We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stockade Inn

Save Saved
You added The Stockade Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stockade Inn
1 North Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Bastrop, Louisiana, Usa
1 review
“Stay review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The room was extra nice and clean. We usually stay at this hotel every other month. My only complaint was that we had no heat. The air and heat unit in the room had no information to control the unit.


Room Tip: Fix the air / heat unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    6
    9
    0
See reviews for
10
28
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I satyed at the Stockade Inn this past June. I loved everything about the hotel itself to include the beautiful historic church across the street. The lady working the counter was very friendly and welcoming. The only detractor is not to the fault of the hotel, which is the neighborhood. Although I never had any issues with anyone the little thing in the back of my neck said to deffinately not walk around the neighborhood at night. I also had concerns about my vehicle. Also there are no restaurants within walking distance. But enough of that, yes - stay at the Stockade if you can, it is definately worth it, particularly if you love old world charm.

Room Tip: Get one at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Didn't stay at the Inn, but did dine.

I've eaten here, or had drinks at the bar, a couple of times, most recently November 2013. Never disappoints. Had a very nice, fresh locally-brewed seasonal beer and my friend and i had a great conversation with our server. Located in the historic Stockade section of Schenectady - really enjoyed walking down to the Mohawk River and around the neighborhood before and after.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingdom of Kerry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed for five nights for a business meeting.

Plus points:

Staff: friendly, helpful & discreet.
Character - this place definitely has it. It is not some sterile chain hotel environment but a quirky fun place.
Bar - loads of whiskeys. Great bar staff.. live music some night where some really fun locals let their hair down.
Location - slap bang in the heart of the Stockade district. Amateur historians will love it. Also only a few blocks to walk to Procters etc in centre of the town.
Bed: slept all night! Firm.

Negatives:

Breakfast: only a continental style breakfast. Not a game changer but...
Shower: not the most powerful but hot.

Previously, I've stayed in the Hampton Inn. No more, this is my place.

Thank you to Stockade Inn.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I biked the Mohawk/Hudson River Trail and stayed over night at the Stockade Inn. The hotel location is prefect for the trail outing. Arriving from NJ we got to the hotel just before noon. Even though we were 4 hours early for the check-in time, they made sure the room was ready within an hour. The hotel is very quiet and charming. We reserved the 300sq ft room and the space was plentiful. The bathroom was modern and super clean. The hotel surrounding area is beautiful. Great place to walk around. Nice restaurants nearby. Breakfast was minimal but just enough to start your day adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for recently updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Stockade Inn because of a wedding down the street. I loved the old character of this place. Hotels do not have this kind of charm any more. And the price was great! everything was very clean and the staff was very nice. The only negative was the elevator.. It's tiny and a little scary but I didn't take it because there is only a few floors and unless your handicap everyone should use the stairs anyways.

Room Tip: We stayed in a basic room and compared to the suites it was a little more modern and not a sunny (wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely historic inn located in NY first preserved historic neighborhood. Rooms are large modern amenities Could use a little refurbishing. Sunday brunch wAs delicious. For those who prefer a non chain experience this is the place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stockade Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockade Inn

Address: 1 North Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stockade Inn is Schenectady's flagship boutique hotel. Offering a fine dining restaurant, casual bar and lounge, complimentary wireless internet, continental breakfast, and much, much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your The Stockade Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stockade Hotel Schenectady

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stockade Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.