We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hampton, poor parking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA get up to 10% off
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
GreenLeadersGold level
albany, ny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hampton, poor parking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My extended family from around the country came for a wedding and we all stayed at this Hampton. This Inn a beautiful, the staff wonderful, the accommodations very comfortable and well-appointed, the breakfast room spacious and the breakfast ample. Overall, everyone in the family really enjoyed this Hampton. Parking was a problem because the main lot was filled and the additional lot was unmarked and unsecured. Also, this is very pricey for a Hampton--my wife and I have stayed at Hamptons all around the country. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay and this is a 1st class Hampton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    88
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
94
51
24
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Hampton Inn, Schenectady. The staff were excellent. Rooms spacious and easy to feel comfortable in. Beds, as always, are Hampton's specialty and they did not disappoint. Breakfast is nice and the breakfast room is large and looks out onto State Street. Parking is a little bit of a concern as it is downtown, but we were actually able to park very near the door each day. They have a covered area where you can unload luggage before going to park. Prices were more than other hotels in the area, and to me that means you can expect more. Our stay could be called perfect other than these very minor hiccups: Only Pepsi products on property, eggs are reconstituted for breakfast, elevator came to our floor but would not leave it. They resolved this immediately with a call to the front desk. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have stayed here several times whle on business. This is a large hotel squeezed into a tight downtown location. Room key gets you into the free back parking lot. Lobby/lounge/breakfast area is huge - a good place to bring in dinner and eat if you prefer not to eat in your room. Take a couple of cookies for dessert. Staff is efficient, check-in was literally abou a minute. This is one of the cleanest Hamptons I have ever stayed in and despite the city setting, very quiet. The AC unit was quiet also - a big issue with me. Breakfast was typical Hampton with mystery eggs, microwave bacon, but add a muffin, banana and yogurt and you're all set to take on the day. I did find this hote a little pricey but would recommend for business travel. Not great for families due to the location - and I would like to see Schenectady PD more visible out on Main Street. I have never seen a patrol car or beat officer during my stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel was very clean, the breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly and very helpful with local info and directions.I was in town for a wedding, and if I ever come back to the area, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had a quick 2 night business trip and was happy with this hotel that appeared to be newly remodeled or built. Very nice lobby, clean rooms and service oriented staff. I would definitely stay again. It was located in an area that was clearly being revitalized with several new places to eat and a theater.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly staff. Larger than expected room. Hotel appeared to be very new and in an excellent location in downtown Schenectady. Parking secure access to many restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our stay at the Hampton Inn in Schenectady, New York was very pleasant. The Hampton is our "go to" hotel because we never have to worry about whether it is clean, they always meet our expectations. The room was pricey but I guess you have to expect that in New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.