We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip - poor value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
GreenLeadersGold level
Greenville, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip - poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Plain rooms, no fridge or microwave, no ice on main floor. I stay at this hotel at least once a year for business. For prices you pay, more amenities in the room would be nice, cookies available every evening, and a staff that doesn't stand around talking to each other, but greets guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, General Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. We certainly appreciate the points you provided and will be addressing them with our staff members and facility. I apologize that we do not have an ice machine located on our first floor since it is within our common lobby & breakfast area. We have ice machines located near our elevators on all floors with guest rooms for easy convenience.
I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    94
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
98
52
25
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was a very clean and neat hotel. it was very convienent to some local restarants. The breakfast had a wonderful selection the next morning. The staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staff rocks, room are quite , cleaning staff very good and kind. Only thing that I didn't care for was the gates for parking but you are right in the middle of everything going on so it made sense.
Lay out was one of the best I have been in. Breakfast was great. But the whole staff was great not one mean or nasty person! The main st is really fun and 50 feet away fro the front door. Great food ! We will be back.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators or front of the building the views are per cool though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for 4 nights on business. The rooms were a little old but updated. The breakfast was typical Hampton each day, although the fruit wasn't so tasty. The workout room was fine - updated and new equipment. They had a pool too, although it was small and I didn't have a chance to try it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything about my stay was perfect!! From check-in with an exceptionally patient and helpful staff member to the plentiful and varied free breakfast in a gorgeous dining room! The room was spacious, very clean, super soft bed and pillows, high quality towels, spacious, clean bathroom, flat screen tv, WiFi, cable ports on the bedstand and desk and nice chair and foot stool. They advertise in the elevator and in the rooms that the duvet covers are washed for every guest...made me think about how often the other hotels wash their duvet covers.
Within walking distance to several eateries. Has a pool and fitness center that I didnt use, but many others were enjoying the offerings. You're not going to go wrong staying here!!

Green Features: They have Green practices...towel reuse, Energy Star appliances, and recycle!!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The lobby & reception area are beautiful. But what I really appreciated was that every aspect of the room....TV, shower, internet, wonderful & comfortable bed, was just perfect. Extra special touches, internet & power outlets on the nightstand, lap desk so appreciated. The fitness center was well equipped and clean.
Location fun...in renovated historic district.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Best staff I have ever meet at a hotel or inn. Rooms were top notch. Clean well kept premises. Wonderful Breakfast each morning for free. Had lots of fun at the pool. Enjoyed the stay very much. Beds and pillows were the best I ever slept in. Rooms were spacious. New state of the art flat screen tv cable. Free internet access. Soft plush towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.