no TV.
Hammocks, a swing, and the beach...

And it is for sale, I believe, - here is hoping someone equally as talented buys and
maintains it.

Room Tip: Remember it is an OLD inn so be sure to ask questions about speciffic concerns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is not your kid's vacation. In fact, the rooms don't even have TV's. There's one in the TV/den room. There are only 17 rooms and some have to share a bathroom. Mine didn't. If you are looking to get away from the stresses of life then you found the right place. This is quiet elegance of days gone by. Peaceful serenity abounds here. Only on Sunday nights does things heat up with some local classical music entertainment. We only stayed 3 nights and ate in the hotel one evening. It was an excellent meal at a table on the porch overlooking the water and the sunset. I would recommend this for either a romantic getaway or for a rest and relaxation vacation away from one's daily hustle and bustle. There are no shortage of fine restaurants on Shelter Island so consider this locale for a quick driveable vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for your own bathroom with a queen or king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ram's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram's Head Inn

Address: 108 Rams Island Dr, Shelter Island, NY 11965
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Shelter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Shelter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ram's Head Inn is a gracious center hall colonial with 17 charming and comfortable suites. It's a world apart, without being a world away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ram`s Head Hotel Shelter Island
Rams Head Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ram's Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.