We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place, for so many reasons.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 204 Main Bar & Bistro

204 Main Bar & Bistro
204 Main Street, Sharon Springs, NY 13459
518.284.2540
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sharon Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite place, for so many reasons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I'm lucky: 204 Main is within walking distance of our home. We've tasted nearly every appetizer, entrée, and dessert, including many of their rotating specials. The food is unfailingly excellent. The atmosphere is modern and welcoming. The music is too cool for a tiny village in upstate New York. And the staff is made up of delightful conversationalists.

There are so many great dishes to explore on the menu, so I'm having trouble thinking of just one to recommend. The Schnitzel is amazing and rich without feeling decadent - the fried egg atop it really adds to the dish. The newly-added Chilean sea bass is delicious enough to recommend to everyone - and this is coming from someone who isn't always a sea bass fan. The desserts are a rotating collection of excellent options - do not pass up the chocolate pudding if it's available. How Norm turns what is ostensibly a simple dessert into something so special is beyond me, but take my word - it rocks. Oh, and all of their bread is made fresh from scratch every day. Their bread and butter makes it worth a drive. Really.

I could go on. Just visit. It's always delicious, always a fun scene - even when it's quiet - and you'll probably hear something rad on the stereo.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Plain, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dumplings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Modern Style yet accommodating to families... This restaurant had high prices but the chef has definite cooking chops... Their dumplings come in appetizer or main course size. I suggest them if you are looking for an Asian style meal. Yummy bread to start was also served.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The 204 Main Bar & Bistro is a gem in the small town of Sharon Springs, NY which is about a 1/2 hour from Cooperstown, NY. My family travels to the Cooperstown area two to three times per year and since the Bistro opened, we go for several meals during our 5 day weekends in upstate NY. It is our favorite restaurant in the area. The food is tremendous, the service is impeccable and the restaurant is spotless. We were in town a couple of weekends ago and had dinner three nights at the Bistro. The dates stuffed with almonds and wrapped in bacon appetizer served over a bed of greens are fantastic. There was a new appetizer called gnudi (a type of gnocci) which melted in our mouths. We ate schnitzel, beef short ribs and sausage dinners which are our favorites! The panna cotta (a flan like desert) with caramel sauce was a 10 out of 10. If in the Cooperstown area, the Bistro is a MUST-STOP for a scrumptious dinner and lovely atmosphere! We are never disappointed and dinners at the Bistro is one of the highlights of our trips.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and waitstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The 204 has a genius menu of items, which when served to you never disappoints. The quality, taste and presentation of the food is beyond amazing. I have tried almost everything on the menu and they are all my favorite. The desserts are a must have! The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable . Every visit has been delightful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Quaint & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was tasty and the staff did not rush you out the door. The bartender gave us history of the establishment and town. They made sure my meal was gluten free and the roasted garlic tomato soup was to die for.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 204 Main Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to 204 Main Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 204 Main Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.