We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Tavern

Turf Tavern
40 Mohawk Ave, Scotia, NY 12302-2597
(518) 393-3671
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Scotia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I guarantee you get an enjoyable meal at the Turf, as well as an exceptional value. Our group ate on a Thursday evening. After a large group of noisy women left for Proctor's soon after we were seated, we were able to enjoy the ambiance. The highlight was the largest prime rib I've ever had, for an incredible price of $14!!! (It was the special of the day). Allegedly a "queen's cut", this piece was humongous! It came with steamed veggies & garlic smashed potatoes, and a salad. I mean a stinking burger at Applebee's costs more than this! But this was fit for a king. My Mom goes there for the Herb crusted pork, which she raves about. My wife had scrod, which she raved about. We had a carafe of wine, which was cheaper than a glass that you'd get at one of these pseudo-high end joints. The Turf is the place to be, for value & for exceptional dining!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    17
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have not been disappointed yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We dine at the Turf about 4 times a year. We are always pleased with the food and my husband really looks forward to the side of seasoned asparagus that they bring out for us to share. I usually have a chicken dish--the chicken scallopini is very good and my husband always gets seafood--he got the seafood fra diavolo last time and was very pleased. When we went this past April we had made reservations for 7:30 but called back around 5:30 to ask if they had anything at 6:00 instead, they asked if we wanted to sit in the bar area--we said that was fine...it was actually very nice--haven't been disappointed yet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam Junction, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try it you will like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We are from the area and have been to Turf Tavern on many occasions. Recently went with friends and of course, could not resist the specials for just over $20.00 per. The portions are less but as seniors this is no problem. The specials started with appetizers and the crab cakes were delicious. This was followed by a house salad with a full range of choices for dressings. Of course, the warm bread was also served. My friend and I both had the salmon and it was very well done. Husbands went for prime rib and it was also done as requested. All of this was then followed by desert and there was a choice of four and these also were very good. For nice atmosphere and good food you can't beat the Turf in Scotia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, New York
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Turf Tavern In The Middle of Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went to the Turf Tavern in Scotia - have been there before - always a good meal and very friendly staff and good service.
We started with the stuff mushroom with crab meat - excellent
Then our salads - very good - I had the Shrimp Genovese - with wild rice - very good - my husband had the prime rib and shrimp - with mashed potatoes - he wanted a baked but they did not have any - the prime rib was cooked to his liking - When is Scotia - the Turf is a good place to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Brunch A Bit Pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time celebrating Easter with friends and choose the restaurant from a recommendation!
Looked forward to this buffet to celebrate the holiday as it mixed breakfast and dinner (lunch) items. Food was average nothing really creative. Waitstaff was very attentive with all you could drink juices and coffee, etc. served. Tight quarters to reach buffet in the front of the dining room, where we were seated while others were seated in the banquet room. A list of names were pasted to the door indicating if your seats were in the banquet room! Fare was $26.00 per person + tip and tax! Carving station had 3 choices, ham, lamb and beef. Thought the beef was very tough and would have enjoyed turkey as well. Nice restaurant but for the price the value and quality didn't cut it! Will try the restaurant and see how entrees are but for special occasions will move on to someplace else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Tavern also viewed

 
Schenectady, NY
 

Been to Turf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.