We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schenectady Civic Players

Schenectady Civic Players
12. South Church Street, Schenectady, NY 12305
(518) 382-2081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Schenectady
Attraction details
Schenectady, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I've lived in the area for quite awhile, and this is the first time I've attended a performance. I'm sorry I waited so long. The singing and acting were great, and the price of a ticket was incredibly affordable. Even free food at intermission!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This little theater group produces terrific plays at a wonderful value. If you like off beat theater and a great value, this is the place. No matter what the production, it is professionally executed. Well done!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great date night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great theatre, great actors, great price, we had great seats! Will go to all theshows we can! ............................

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you enjoy good theater, this is the place to be in Schenectady. Whether it be comedy or drama, the acting is always top-notch. The building itself is small, so you can an intimate vibe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very production is a gem, and the price is unbeatable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

SCP offers about five productions a year, starring local talent (and what talent it is!), plus free readings. If you are a season subscriber, you pay just $15 for each play, which I think is the best entertainment value in the Capital Region. You can't go wrong with any of the plays. They are well chosen for their network of actors, well staged, lit, blocked, and set. The sets are often so beautiful and appropriate that the audience gasps or murmurs its approval. The comedies always bring us to tears, we laugh so hard - such a wonderful escape from real life! SCP's pool of actors includes many masters of the art of comedy. Beware the parking, though - the theater is located in the Stockade, and there's a smallish parking lot across the street, but if you don't nab one of those spaces you might have a search on your hands and have to park several blocks away. If you come really early to park, you can't get into the theater - the doors open just 20-30 minutes before the curtain.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schenectady Civic Players also viewed

 

Been to Schenectady Civic Players? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schenectady Civic Players, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.