We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam artists” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Budget Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharon Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Budget Inn
Save
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Chestnut St & 498 Rt-20 (Westernturnpike), Sharon Springs, NY 13459   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sharon Springs
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scam artists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

this hotel advertises "near Cooperstown", non-english speaking, when we tried to cancel, we were informed of the non-refundable policy. Our credit card was charged before we even arrived. WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE stay at this joint. So sorry I even heard of this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    4
    3
    33
See reviews for
21
12
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This particular area of New York is wonderful if you are livestock. If you are a human being, it is an existential hellhole. Seeking relatively inexpensive lodging within 30 minutes of Cooperstown, we booked a room (non refundable) for two nights... It was $106 per night, so we weren't expecting the Waldorf, obviously. Still, this was quite something. To describe the odor in our room as "musty" would be like describing Mount Everest as "tall". The door closed but left a large gap at the top (badly warped frame) through which all and sundry insects smaller than say, a human hand could easily get through. So "damp" were the premises that the toilet paper was actually a little wet. We did not use the shower due to pure, unadulterated terror. We took one look at the sheets, comforter and pillows and quickly removed them and replaced them with our own... Not until we flipped the thin, hard mattress (which boasted two copious, ancient dried urine puddles) of course. The television was a circa 1992 25 inch tube without a remote. Some of you may be reading this and thinking "pffft, first world problems" and I can dig that sentiment but this wasn't for $50 ten minutes from Cooperstown ... It was $106 in the middle of nowhere ... For $106 a night in a location with nothing to offer, I expect at least a sanitary room and this place couldn't even provide that much. We didn't bother to stay the second night. Went to the hall of fame and took the 4 hour drive home. A must to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Pre-booked with Expedia. Stayed one night, tidy, dive. 3 months later had charge on my credit card. When I called I was told Expedia was suppose to refund me and then I was suppose to pay Budget Inn. Now its a mess. Can't believe the scam.

You leave the key in the door when you leave... it was very retro

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked a room at Budget Inn in Sharon Springs, NY a few weeks ago and stayed there last night. It was a most unpleasant experience. We quickly noticed a rolled up plastic bag left in plain sight, only to discover it was a soiled diaper. We put it outside in the window box (which had no plants in it). The bathroom window was wide open with no screen on it. When we pulled the window down to close it, we noticed that the window (about 8" x 15") had been broken into several pieces but was back together, held by scotch tape! The carpet was ripped in a couple places, filthy along the baseboard as if it had never been vacuumed, the draperies were falling off the rods, with the drapery pins barely holding onto it, and the bathroom waste basket had not been emptied from the previous guests. The air conditioner was too noisy to leave on and try to sleep. We could not get out of there soon enough this morning. We paid $85.00 plus taxed for this and feel very ripped off. This place needs a visit from the health department!
Alan and Carol Schoonmaker

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

the rooms were horrible dirty and run down smelled of mold i went to review the inn on expedia and someone had already used my e-mail address to give the inn a 5 rating this is a horrible place to stay and way over priced

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It was nearly impossible to get a room even remotely close to Cooperstown. I still can't believe I paid almost $90 for this room, but I didn't have any other options. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and polite; the room smelled of bleach, but it served its purpose. One feels as if you're going back to the 1970s and the rooms haven't been updated or upgraded since then! If you just need a bed and a bathroom and nothing else, this will serve its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honey Brook
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Ok - if you are looking for more than a bed, shower and TV - look elsewhere. My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 for 2 nights. This place is as basic as it gets, no extras. The furniture is old and the place is pretty worn down. But our room was clean. I always check under the mattresses for bed bugs - none here. We only were in the room to sleep so for us it was not a problem. The shower was old school, but clean and plenty of hot water. The walls are thin (on the 2nd night we could hear the guy in the next room snoring). So I would suggest bringing a fan for white noise (we always do this). The man at the front desk was very nice and helpful.

If you are looking for basic lodging and a low price this place is ok. If you don't want to rough it a little bit, look elsewhere. But I might add, there are not many motels at all in the area. We have stayed at another location in the area which was WAY worse than this one.

Room Tip: if there are not many people there, perhaps you could ask for a room with no one in the adjacent roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: Chestnut St & 498 Rt-20 (Westernturnpike), Sharon Springs, NY 13459
Location: United States > New York > Sharon Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sharon Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel Sharon Springs
Budget Inn Sharon Springs
Sharon Springs Budget Inn
Budget Host Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.