We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good amenities, walking distance to Union College” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Nott Terrace, Schenectady, NY 12308 (Formerly Holiday Inn Schenectady)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
GreenLeadersSilver level
New England, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good amenities, walking distance to Union College”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed here in order to tour Union College, which is a two-block walk away. The hotel kindly let us leave our car in its parking lot, which was helpful since the college lots were crowded that day. The hotel is set back from the road and a bit difficult to see; similarly, you can't see the front desk when you enter but proceed ahead and it'll appear! Nice pool, decent fitness center. Strange layout overall; gives the impression of being several hotels or spaces conglomerated together. Our room was attractive, and the staff was very positive. Some good amenities, although take note: free breakfast is not one of them. More on that topic, however: since I did not see restaurants right near by and we were tired, we reluctantly decided to brave supper in the hotel restaurant, Samuel's. Usually I don't do that as I've learned from experience the food is usually mediocre at best. Not here--what a pleasant surprise! The restaurant food was excellent, both for supper and for breakfast! So I didn't feel anywhere as grumpy as I thought I would about breakfast not being included. Definitely give the hotel restaurant a try if you are staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    29
    12
    17
See reviews for
37
20
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

great stay again.rooms clean although need more ac outlets, food great, best egg white omelet in the world, linda,Gina and team look after you , greet you and make sure the meal.is great, and the chef who I don't know, makes heart egg white omelette and grilled salmon, forget the rest Schenectady holiday inn's restaurant is the best

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lockport, ny
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip. There were 3 women and we had a suite with 2 beds & a couch. The room included a small fridge. It was clean & comfortable and suited our needs quite well.
Check-in/out was smooth & friendly. The breakfast was basic but fine. All staff were friendly & professional.
There is a bar/grill right next to the parking lot where we had supper. Nice that we didn't have to get back in the car & drive somewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is quite basic but I have nothing to complain. Checking in was smooth, rooms were ok, breakfast was decent and the staff at the reception and restaurant were friendly. The location is in a quite neighborhood even compared to Schenectady.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear arnab1978,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, We truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We've stayed here a few times while visiting friends nearby and have found it to be reasonably clean, quiet and well-maintained. The neighborhood features a lot of older architecture and is generally safe for walking around. Can't rave about it, but can't complain about it, either. It's your basic, decent Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I usually use the Marriott chain hotels, but was in town for a hockey tournament and wanted to be with teammates. Our room wwent from being an ice box at times to a roaster oven at other times. The linen on the beds was not even what you could call real linen. I can't even describe it. The telephone was broke and we had to call several times to try and get it fixed as well as the tv. The bathrooms do not have fans and our oom did not bget cleaned until 5:00 Pm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Carley P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will surely be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was traveling for work and I needed a clean and convenient place to stay in Schenectady which is a town that has seen better days. This hotel met those expectations plus the customer service provided by Devi working at the front desk was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady

Address: 100 Nott Terrace, Schenectady, NY 12308 (Formerly Holiday Inn Schenectady)
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.