We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirks & grandeur in a neighborhood of contrasts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stockade Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Stockade Inn to your Saves list
The Stockade Inn
1 North Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quirks & grandeur in a neighborhood of contrasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The 'suite', a high-ceiling corner room with great windows on two sides, was well-carpeted, and furnished with good old stuff made of real wood and springs and upholstery -- very comfortable and well-maintained. Not pretentious. Overall it reminded me of a living room at the provincial home of a state family-court judge. The wing chairs, with a tall lamp alongside, were great for reading. Housekeeping was careful and accurate.

The bed was super, but I got to sleep later than I do at home. Part of the generally pleasant aura of the Stockade Inn is that it is a community fixture, its ballrooms thriving on jazz and parties and reunions and fund-raisers for county clerks. In the evening, the revelers' exuberance carried upstairs. It was quiet by around 11.

The bathroom, also with a broad window, was modern and equipped with an electric socket. The tub was large and had both a spigot and a shower hose of the best kind. There was also a separate frosted-glass shower stall. I recommend the tub-with-hose: you can run the water until the hot arrives, and you can aim it away when the hot suddenly vanishes. You have to be spry-in-the-hip to get into and out of this tub, since the ledge is somewhat broad.

My phone detected wifi, and also there appeared to be a network jack in an interface box under the TV. Tip: Bring a 25' cord, since the TV in my room was not particularly near the desk.

In subzero weather, the room was amply heated by a wall-mounted electric thing controlled by a thermostat. I should have put a vessel of water on top of it to humidify the air, but I didn't.

Hot coffee was provided in the morning in the restaurant lounge, a fabulous throwback to the gentlemen's club that a historical placard said occupied the building previously. The "free breakfast" is technically true, but it's packaged goods with long shelf life; on such a small scale it probably doesn't make sense to get the kitchen into full swing until lunch. I found a rudimentary but satisfying cooked-to-order breakfast two blocks away, at the corner of Church & State, where the Stockade Market cooks greasy-spoon stuff (takeout only). It's a ghetto emporium with clients to match, but on the other hand, the proprietor was helpful and cognizant.

In sum, the Stockade is comfortable and it's part of an actual neighborhood. It lacks the antiseptic qualities of the Hampton Inn and CVS, but if you like experiencing the historic zone and its denizens, the Stockade is marvelous.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
30
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I live only minutes from the Stockade Inn and have been there several times. We decided to go for our 1st overnight and Valentines Dinner. We had a 5 star meal - 4 oz tender lobster tails & filet mignon.

The cozy bar and fireplace was a perfect ending to the night before going to our beautiful king room to retire.

Room Tip: Parking is located within steps of front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We recently had our wedding at the Stockade Inn in Schenectady, NY and we can't say enough about it! From the food to our stay in the bridal suite to the staff, they truly went above and beyond to make our wedding perfect! The charm and warmth was felt immediately upon entering this historic inn. Lush, sophisticated Holiday decorations were everywhere and the staff was quick to greet us and help us bring all of our wedding stuff in. Even though it was only a small wedding of 30 people, there still seems to be a lot to do and Jeff McDonald and his team were so incredibly professional and had everything set up perfectly! Because it was such a small wedding, we did not hire a dj and opted to only have an ipod play. Jeff truly went above and beyond for us by making sure the correct song was playing for our entrance and first dance. We have eaten at this restaurant on several occasions and the food has always been outstanding. The Chicken Francaise in particular is to die for as well as their Chocolate Explosion dessert! The bridal suite was huge with a beautiful canopy bed, comfy sofas, flat screen television, wine refrigerator and decorative fireplace. The mahogany staircase and detail of architecture of the Inn made for some fantastic pictures. The Van Curler room was where we held both our ceremony and reception. The ceremony was fireside and just perfect! After our reception, we moved our party to the lounge area with another fireplace and bar. The bartenders throughout our stay and wedding were always super friendly, fast, and served great drinks! The best part of it all was that we didn't feel like we had to spend an arm and a leg to have a fantastic wedding. It was truly our style because it was not a cold, pretentious big hotel....they have real keys (yes, real keys!) which was also part of this hotel's charm! If you are looking for a great place to have your wedding in an intimate and charming setting, the Stockade Inn is for you. We plan to also return to their restaurant and bar as it is just a relaxing and great place to be! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in one of the suites several days before Christmas and loved the unique and historical experience. We arrived in the evening with four large suitcases in tow. When we first walked in, we realized there was no check in desk. The host greeted us and checked us in on the computer. The lounge was very lively and festive with a jazz musician. There's a tiny one person elevator with a sliding grate door which was really cool. Or you can use the stairs. Our room was very spacious with windows looking out on all sides to include a view of the Dutch church across the street. It was also very clean. We ordered room service and the food was outstanding. I'd highly recommend the bruschetta with flank steak and lobster. The room service staff was extremely helpful and showed us how to operate the heater in our room. It really felt like an Inn as compared to a hotel. If you love history and staying in unique and charming places, this is definitely one to check out. Prices for the suites are extremely low too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockadeInn, Manager at The Stockade Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Hotel. We focus on attracting tourists who appreciate the historic architecture and the personalized service we provide. Our rooms have a historic feel but offer all the modern conveniences like individually controlled heat/air conditioning as well as wireless internet, 32" High Definition Plasma TV's with offer 500 channels and 10 HBO's. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

A gem of a place in the historical district. I could take the stairs or the old sliding door elevator to get to my room, which was charming and surprising spacious. Bed was comfy, bathroom was lovely, and it was easy to walk to the river from there. Staff were extremely helpful too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StockadeInn, Manager at The Stockade Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have a great staff that is overseen by Owner/Managers and cleanliness is very important to us. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Louisiana, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was extra nice and clean. We usually stay at this hotel every other month. My only complaint was that we had no heat. The air and heat unit in the room had no information to control the unit.


Room Tip: Fix the air / heat unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I satyed at the Stockade Inn this past June. I loved everything about the hotel itself to include the beautiful historic church across the street. The lady working the counter was very friendly and welcoming. The only detractor is not to the fault of the hotel, which is the neighborhood. Although I never had any issues with anyone the little thing in the back of my neck said to deffinately not walk around the neighborhood at night. I also had concerns about my vehicle. Also there are no restaurants within walking distance. But enough of that, yes - stay at the Stockade if you can, it is definately worth it, particularly if you love old world charm.

Room Tip: Get one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stockade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockade Inn

Address: 1 North Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stockade Inn is Schenectady's flagship boutique hotel. Offering a fine dining restaurant, casual bar and lounge, complimentary wireless internet, continental breakfast, and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Stockade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stockade Hotel Schenectady

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stockade Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.