We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check for events at Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Schenectady

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Schenectady to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Schenectady
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Check for events at Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Overall the Hampton Inn was fine. The parking lot was very small for the size of the Inn and the overflow parking was about 100 yards away. The pool, fitness center and cleanliness was fine (what you would expect or at least hope for). The reason that I stay at hotels is for the opportunity to sleep and rest. I did not know that there were 3 wedding parties that had also book rooms in the Hampton. I did not appreciate the noise and wedding guests bringing the reception party back to the hotel. When calling the front desk they would get everything quieted down but by that time the damage has been done. Would I give them another chance - possibly. There would have been a much better chance if the manager would have called me like I was told he would when I checked out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adraab10, General Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello Bill F,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Schenectady and for posting some feedback from your visit. We truly value guest input and appreciate you taking the time.

I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. They aren't typical by any means but still presented issues. The parking lot was overly filled due to construction. We have made it a point to ensure this doesn't affect our guests in the future. As for the wedding parties, we have looked into the matter and outlined a no party agreement to protect other guests from similar issues. Also, we have spoke with security on how to best handle future disturbances.

Once again, thanks for your feedback. Although you didn't leave completely satisfied with your last visit, we hope you may consider us again while in the Schenectady area. We aren't happy unless our guests are!

Take Care,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    106
    19
    4
    4
See reviews for
111
58
26
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The website say that they have secure parking, but my car was vandalized and property was stolen. The Manger Mr. Salaoui response was that he was sorry and that it was my fault the car was broken into. As Mr. Salaoui say, "the hotel is in a downtown area, so extras precautions need to be taken due to the crime." This is the type of ignorance you will be dealing with. To sum out I had over $1200 Dollars woth of damage, property stolen and I was offered a free upgrade to a suite the next time I stay??? Why would I stay in an area their own manager says is crime ridden? Do yourself a favor and stay in Rotterdam, Colonie or Niskayuna...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adraab10, General Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Mr. Farrar,

We do apologize for the unfortunate occurrence that you encountered in our public parking lot. We do our best at monitoring the parking areas as well as our building with security personal. We take incidents such as your very seriously, in fact our security had discovered the situation early that morning and we had already contacted the police before you were aware what had happened.

I agreed to turn this claim into our insurance carrier and asked you to do the same with yours. I am sure your insurance company would decide if it should suborgate ours. As with any parking lot it is always a good practice to not leave any items in the open in your car. We don't like our guests to leave as upset as you were. We did make some suggestions as to what we could do for you. Unfortunately paying for the damages is something we have to leave up to our insurance company to decide.

Thank You and Take Care!
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Overall, we were very pleased with our Hampton Inn stay. The hotel is immaculately clean, the bathrooms are huge, as are the rooms. We found the hotel to be very quiet . In fact, our friends had a party in one of the rooms. It felt loud, but when you shut the door and went into the hallway, you could barely hear a thing!

I don't know why people complain about the location. It's right on the main little drag and we thought it was rather cute.

The only downside was that the breakfast buffet was crowded and understocked on the weekend... but it was free so I won't dock them any points!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adraab10, General Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello Jacie5,

I wanted to send a quick thanks for your recent stay with us in Schenectady and for posting such a great review of your visit. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us and other travelers with some insight into your stay.

I was pleased to read that you found our hotel so clean and spacious. Those are both keys to a successful stay with us along with quality guest services. Beyond the hotel itself, I was glad you found our location to be so prime in Schenectady. We do have a safe and secure area around the hotel that makes for a perfect choice. I do apologize that the breakfast was crowded and under-stocked. We typically are able to manage varying loads but depending on capacity may experience a delay longer than usual. Hopefully won't be the case the next time you're in the area if you stay with us.

Once again, thanks for the great feedback and for staying with us! We really value all our guests and hope you choose us again while in Schenectady!

Take Care,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here on August 18 on our way to Cooperstown. While the hotel is new and pleasant, the area is so run down, we were nervous to even look for the place. There is not much they can do about their location, but other than one nicer block, the city is run down and depressed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adraab10, General Manager at Hampton Inn Schenectady, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello kbgdsg,

I wanted tot take a moment to thank you for providing us and other travelers with some insight into your stay with us at the Hampton Inn. We really value guest feedback and find it so useful in better understanding our guests. Our goal is to have every guest leave 100% satisfied.

I wanted to note that I really appreciate that you found our hotel to be so accommodating and clean. Our whole team works diligently to keep it in tip-top condition and it is always great to hear that from a guest. Although the area didn't make the best impression, we can assure you that there are some great hidden gems in and around Schenectady along with a great university in Union College.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing our Hampton. If you're ever in the Schenectady area again, please make a visit back to our property.

Take Care,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This was a great location for business travel in the area. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The staff were friendly and there was a good selection on the free breakfast buffet. It was also a quiet location even though there was construction happening nearby.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stopped for one night on the way home from Niagara Falls. Immaculate property, room, pool, breakfast area. Staff was helpful, free parking, great downtown location handy to restaurants. Good choices for breakfast in a sunny, pleasant room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Normally when we are up this way we stay at the Century House but they "bumped" us and were we ever lucky. This hotel is clean, rooms are spacious, staff is pleasant and accommodating. Why not five stars? The breakfast simply needs to be better...other than that...a great find and relatively convenient! We won't go back to the Century House now!

Oh, and if you want a great dinner and love Indian Food...http://karavallilatham.com/ - there's also a little diner - Rte 7 diner with a friendly staff and fresh food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Schenectady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Schenectady

Address: 450 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Schenectady 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Schenectady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Schenectady Hotel Schenectady
Schenectady Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Schenectady, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.