We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of George Mann Tory Tavern - CLOSED

George Mann Tory Tavern
104 Vrooman Crossing Rd, Schoharie, NY 12157-5012
(518) 295-7128
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Somers, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Seems as if the owners just don't care anymore. With the exception of the stuffed trout, our dinners were just okay. Our glasses of wine (a featured syrah, and a merlot) were barely drinkable. A serving of onion soup amounted to about 1/4 cup.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    5
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rustic charm with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We traveled 67 miles to treat my mother and step-father for their 17th wedding anniversary along with my mother's 90th birthday. We had heard good things about the Tory Tavern and were looking forward to this special evening celebration. Upon arrival, we were greated at the door by the hostess dressed in period costume, and she showed us to a nice table for four in the dining room to the right of the entryway. There was already a couple in this room who seemed to be enjoying their dining experience. Richard soon arrived at our table to take drink orders and to answer any questions about the menu. He was very knowledgeable with the menu, was very friendly, very efficient and had a keen sense of humor. Two of us choose the complete dinner and the other two had soup, salad and entree. Both appetizers, a stuffed portabello and crab and trout cakes were delicate but exquisite. The tomato basil soup had a nice taste, but lacked substance, but the cold strawberry and watermelon soup was a delight. Salads were small, but the homemade dressing made up for the size and the entrees....... elegant, well prepared, delicious and very good sized portion. Two of us had the salmon, one a london broil with a jim beam sauce and I had pork medallions (at least 7 or 8) with a red wine reduction demi glaze and mushrooms -- I savoured each bite. The cointreau flan was light, but a fine way to end a great meal. Did I mention the sorbet before the entree was served -- five star service. We were there for almost 2 hours, never felt rushed, yet the service was prompt and professional. It wass worth the hour and twenty minute drive. Bravo!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tory Tavern is Tops!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Wonderful dining experience! The decor is beautiful and the whole meal was perfectly prepared and served! We will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“food is great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Whenever we are inthis area we make it a point to have dinner here. A limited menu, but what we've had has been delicious. The steak with jack daniels marinade is my favorite. Wait staff is ok - sometimes friendly, sometimes not, sometimes attentive, sometimes not. Sides are always good. You will not leave hungry. We've always enjoyed the side salads, and warm bread is served. Its not a quick bite to eat, but you don't have to block out your whole evening either. Prices are reasonable. We usually dress a little to go here (bsuiness casual, summer dress), but I don't think there is any dress code. You do need to make reservations, but they won't take them too far in advance - not sure why.....

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Quaint and intimate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've dined at the George Mann Tory Tavern on many occasions and enjoy it even more with each visit. It is a historic building with much history. The servers are wonderful and dress in period clothing. The menu changes each week.There are at least 4-5 entrees'. You are surely able to select one for your taste. It is $45.00 per person or you can order Ala Cart. For the $45.00 price you have an appetizer, salad and soup, the main entree and dessert and coffee. It is more than enough for anyone's appetite! We always leave with a "doggy-bag", Even your "doggy-bag" is wrapped in foil and shaped like a swan! It is a wonderful spot to celebrate an anniversary for two or a "non-hurried" dinner with friends. I highly recommend giving this restaurant a try, you will not go wrong.Reservations HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Mann Tory Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Mann Tory Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.