We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Experience All Around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
GreenLeadersGold level
Geneva NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Top Notch Experience All Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I recently selected the Hampton Inn as the main hotel for a conference I was organizing. From start to finish, I could not have asked for a better experience. The group sales person (Martha) was professional, accommodating and responded to my inquiries very quickly. She even anticipated a few details before I even inquired.

In total, we had about 100 members of our organization staying at the hotel. This group can be very particular about their accommodations and lodging and their needs and comfort were handled with professionalism and ease.

The hotel itself is fairly new and the rooms, hallways and all areas are extremely well kept and beautifully decorated.

Every staff member that I encountered during our week at the hotel was pleasant, helpful, courteous and outright friendly. It's hard to single out any one in particular but the woman who ran the morning breakfast buffet should be given some kind of award for her enthusiasm and charm. She told me she has been with the hotel since it opened. It is very obvious that she takes great pride in her job and in her interaction with the guests.

The rooms are a bit pricy for the location, that is true. But the quality of the staff, rooms, service and central location can't be beat. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to other groups traveling to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    94
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
98
52
25
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
schenectady, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here while visiting nearby Union College. Room was lovely and clean- Everything worked and the room was pleasant and quiet. We also thought the complimentary breakfast was plentiful and nice. We went in the pool and it was also clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My extended family from around the country came for a wedding and we all stayed at this Hampton. This Inn a beautiful, the staff wonderful, the accommodations very comfortable and well-appointed, the breakfast room spacious and the breakfast ample. Overall, everyone in the family really enjoyed this Hampton. Parking was a problem because the main lot was filled and the additional lot was unmarked and unsecured. Also, this is very pricey for a Hampton--my wife and I have stayed at Hamptons all around the country. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay and this is a 1st class Hampton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Hampton Inn, Schenectady. The staff were excellent. Rooms spacious and easy to feel comfortable in. Beds, as always, are Hampton's specialty and they did not disappoint. Breakfast is nice and the breakfast room is large and looks out onto State Street. Parking is a little bit of a concern as it is downtown, but we were actually able to park very near the door each day. They have a covered area where you can unload luggage before going to park. Prices were more than other hotels in the area, and to me that means you can expect more. Our stay could be called perfect other than these very minor hiccups: Only Pepsi products on property, eggs are reconstituted for breakfast, elevator came to our floor but would not leave it. They resolved this immediately with a call to the front desk. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed here several times whle on business. This is a large hotel squeezed into a tight downtown location. Room key gets you into the free back parking lot. Lobby/lounge/breakfast area is huge - a good place to bring in dinner and eat if you prefer not to eat in your room. Take a couple of cookies for dessert. Staff is efficient, check-in was literally abou a minute. This is one of the cleanest Hamptons I have ever stayed in and despite the city setting, very quiet. The AC unit was quiet also - a big issue with me. Breakfast was typical Hampton with mystery eggs, microwave bacon, but add a muffin, banana and yogurt and you're all set to take on the day. I did find this hote a little pricey but would recommend for business travel. Not great for families due to the location - and I would like to see Schenectady PD more visible out on Main Street. I have never seen a patrol car or beat officer during my stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly and very helpful with local info and directions.I was in town for a wedding, and if I ever come back to the area, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a quick 2 night business trip and was happy with this hotel that appeared to be newly remodeled or built. Very nice lobby, clean rooms and service oriented staff. I would definitely stay again. It was located in an area that was clearly being revitalized with several new places to eat and a theater.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.