We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of English Garden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schenectady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
English Garden Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added English Garden Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
205 Union Street, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Schenectady B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Large, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our rooms were very large and equipped with TV, WIFI, and a sitting area. Interesting artwork. Linens were silky soft. Bed was comfortable. Good in town location. Old but clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
3
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

The rooms were clean and tidy. We had Suite which had a bathroom dividing the 2 rooms. One room had settee and armchair for sitting in which were comfortable but the adjoining room only had the one seat. The downside to this accommodation was the fact that there was no tea or coffee making facilities. There was a microwave on the landing and bottled water was provided and kept in a fridge. Breakfast was sufficient but a little on the sweet side for our 'english' taste.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We decided to take a break from chain hotels and stay at a B & B as we visit colleges. Glad we did! Virginia was very welcoming and accommodating. What a great location for restaurants and visiting Union College. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

Kudos all the around and after my experience here, would never stay anywhere else when traveling to Schenectady or the surrounding area. They had all the amenities I could ask for to both work & relax including free wireless Internet. Bravo!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milvain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

I had to travel to Albany from Boston to sit for a professional exam and stayed at this B&B because I was unable to find lodging in Albany. I was delighted with my stay. The room was inexpensive (less than $100/night), very large, and clean, and had a lot of character, as did the house itself. I had to leave the B&B by 7:00 each morning, and each day, the proprietor left a substantial breakfast -- made to my specifications -- for me, with a thermos of coffee. The negative review by the previous poster -- involving bats, etc. -- suggests a peculiar, anomalous, and unrepresentative experience. I would without hesitation stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

Although this home has some charm, it smells of urine and has cheap antiques. THe worst part of the trip was being awoken to bats flying around in the bedroom in the middle of the night- what a horrific experience. That combined with a 90 degree room with no air made this experience the worst ever!

  • Disliked — the bats in the bedroom
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2004

What a wonderful surprise to find this gem in the beautiful Stockade area! The owner was extremely accommodating despite my last minute travel plans and late arrival. The rooms are a little eclectic, but charming, with small niceties, like a vase of fresh roses on the bedside table. Note that the rooms are very different. Ask for the rear room with the large porch as your first choice. This is an old house (apparently dating back to the 1700's) so noise carries, and the downstairs room has the misfortune of being near the front door. Two of the upstairs rooms, however, have shaded porches attached and the one in the rear (at least) is very quiet. As I had business to complete, the porch was a lovely, quiet place to sit and work in the afternoon, but the interior of that room, with its comfy sofa and fireplace, was equally as relaxing. On one day I was the only guest for breakfast and had a fabulous breakfast of blueberries and french toast. The next day, when the inn was full, was cold cereal but with a delicious yogurt and fruit cup to start. I have stayed in inns that were more perfectly decorated or run, but for Schenectady, which has had too few options for too long -- what a terrific addition!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to English Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 205 Union Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage English Garden Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.