We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Schenectady” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cella Bistro

Cella Bistro
2015 Rosa Rd, Schenectady, NY 12309-5026
518-381-2081
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 236 Restaurants in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Tapas
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Upstate NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Schenectady”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Schenectady is blessed with many good restaurants - especially if you like Italian food. But none is better than Cella Bistro! My husband and I especially enjoy the Tapas Menu - the menu is creative; the food exceptionally well prepared; and the service is attentive, friendly, and well-informed. And, for the price, it can't be beat. Cella Bistro offers a $20 and under wine list that enables us to enjoy a bottle of wine with dinner and have a great meal for about $50. Amazing!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Cella Bistro was participating in Travers week and the on line menu looked interesting because it wasn't the usual appetizer, main and desert. A friend had told us it was a good restaurant, so we decided to give it a try. It is not impressive looking from the outside and parking is an issue, but inside it is warm and inviting. The bar/tapas area is a little noisy, but the main dining room is very nicely done and quiet.
Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. She explained the Travers menu which consisted of a first course of two wonderful salad choices (a warm peach and prosciutto salad over spinach and a great Caprese salad) a second course choice of baby lamb ribs with tzatziki sauce or risotto balls stuffed with marscapone and served with truffle oiled baby arugula, and then a main selection of gaucho steak or pan seared scallops, both with not your everyday sides. All were absolutely delicious - not bad for $18.64. We've been to other restaurant week dinners, but none could compare in selection or quality. Their regular menu and specials were similarly interesting and thoughtfully constructed.
Cella Bistro is now on our list of "we will definitely be back" restaurants - which is not a large list.
What we can't figure out is why this restaurant is only listed as #27 in Schenectady!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Restaurant in the Area--By Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This is our favorite restaurant in the area. The imaginative tapas and entrees are really a cut above usual restaurant fare. Everything we've tried has been just out of this world. Decor is terrific. Bar area is a great place for eating too. Husband/wife team of chef/hostess couldn't be more friendly. We've introduced lots of our friends to this place and no one has ever been disappointed. Do yourself a favor....

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced Food & Amateurish Service-Disappointing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

We have been to Cella Bistro 5 times before and sat at the bar and enjoyed Tapas, cocktails and dinner. This time the bar area was very noisy, so we opted to sit in the dining room. The hostess and our server had very limited knowledge about the menu. We were informed we could not order Tapas at our table. We thought that was strange. Our appetizer was inedible;loaded with salt. We sent it back. $38. for a veal chop is obscene. The chicken Milanese was overcooked-nearly burned. Cella Bistro boasts that it serves "natural local ingredients" but the salmon offered is farm raised.( the server had no idea about farm raised vs. wild caught). Apparently the chef doesn't check the food or taste it before it gets to the diners. 2 drinks & 2 glasses of wine with dinner with tax & tip, $120.00 for 2. Pretentious!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst Dining Experience Ever!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

A group of us went to celebrate a friend's birthday and were seated in the dining room. We ordered drinks and asked if we could order both from the main menu and tapas. They said tapas were only served in the bar area (less than 2 feet away). This was never explained when we were offered a table. We were already situated and had our drinks served so we asked if an exception could be made since it was pratically empty in dining room(dining room at 8pm on Friday evening only had 4 tables full out of 17 or so). The waitress said the manager stated no, we needed to move to the bar, however, a table would not be ready for another 15-20 minutes. All this to order a few tapas!! We asked to speak to the manager -- she came out storming out of the kitchen , never introduced herself, asked what we wanted and when we started to explain it was a bad business decision because we had now been there for 40 minutes and are only two feet across from the bar area and would like to order from both menus, she cut us off rudely and defensively stating we must move to the bar area (apparently we were in a "no tapas zone") We found her attitude and unwillingness to accommodate most probably a sign as why the dining room was not filled. We asked for our drink check and said we would leave at which time other diners came up to us startled at her rudeness, one stating the service was terrible and another that they waited 45 minutes just for a salad. So this business argued with us all due to the fact that they 1) never informed us of their policy upon arrival; 2) instead of saying they would like us to stay and note the policy for the future let us leave (four working professional woman who were ready to spend money for the evening).

We left and went to Aperitivo, told them of our experience. We were greeted with a complimentary cheese/fruit tray since our night started out lousy. few minutes later, the manager at this establishment said he heard our story and welcomed us, stating if there was anything we needed to let him know as he wished us a fun night. This manager even remembered to send a candle in dessert for our friend, just based on what the hostess told him. What a difference in customer service!! Looking for tapas and quality, friendlyfun service? Drive to Aperitivo and skip this lower class wanna be establishment. Not in great area, either. Awful parking, worse customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cella Bistro also viewed

 
Schenectady, NY
 

Been to Cella Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cella Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.