We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just great Pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeCesare's Pizzeria

DeCesare's Pizzeria
938 State Route 9, Schroon Lake, NY
+1 518-532-9200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Schroon Lake
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Pottersville, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not just great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Another "local Gem" in the Adirondacks' Schroon Lake Village. DeCesare's has a huge menu that you'll be hard-pressed to work your way through because I promise you that you'll get stuck on one item and never be able to stop ordering it. But get yourself "un-stuck" and work your way through the rest of the menu. You will not regret it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the chicken parm!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The chicken Parmesan was awful. I didn't like the flavor of the sauce. The pizza was passable. Find other options, if possible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb D, Owner at DeCesare's Pizzeria, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you did not like your dinner. Alan & I always want to know if a customer is not happy so that we can try to fix the problem. Please contact us if there is anything we can do. We want to make sure that our customers are happy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Grand kids give it a thumbs up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I am somewhat of a pizza snob so I will let my grand children have final say. They all agreed that they liked the food. You need to understand that it is a self serve place to eat. You place your order, give your name, pay for your food and wait to be called. Just like Mickey D's.
While you are waiting you can set up your table or booth with the tools you'll need to eat with and get your drinks. We had the 12 cut pepperoni and cheese, an order of wildcat wings, mozzarella sticks and soft drinks. Bill totaled $47.47. If you are noise sensitive this place is not for you, order to go. It can be quit loud. The grand children were sated and would eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“If you're into nothin' fancy but looking for good food, Go to DeCesare's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were looking for a rebound meal after not being satisfied elsewhere the previous night and so we took a chance on DeCesare's. I typically figure size matters, so I look for a large parking lot because it usually means they can pack 'em in. Here they have a small lot in front of the restaurant and a larger one across the road, so we pulled in and walked across and went in. Be prepared - you order at the counter inside the front door abd then go take a seat and they call your name when your order is ready...no table service. Not a problem as long as you listen and don't have a hearing impairment. We saw they were BUSY, so we expected a long wait. Several minutes after ordering we had our salads, and within 15 minutes we were staring at our Haddock dinners. Very well prepared with a light batter and excellent flavor, with adequate portions. The salads had been ample and good quality ingredients, and the store-baked Italian bread was melt in your mouth delicious. We saw lots of other appealing entries and items going by as people were called and did the perp walk to retrieve dinner. We'll go back again for the excellent food and put up with the commotion and lessened atmosphere because the price is right and the concept works in a seasonal camping town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Schroon Lake Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our family loves their 12 cut pizza. It seems that a week can't go buy without ordering a pepperoni and mushroom to go. We have also dined there as well. I like the veal parm and my wife the broiled haddock. We highly recommend it. You order at the counter and their staff calls your name to pick up the food at the counter. Work really well...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeCesare's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to DeCesare's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeCesare's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.