We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Schnectady, New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fleming Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn Schnectady, New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Customer service was excellent--just the most helpful young ladies at the front desk. Nice complementary breakfast. Great workout center. Loved the business office--everything I needed. These are the most comfortable beds ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    107
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
112
59
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Clean, helpful staff, good location near many restaurants. Outlets in room were well-located -- a nice touch -- for recharging electronics. Staff could know more about restaurant open/closed days. We've stayed at Hampton Inns before and this one offered the same quality of services; the hotel seemed new and very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I like Hampton inn when we are in Schenectady. Other Schenectady hotels are not as comfortable or clean. I have allergies and always sleep and feel great at this hotel. Though the hotel serves an above average complimentary breakfast, The downtown location is great for an early morning walk across the street for coffee snobs to one of the great coffeeshops on Jay street if you prefer an espresso or latte or chai tea. Ive enjoyed spending an overnight visiting my college student at Union seeing a broadway touring show at the Proctor's theater next door. Easy to take in a show, a nice dinner and not have to take your car. My choice in Schenectady. Great location near Union College for parent week-end or college visits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I thought we would of had a more enjoyable stay. The pool needed some work. They need to either repaint the bottom of both the pool and hot tub or just clean it better. A dirty bandaid was at the side of the pool in the afternoon when we went swimming and still there the next morning. THe hot tub broke as well when we were there. The hot breakfast was horrible. Not bad if you don't mind a carb breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSchenectady, General Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback in regards to the pool and breakfast . I've worked with our maintenance team to fix the issue, however I apologize that it wasn't resolved sooner. Thank you again for your review and I invite you to stay with us again the next time you return to the area so that we may show you the quality, hospitality and accommodations you expect and deserve.

Thank you!
Mounssif
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of Schenectady, very pleasant and helpful staff, nice breakfast buffet, nice indoor pool. The receptionist as check-in insured that I was across the hall from the room of my sister's family, which was greatly appreicated. Spacious, clean rooms, and very quiet. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hampton Inn was truly delightful. It's located in the quaint downtown of Schenectady within walking distance to restaurants and entertainment like the theater. It has a truly upscale feeling, but is reasonably priced and it offers free parking (which is nice especially since it is in downtown). The area is super clean and feels safe. It is also conveniently located since the freeway is within miles. The only downside is that, unlike many Hampton Inns, its standard rooms do not include a refrigerator and microwave. If you want such a room, you must ask for one. While I don't know when I will visit this area again, it's safe to say that when I do, I will return to this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: If it's important to you, request a room with a refrigerator and microwave. I also enjoyed the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel several times and it has an excellent quality of service. Although it's weekend rates are slightly overpriced in my opinion, the luxury and majesty of the interior is unmatched. And the concierge, Gabrielle, was lovely and hospitable for the duration of my stay. My only disappointment was that the ON-DEMAND movies for cable were not available to order.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.