We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice change of pace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Parker Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added The Parker Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Parker Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Schenectady
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice change of pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The rooms are definitely nice. The Parker Inn under new ownership has definitely been revamped. It is in the perfect location for the theatre and restaurants. Their own restaurant is in the renovation process and should open shortly. Parking was not an issue- it is in the back with clearly marked signs. The staff couldn't be nicer.
Perfect for either a short or long stay. I look forward to staying again and seeing the full effect of the upgrades and renovations!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
16
15
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prattsville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have enjoyed my visits to the Parker Inn over the past few years. The rooms are lovely, modern, and now they have small kitchens included in the last 2 I have used. The bathrooms are beautifully tiled with nice showers, although the shower head in the last room could either be descaled or replaced, the pressure was limited, of course this was the 8th floor. They do not have anyone on the desk after midnight so you do need to remember the code to get in if you are out later, at least until 7 AM. The bar/restaurant is in the middle of rehabilitation secondary to a water pipe freeze, and flood. It is on State Street with direct access to Proctors arcade, so I can bop down and practice when necessary. I almost hate to write a positive review as I am afraid it will become busier and I won't be able to find a room. It is a small hotel. This month it did have a small bar of soap, which was nice, as last month there wasn't any. This room had only a bare minimum of dishes, only 2 small juice glasses, and no dish soap or soap for the dishwasher. No coffee maker in the room. But is an essentially nice room, with limited amenities for eating, coffee, and cleanup.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis C, General Manager at The Parker Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback… we are working hard to create a new look and hope you will enjoy all of the changes each time you visit!

While the restaurant is currently being renovated, make sure to enjoy all of the local restaurants within about 1000 feet of our door. This really is the Best of Schenectady with the culinary delights you can enjoy.

We will take all of your feedback and address other issues so that your next visit is even more enjoyable. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

I am a seasoned traveler and this place is sub par. Bad enough there is no staff on duty at night, but no staff in the morning?! Because there is no restaurant, I left to get breakfast only to be locked out in sub zero weather. Ratty old elevator, creepy experience. Ugh!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis C, General Manager at The Parker Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are genuinely sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. We try to speak with every guest personally and did receive a great deal of positive feedback this weekend about the renovations and the changes that are coming to the Parker Inn and Suites. We are sorry the options that we offered to you (including moving you to another property if desired) did not appear to make your stay more enjoyable.

Although we do need to assist other guests away from the desk from time to time, all guests are given a unique code to re-enter the building prior to or after desk hours. As part of our check in procedures, we have guests initial for their code.

Again, we are truly sorry that you felt your experience was less than perfect and will continue to strive for excellent guest experiences.

Alexis Crank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAUGERTIES
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Parker Inn and Suites is located in the same building as the Proctor's Theater in Schenectady. We had an opportunity to attend a show at the theater and this hotel was the perfect location. The parking for the hotel is in the same lot as the Theater but with clearly marked reserved spots near the back entrance to the complex.

The hotel is currently undergoing a lot of renovation, so the lobby was a bit dusty and the attached restaurant was closed (also being converted and transformed). The staff was very nice and helpful.

It is an old hotel with a long history along with the theater. The room itself was much nicer than I had imagined. There was plenty of room and desk space, and the lighting was also good. The bathroom looked brand new and was very clean. (The room carpet could have used a vacuuming).

They don't use bar soaps for either the sink or the shower. They use a liquid shower wash (which happened to be missing from our room). The toilet seat was a little uncomfortable and the TP was a bit rough. There was plenty of room in the shower, including a seat, and there was plenty of very hot water.

The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. The comforter was nice considering the cold snow blowing outside. There was an instruction card for the heat, which was easy to adjust. There is not a coffee maker in the room, but they have complimentary coffee in the lobby (looked like just caffeinated). The was a small fridge an the room as well as a microwave. There was no plug for the microwave, so I had to move it to use it.

There are plenty of nearby restaurants, but you may need reservations just before or after a show. You can walk to the theater without going outside, but we found out the hard way that the theater temperature was unstable, so I would bring a sweater or jacket just incase.

As we were checking out on Sunday morning, there was a 2 story farmers market in the complex. We unfortunately couldn't stay to explore, but it looked like one of the better markets we have been to, with live music on both floors, and food, wine, crafts, etc.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised. There are a few minor adjustments that would be nice, and I look forward to the bar opening back up, but I am sure we will visit here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis C, General Manager at The Parker Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your detailed review of the room and will use your feedback constructively.

At The Parker Inn and Suites we always strive to deliver exceptional guest service, and we are excited about moving forward in the coming year with the first floor renovations you alluded to. (Please “Like” our Facebook page to watch for future announcements on that topic.)
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon – there are a number of exciting shows coming up at Proctor’s.

