We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Curry!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Thai Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Thai Bistro
268 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305
(518) 372-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Green Curry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Green curry was one of the best I've ever had. Spicy, but not too spicy. I try to find Thai food in every new city I go to and can't remember having anything better (curry)
My wife had the Tom Yum Shrimp which was also very good. We did not have any sushi. Went on a Friday night at 6:30...good crowd. Service was very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh my heavens!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Simply amazing. The Glass Noodles are heavenly. The Thai Chicken is mouthwatering. I over-stuffed myself here a few times. So worth every penny!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stopped here for lunch. They got busy pretty quick. I have never tried Thai food but was excited to see they had sushi. The prices seemed pretty reasonable. I started with the avocado salad. This was brought out at the same time as the entrees, while I was hoping it'd come out earlier but this isn't a serious issue. I was just really hungry. I am always impressed by just how thin these sushi chefs can slice the avocado. The ginger dressing was very tasty, and I could've made a whole meal out of this salad I loved it so much. The only negative to me was the iceberg lettuce. Iceberg lettuce is just not for me. I would've preferred romaine. But the salad was really, really, really good.

For sushi, I went with the Union roll which was shrimp tempura, avocado and cucumber topped with spicy crunchy crab. It was good, but it was just under $9 and a larger roll with only 5 or so pieces. It didn't have tons of flavor but it wasn't the worst sushi I've had.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always Bangin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

No matter how many times I go, it always gets better. One of the best Thai food spots in the north east IMHO. The staff is always cool and remember more people than you would think possible. Very nice to feel comfortable when you're grabbing a bite.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch in downtown Schenectady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I've been here for lunch several times and have never had a bad meal or experience. The Yellow Curry is simply awesome as is nearly everything else I've tried here. The service is very friendly and attentive. Good food and service....nothing more to ask for really. I've never been here for dinner though so I'm not sure how different that would be from the lunchtime experience. Overall it gets a big thumbs up and I'll keep coming back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.