We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aunt Betty's was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast

Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Setauket
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2 Harmony Lane, Setauket, NY 11733   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Setauket B&B and Inns
Waterbury, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Aunt Betty's was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I was in town with my old college roommate this past August to visit other college friends in the Port Jeff/Central Islip/Huntington area and we had a hard time finding a hotel reasonably priced on Long Island. Search no more! Aunt Betty's B&B was worth the money! It was quiet, we had AC, and she provides a very homey environment! We stayed in Room #3 with the bathroom across the hall - which I thought would be weird, but it wasn't at all. Everything was immaculate and clean. The bed was soft and comfy. Her guests were fun to talk to as we all ate breakfast at her kitchen table that next morning. She made us toast with cut out stars and an egg through it. It was very yummy!

Betty herself is very down to earth and real. You can tell she loves what she does. She's got a very cool backyard with lots to look at as well. We enjoyed her stories.

The location is wicked close to Downtown Port Jeff. Pretty convenient. She also gives good directions and great pens too! I've had them for four months and they write very well! :)

I have to say - all the TripAdvisor reviews matched our experience. Definitely recommend it if you're in town for the weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in #3 because it was what was available...which was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Why stay at the Holiday Inn or area hotels if you are visiting Stony Brook area? Had alot of work to prep on my trip this week but business was made enjoyable by the comfy room and pleasant stay at Aunt Betty's. Maybe it was the soak in the big garden tub or the yummy snacks outside the bedroom door or the peace and quiet, but I slept like a log. The wifi is solid, the desk and lighting are perfect - this is a place to get work done and have a vacation at the same time. Thanks Aunt Betty!

Room Tip: Room #1 has best wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

It was as though it was our own home. We arrived a few hours before having to attend a wedding in the area. Betty was on the way our so the lovely home was basically ours! There are three guest rooms: #1 is enormous with a pretty elaborate bathroom; #2 and #3 are pretty identical, although #3 doesn't have an en suite bathroom (the bathroom for #3, however, is directly across the hall and reserved exclusively for the occupants of room #3). As other reviewers have said, the place is immaculate! But what makes the B&B experience at Betty's so special is the personal touch. The bow on our wedding gift was detaching--Betty provided a roll of tape to re-attach. I forgot the earring back for one of my earrings--Betty's daughter provided one. Try looking for an earring back at a Holiday Inn!

The grounds around the home are lovely--a fireplace pit, seating, beautiful trees and plants with charming little gnomes hiding throughout. Unfortunately, the rain prevented our enjoying the grounds.

Finally, the morning's breakfast--great coffee--is a delicious and social way to begin the day. Seated at an intimate dining table, Betty serves up fruit and egg-in-a-hole or other substantial breakfast treats.

An absolutely delightful place to stay!

Room Tip: Room #1 is super spacious but #2 or #3 are good sized bedrooms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Look no further.If you need a place to stay in this area this is it.I will never stay in a hotel again.The place is immaculate,room 3 was great,and I felt from the minute we arrived that we knew Betty all our lives.She is definately a special lady and her breakfasts were to die for.Even Suzie the dog was friendly.Having lost our beloved dog 2 weeks prior to staying there it was as if she knew.One morning she was even outside the bedroom door and greeted us as we came for breakfast!!!!Cant say enough about Betty and her B&B and if you stay check out her gardens in the back you'll be impressed!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you are looking for comfort, convenience and squeaky clean accommodations, look no further. Aunt Betty's offers all of the above at a very reasonable rate. Betty is truly of the most genuine, no
nonsense individuals that you will meet and you just might find yourself spending a good portion of your vacation exchanging stories with her over the breakfast table. One night we even made egg creams...what a hoot! Seriously, staying with Betty will change your life for the better!
We stayed in room #1 which has ample space and a large bath with plenty of room if, like myself, you tend to bring an arsenal of products. Located 1 mile from Port Jefferson, this B&B served as a excellent home base as we explored the entire north fork and even points south. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast is significantly better than staying in a hotel or motel. Not only is Aunt Betty charming and extremely helpful with directions, etc, but her accomodations make you feel like you are in a nicer version of your own home. We stayed in Room 1 for two nights, and I haven't slept so well in ages! The decor is homey and the bathroom is twice the size of my bathroom at home, and filled with amenities. I highly recommend staying here, and it's an amazing value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I was looking for accommodations for my parents and myself in the Port Jefferson area. Aunt Betty’s was a terrific alternative as we were looking for something different from the standard hotel chain. The B&B is an extension of Betty, welcoming, warm and friendly. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. The breakfast is cooked by Betty and is super! I would definitely stay again and would recommend Betty’s B&B to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 Harmony Lane, Setauket, NY 11733
Location: United States > New York > Setauket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Setauket
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aunt Betty's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.