We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Hampton, a bit pricey though for Schenectady” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA get up to 10% off
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Schenectady
GreenLeadersSilver level
Morganville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A typical Hampton, a bit pricey though for Schenectady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for 4 nights on business. The rooms were a little old but updated. The breakfast was typical Hampton each day, although the fruit wasn't so tasty. The workout room was fine - updated and new equipment. They had a pool too, although it was small and I didn't have a chance to try it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    62
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
38
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything about my stay was perfect!! From check-in with an exceptionally patient and helpful staff member to the plentiful and varied free breakfast in a gorgeous dining room! The room was spacious, very clean, super soft bed and pillows, high quality towels, spacious, clean bathroom, flat screen tv, WiFi, cable ports on the bedstand and desk and nice chair and foot stool. They advertise in the elevator and in the rooms that the duvet covers are washed for every guest...made me think about how often the other hotels wash their duvet covers.
Within walking distance to several eateries. Has a pool and fitness center that I didnt use, but many others were enjoying the offerings. You're not going to go wrong staying here!!

Green Features: They have Green practices...towel reuse, Energy Star appliances, and recycle!!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The lobby & reception area are beautiful. But what I really appreciated was that every aspect of the room....TV, shower, internet, wonderful & comfortable bed, was just perfect. Extra special touches, internet & power outlets on the nightstand, lap desk so appreciated. The fitness center was well equipped and clean.
Location fun...in renovated historic district.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Best staff I have ever meet at a hotel or inn. Rooms were top notch. Clean well kept premises. Wonderful Breakfast each morning for free. Had lots of fun at the pool. Enjoyed the stay very much. Beds and pillows were the best I ever slept in. Rooms were spacious. New state of the art flat screen tv cable. Free internet access. Soft plush towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Was actually going to Saratoga Springs for the weekend, but the Hampton there, where I thought I wanted to stay, was much more expensive. Since Schenectady is just a few miles from my hometown and familiar to me, and also not too far from Saratoga, decided to stay there. Everything was perfect; everyone was more than helpful; room and all accommodations were excellent. Thought the parking was going to be inconvenient, but it really isn't, and the attendants were very prompt and helpful. Have stayed at Hampton Inns all over the country, and 99% of them have been a pleasure; this one was no exception!

Room Tip: With the exception of one Inn in Mississippi, every room I've ever stayed in has been excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us. The breakfast was ample and fresh. The rooms were very clean and well furnished. The hotel is in walking distance to a few very nice restaurants and theaters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The overall experience of the hotel was wonderful; great room, great bed, good breakfast...but the parking lot was very full and it was very difficult to get in to the hotel due to construction (paving) of the lot at the entrance (the construction company had NO flaggers to warn people or direct them!). My car ended up getting hit/damaged in the parking lot, as someone parked illegally on a corner space in the middle (I was the last "legally" parked car in the middle isle). I didn't realize this until a mile or so down the road after I checked out. Hampton should have someone there at night to monitor the parking lot! and this probably wouldn't have happened.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn
Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.