Sincerely,

Alexis Crank-Harrison
General Manager
518-688-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Some things about the Parker Inn are great, some are just terrible. The staff does try, but sometimes need a little prodding. When I had an issue I had to really give specific details of what I wanted to happen and then they got it done in minutes! The water quality is harsh (super chlorinated). The rooms are clean but lack basics like kitchenettes need dish soap and a sponge even when there is a dishwasher there's no soap for it. Same for the coffee maker no filters or coffee. Hand soap is a necessary item, who wants to shower gel every time? And for one little bottle for two people?
The lack of staff during the night means that if your toilet stops up you'll have to use the public one in the Lobby until morning.
Pillows are old and very flat. The chairs for the breakfast bar weren't easy to move or sit in at the counter.
The granite counter top although very pretty was even secured to the base and moved alarmingly when a small amount of weight was on one side.
The staff is very friendly and certainly willing but probably need a little coaching on problem solving.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis C, Manager at The Parker Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although we are disappointed with some of the comments, we will use them constructively to ensure every future experience is excellent. I do believe when we spoke you were happy with the accommodation upon arrival, and I do hope that you will take the opportunity to call me directly so that we can address any issues that you encountered.

At The Parker Inn and Suites we always strive to deliver exceptional guest service, and although it appears we may have fallen short on your most recent visit, we will look forward to your next stay with us and regaining your favorable comments!

Sincerely,

Alexis Crank-Harrison
General Manager
518-688-1001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I don't understand the stellar reviews the Parker Inn gets here. It's a cool building next to the historic Proctor's Theater but it was understaffed and incompetent. A total disappointment. No one was there when we got there. Waited in the lobby. Even called and let it ring and ring while we stood there. Finally a young woman came in, apologetic. 7 pm on a Saturday night, we had reservations,but the place looked abandoned and we had to wait 20 minutes for an employee. The directions to get to the parking lot behind the building were inadequate. Lousy instructions on getting back in. We were given a key code for the outside door because there were no employees from 11 pm until the next morning.

The room had someone else's garbage in the wastebasket, french fries, etc. Smelled bad. There was no bar soap. We asked for some, they didn't have it. In the lobby in the morning there was a coffee machine and cups but no coffee. Why? They ran out of filters. Where can we get coffee? The woman (a different one) didn't know. We found a place with coffee and a little food TWO DOORS DOWN. There was an entire kitchen in our one room: full sized refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove. Not a thing in it. No kettle for hot water, no little coffee machine, not a pot or even a spoon. Tons of cabinets, nothing in them.

On the way out I asked if the hotel was going out of business. A nice looking little restaurant beyond the lobby that had a sign, "under renovation" but obviously wasn't being renovated. She said it had gone bankrupt and was bought by someone 5 months before.

Stellar staff? Spectacular stay? Knowledgeable employees? A LUXURY feel? Spacious and well kept room? We could barely get around the bizarrely pointless kitchen island. The room would have been pretty without it.

If you want to go there, wait a year and see if they've been able to get it together. Definitely not worth the money.

Room Tip: In the Hampton Inn next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis C, Manager at The Parker Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Parker Inn and Suites. Sometimes it is difficult to hear negative feedback, but I want to assure you we take every bit of feedback to heart and use it to improve. I am sorry you caught us at an off moment and we hope to earn your favor back on your next visit. We did just take the property over and are working diligently to ensure every room is completely prepared for each guest's stay. Having only 23 accommodations we do on occasion run into our Desk Clerk having to help another guest away from the front desk location. We are also taking steps to ensure third shift is covered and have just recently implemented a higher training standard.

There are many new and exciting changes taking place as this letter is being written, including new computerized systems better tracking all housekeeping needs as well as better general management of the property itself, and new coffee makers for each room will be arriving shortly. The restaurant work will begin shortly as well.

It is a very exciting time at Parker Inn and Suites and there has been a tremendous amount of work done so far, but that does not come without bumps in the road. Thank you for your understanding and please reach out to us directly so that we can address every issue appropriately with you. We would like your next review to be incredibly positive and look forward to hearing from you and earning back your loyalty to Parker Inn and Suites.

Sincerely - Parker Inn and Suites General Manager, Alexis Crank-Harrison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Parker Inn. The staff I interacted with at the front desk were very friendly and accommodating. They were very knowledgeable about the area and had great suggestions for local restaurants.

The room I stayed in was very spacious and well kept, I tend to do an inspection of any hotel room I stay at upon entering and the Parker definitely impressed me.

I highly recommend when you are in the Schenectady area to stay at this place, I would absolutely again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Parker Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parker Inn and Suites

Address: 434 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Parker Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient. Historic. Intimate. Situated at the center of Downtown Schenectady, The Parker Inn & Suites provides an ideal destination whether your stay is for leisure or business.  Our convenient location allows for easy access to downtown businesses, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. With easy access to major interstates, enjoy all that New York's Capital Region has to offer. The studio and one bedroom rooms at The Parker Inn & Suites offer a balance of historic finishes and modern amenities including kitchens in select units.  Recently under new ownership and management, we are sure you will love the changes being made.  Whether you are enjoying a show at the famous Proctors Theatre, in town for a meeting, or with us for an extended business stay, our staff looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Parker Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parker Hotel Schenectady
Parker Hotel Schenectady

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parker Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.