We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Economical, and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Saratoga Motor Inn

Old Saratoga Motor Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Schuylerville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Saratoga Motor Inn
Save
You added Old Saratoga Motor Inn to your Saves list
173 Broadway Street, Schuylerville, NY 12871   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schuylerville
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Economical, and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

When we drove up, we thought we may have made a mistake. The exterior of this vintage motel (one of the L-shaped, one story, front parking lot motels you used to see all over the U.S.) is in need of some work. The roof needs replacing (although it didn't leak when it rained!), and it's crying for a paint job. The small patch of unpaved ground behind the office running down the side of the parking lot was unmowed and overrun with weeds. That said, we were pleasantly surprised to find our rooms well-appointed, freshly painted, and equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. And did I mention clean? We were traveling with another couple and both of our rooms were spotless. The owners, the Miers, were very pleasant. Jim showed us to our rooms, handed out cookies and a wireless access code, and was quick to offer directions and advice when asked. Roni directed us to a little cafe (Over the Moon Bakery and Cafe) down the street for lunch when we first arrived, and we went back the next two mornings for breakfast, it was so good. We were in town for a concert, followed by a day at the track and dinner in Saratoga, but are getting fed up with what they're charging right in town for rooms we don't even spend much time in. I would stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed one night...the owners are friendly and chatty but not intrusive. Its clean! Very clean. We had two beds in the room, and mine had one of those rubber mattress pads so I sweated all night.

Sadly we had a family from hell (why do they insist on renting one room for 4? Parents and two teenagers??) next door. Its a motel, so it sounded like they were tearing down walls all night. Thank god the window AC was circa 1950 so the clanging helped create a louder white noise to the stupid people next door.

My folks had another room and they were woken early by the folks on their side...huge dogs. Its a pet friendly place.

Nice attempts and the fridge was a nice touch. Again, clean...just noisy. That can't be entirely the owner's fault. But remember - the less you pay for your room, the more apt you'll find folks that 'don't travel much' around you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband, his mother, sister and I stayed here to attend a funeral at Saratoga National Cemetery. The "Americana" room was very cute and had two double beds. The room was super clean and the gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful with directions to the cemetery, restaurants and attractions. Be aware that this is an older (yet well maintained) motel and its retro-charm means it may be a little smaller than you're used to. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I did not stay here, but was parked across the street, standing outside my car when I witnessed the owner verbally abuse a woman who he believed was parked too close to his driveway. He just started yelling at her, "Move your Goddamned car," and accused her of talking back to him, which she did not. He then stated that he would have "her car towed, and her too." I didn't help that in addition to being a woman, she was also Asian.

I don't know about you, but I would never frequent a business when the owner is so abusive to strangers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Schuylerville hotels

Upstate New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Very clean. Each room is decorated with its own "theme". Mine had a horse racing motif. Very cute. And did I mention "clean"? Microwave and refrigerator. The only difficulty was it took a long time to get hot water in end unit #12. But it was a minor inconvenience. There is no coffee maker, but short walking distance to convenience store. If you have to have coffee first thing, pick up a cup the night before at the store to heat up in the microwave in the morning. Would definitely stay here again. Motorcycle friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at the Old Saratoga Motor Inn this past weekend. We were very happy with our stay. The owners are extremely friendly and make you feel right at home. The rooms are beautifully decorated, each in their own motif, and are very clean and comfortable. We were very happy we stayed here, and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermonter
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

This little hotel is clean and affordable. We are always able to get a microwave and refrigerator in our room at no extra cost. The owners are very nice and friendly. Only drawback - there is no table in the room.

  • Liked — Affordable yet clean room
  • Disliked — No table in the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Saratoga Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Saratoga Motor Inn

Address: 173 Broadway Street, Schuylerville, NY 12871
Location: United States > New York > Schuylerville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schuylerville
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Saratoga Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.