We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Schenectady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA get up to 10% off
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
GreenLeadersGold level
Raleigh, United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Schenectady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Good quality, clean and provides everything you need for business travel. Close to downtown so easy access to restaurants & entertainment. I would stay here again for business trip. continental breakfast & comfortable beds

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Kathy-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our "On the House" Hot Breakfast Buffet, comfortable Clean & Fresh beds & our downtown location. We look forward to another opportunity to host you at our property, and once again, thank you for your positive comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    78
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
87
48
24
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed at Hampton Inns many times, and this one, although pricey, was exceptional. We decided to drive the grueling 10 miles from home due to the weather forecast for heavy snow and ice, which was forecast for the evening of our tickets to Proctor's. No way were we gonna miss "Book of Mormon".

The show was a hit, and so was this place. Very nice facility, nice pool and fitness center. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It certainly also helped that this hotel is a half-block walk to the theater!

Schenectady has seen better days, and it's also seen worse days in our 40 years of living in this area, but you can sense a rebirth in downtown, thanks to several new venues, all centered around and near Proctors. This Hampton Inn is not only one of them but one of the gems of the area, in our humble opinion.

We'll have a good Hampton Inn breakfast tomorrow then drive the grueling 10 miles back home.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello Randy,

Thank you so very much for sharing your feedback about your stay with us! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time & you were able to take advantage of our "On the House" Hot Breakfast Buffet, pool, fitness center & staff. We love knowing our guests can experience our convenient downtown location, too. Please come & see us again! Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Overall it was very good.
I stayed for close to two weeks and I don't have any big complaints about.
Rooms were clean and ambiance was nice.Complimentary breakfast will be little disappointing for long stay, as you will be bored seeing same menu every day.
Staff is very friendly and quick in service.
Heaters/Air conditioning system is very noisy in my room which could kill the peace a little,But I didn't complaint on it, May be If I would have,they would have corrected it.
Coffemachine I felt, locate din wrong place in bathrooms :(

Room Tip: There is no restaurant but above rating is for breakfast. There are plenty of good restaurants and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi Ravi-

We appreciate you taking the time to share you feedback about your recent stay with us. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your clean room, our friendly staff & the ambiance. We are so sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast selection & the location of the in-room coffee maker - we will certainly take this into consideration when reviewing our offerings and policies . We also thank you for bringing it to our attention that your heating system was noisy. We will have our maintenance team address this issue right away. Please come back & stay with us again next time you are in Schenectady. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Best hotel in Schenectady and I have been to a few. Clean - has great coffee, breakfast and gym and indoor pool. For business a great stop, in fact if I found myself in Schenectady for pleasure this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hello Julieann,

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for commenting on our cleanliness & many amenities we offer including breakfast, coffee, fitness center & our indoor pool. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your hotel experience. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I was in town to play a Broadway show tour for one week at Proctors Theater and couldn't have been closer. We were literally across the parking lot to the stage door. Perfect!! Breakfast was a nice treat too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback about our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location & breakfast. Please come back & stay with us next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hard to find anything bad to say about this affordable, clean, quiet hotel. The staff was particularly friendly. I would return here without hesitation if I were in the area again.jsakd;flaskdfj a;sldkfja;sldfj asldkfjsal;dkj a;sldkfjas;ldkfj ;alsdkfjs; jldk;flaskjf ;lskdfj ;al

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi Nancy,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback about our hotel & your experience! Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed our rates, staff & hotel cleanliness. Please keep us in mind for any future trips to Schenectady. We look forward to seeing you. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had to make a one night stay midweek in Schenectady and chose this Hotel. What a great choice. Everything was excellent. Can't say much more. Flawless check-in. Perfect room - very clean, comfortable and many amenities. Front desk even called a few minutes after I arrived in the room to check and see if everything was ok. Which it was. This Hotel has a continental Breakfast, which turns out to be a little more than continental in my estimation. Large well appointed lounge area for breakfast well appointed and can be used anytime at that and it is situated with a nice street view. Plenty of restaurants just outside the front door on the street and across the street. All within just a few steps walking distance. Anything from pizza to upscale dinner. Couldn't have made a better choice of places to stay in Schenectady.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Jim!

Thank you so very much for sharing your hotel experience! We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed so many things including our staff, room & breakfast. We truly appreciate your kind words & hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.