We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Brunch A Bit Pricey!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Tavern

Turf Tavern
40 Mohawk Ave, Scotia, NY 12302-2597
(518) 393-3671
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Scotia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Easter Sunday Brunch A Bit Pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

First time celebrating Easter with friends and choose the restaurant from a recommendation!
Looked forward to this buffet to celebrate the holiday as it mixed breakfast and dinner (lunch) items. Food was average nothing really creative. Waitstaff was very attentive with all you could drink juices and coffee, etc. served. Tight quarters to reach buffet in the front of the dining room, where we were seated while others were seated in the banquet room. A list of names were pasted to the door indicating if your seats were in the banquet room! Fare was $26.00 per person + tip and tax! Carving station had 3 choices, ham, lamb and beef. Thought the beef was very tough and would have enjoyed turkey as well. Nice restaurant but for the price the value and quality didn't cut it! Will try the restaurant and see how entrees are but for special occasions will move on to someplace else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
c.p.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Elderly Hotspot!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am always wary when I walk into a restaurant and I am the youngest person by 25 years (not including my wife and child) and I am in my mid-thirties!!!! While the staff was friendly and accomodating to my daughter, my wife and I were on edge about having a 2 yr old at our table. A decent menu with reasonable prices, but the food seems to be seasoned with an older crowd in mind. Everything could have used a pinch of salt and pepper!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Outstanding Fare, terrific service and Waitresses, great Ambience all with pricing the average retired group can afford.
Tom and Maria offer many terrific weekly specials to augment their daily menu.
Most anyone that has eaten here says the same thing, outstanding!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, New York
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Turf Tavern - Worth trying again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to the Turf Tavern again this time on a Friday and I did make a reservation - leave a message and they get back to you -
I had the Shrimp Genovese and my husband had the Seafood Fra Diavolo - both excellent - we started with the salad with their houses dressings - the bread was very good and the service excellent.
It is going to be a regular on our list of places to eat!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Intimate dinners to private parties”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Last Saturday night my husband and arrived without a reservation and though the Turf was packed we were seated right away. The service was friendly but not intrusive, our dinners were delicious and a real value. Since my women's club started holding its luncheon meetings there our numbers have started going up! Everyone has been very happy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Turf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.