We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Lights Bad Lights 'GHOST'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Proctor's Theater

Proctor's Theater
432 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
(518) 346-6204
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Schenectady
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Slingerlands, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Lights Bad Lights 'GHOST'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Little over the top with new technology in lighting. This wasn't one of my favorites at Proctor's but a night on the town for a reasonable price is always good.

Easy to get to Proctors and parking is fine. Easy to leave after the show.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    40
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WIlton Ny
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Broadway North”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

we love going to proctors, its gorgeous, well kept ans the shows are top notch and reasonably priced!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Shows and movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I go to many shows and movies they have. Excellent service, and very helpful staff. It's also a great venue for live music too. Have seen some big name groups perform, such as Blood Sweat and Tears to name a few.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“History in the making at 60-year-old theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were privileged to be taken on a personal tour of the historic Proctor's Theater in Schenectady, NY. As a visitor from California, I was not there when anything was in production but they have a great list of upcoming shows in 2013-2014 (including "War Horse" in January 2014). But a delightful man named Bob opened the theater for us and gave us a tour complete with the theater's history and the renovation work that has been competed, including making the stage three times its original size.

Speaking of 'original,' Proctor's started out as a vaudeville theater all those many years ago. It is a staple of Schenectady history.

The entrance to the theater is reached through the Proctor Arcade, a block-long indoor shopping strip featuring mostly touristy goods.

I will definitely be planning my next visit to Schenectady to include an evening at the Proctor's Theater.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big city feel with easy access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the type of theater and shows you would encounter in a big city, but has easy access and avvailability for resteraunts, parking, etc.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proctor's Theater also viewed

 

Been to Proctor's Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proctor's Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.