We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turf Tavern

Turf Tavern
40 Mohawk Ave, Scotia, NY 12302-2597
(518) 393-3671
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 33 Restaurants in Scotia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Scotia, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was there with my friend, each of us celebrating our birthdays. It was the perfect place to have a wonderful and catch up with everything going with us. We had the $20.12 dinner selection Walnut encrusted salmon. It was perfection. From the salad to the entree to dessert, we could not have asked for anything better.
We told our server we were not in a hurry and she gave us the time we wanted to eat our dinner at leisure.
The Turf has been around forever and although the decor has not really changed that much, the menu has enough variety to never be boring!! Great job!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We started with the fried artichokes. They were tasty and different. The portions are quite large. No one leaves hungry. The Vegetarians Delight was chock full of fresh vegtables - carrots, zucchini, artichoke hearts, mushrooms and spinach! It was delicious. The Veal Scalloppini was also delicious. It comes with mushrooms, spinach, tomatoes, roasted red peppers, artichoke hearts and mashed potatoes. The chicken parm was tasty. They bake it instead of frying it. This was much appreciated. The Chicken Marsala was another hit. The chicken was super moist. Next time we want to try the prime rib. It looked great going to another table. While the service was a bit slow at first, they became quite attentive and were very gracious. We all said we would go back anytime.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Top-notch sit-down restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Turf has been around for decades, but their menu keeps evolving. There are also some bargains. We happened to visit on a "Ten-dollar Tuesday," with three featured entrees for ten dollars each. I tried the chicken Wellington -- a chicken breast in puff pastry. Very nice. We also had an appetizer plate, with shrimp, crabcakes, and deep fried artichokes, which were surprisingly good -- fried just enough to be crunchy, but still soft inside and without any vinegar flavor.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk Valley
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gracious service, excellent food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although the decor is a bit dated and could use an upgrade the service and food at reasonable prices make this place a winner. Have dined there several times and never been disappointed. It's not a trendy sports bar scene but rather dining you would like it to be -- attentive service, well prepared food, easy on the wallet. I would not recommend bringing antsy children. It's a restaurant that caters to a generation that appreciates a standard of service lacking in so many newly opened establishments that cater to the meet and greet crowd. One particulary appealing aspect of the restaurant is that it is open on Sunday afternoons when so many of the area restaurants are closed. I particularly enjoy patronizing Turf Tavern after a concert at Proctors or a movie in Schenectady.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just O.K.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stopped in while in the area not knowing anything about the restaurant. Outside was recently redone, inside rather dated but clean. There were a myriads of Deals, Specials, etc. but we ordered from the menu. The tabletop for two was rather cramped especially when a wine chiller was added. Server was quite pleasant but difficult to get her attention. We had appetizers and a salad before our entree and waited and waited... The waitress eventually told us that the kitchen "forgot" one of the entrees and this was the reason for the wait. The forgotten entree arrived hot and was quite tasty, the second was warm and dry (probably from spending too much time under heating lamps). Food was just O.K. and priced accordingly. I would be in no rush to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turf Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Turf Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turf Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.