We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parker Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added The Parker Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Parker Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   434 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Schenectady
Amesbury, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Alexis at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Beautiful hotel right downtown with good security. The rooms have a nice kitchen and everything is updated. The inn is full of history with a list of celebs who have stayed here. I would suggest that this place be your first stop if you are looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
13
14
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

had to go to a wedding in Schenectady. was told of the parker inn. called to make reservation. my first question: do you have early check in. I was assured they did. he even asked me what time I wanted. when we arrived at that time, not one, but two different women told us there was no early check in. refused to even discuss it. " check in is at 3:00." end of story. when my daughter arrived at 2;50, THEY REFUSED TO LET HER CHECK IN UNTIL 3. seriously??? she tried to explain that she had to get ready for a wedding that she was in. tough... check in 3:00. what in the world has happened to customer service. the primary reason I stayed there was because I was assured there was early check in. we were only there overnight, but we didn't see one other guest. then the room...adequate but not exceptional. the toilet seat was falling off, but they did send someone within the hour to fix that. you'd think they could provide a tea bag and a box of tissues. makes me wonder what in the world they were doing while forcing us to twiddle our thumbs until 3:00. certainly not stocking up on non existent amenities. only 2 small, flat pillows for the bed and no extra to be found. and after 11 p.m. no one to ask for one. they neglected to mention when I made the reservation that the restaurant was closed. we were told the hotel is under new management. I hope they read this and if they do, three pieces of advice. 1) take a course of customer service. we weren't asking for anything extraordinary, just to be able to check in between 1-2 as we were told we could. 2) your amenities are pathetic. I have stayed at $89.00 a night motels that have done better . and lastly, you might want to institute a dress code ( a thin white dress with no underwear seems a bit unprofessional)and insist your employees actually stay at the desk. i have no doubt this will be my first, and last, trip to the parker inn. I would advise anyone who is thinking about staying there to do some homework on the other available inns and if you still choose the parker, keep your expectations very low.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great location in downtown Schenectady next to the Procter. The hotel is old, so I was somewhat concerned about the rooms, however I was very pleasantly surprised. We were the first to stay in a nicely renovated room which included a full kitchen and large shower. We were expecting a standard room and were very happy.

Room Tip: Small rooms are in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosters, Switzerland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

7 storey building in the middle of State Street (downtown). Extremely tired and some bits must date back to the early 1900`s when it was built. How people can give this 5* I have no idea. Thankfully they are renovating floor by floor, so choose room carefully. Biggest disappointment for me was there was a huge bar area but no breakfast provided. Walked across the street and found Diana`s breakfast cafe which was OK. (Breakfast burrito recomended). They have free internet at both places by the way.
parking is available outside the hotel on State Street as a drop off zone (for 15mins) and also free in the car park behind the Hampton Inn.
The rooms were good, but nevertheless it doesnt get a good rating because its a poor place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Good: Showers are nice, good beds, nice rooms, clean, wireless and cable LAN access. It's a very nice conversion of what were once offices, and the building is one of the tallest old buildings in downtown Schenectady with a great view if you are on the upper floors. You have direct access to the famous Proctors Theater which gets major shows from out of New York City. Heat and AC worked fine, but a 'fan' setting to circulate air would have been nice so it wouldn't cycle on and off. The system has a real thermostat.

The Bad: The devil is in attention to details.
1) The staff ought to be able to tell someone where the designated free parking is instead of "park anywhere". ( It's behind the building in a 'pay' parking lot. You have to then enter the back of Proctors arcade and walk to the other end of the arcade to get to the entry for the Parker - if the door entry on the interior of the arcade is shut, you have to buzz in or go outside to the front of the building at the opposite end of the arcade.)
2) There is no breakfast provided, no information as to the nearest places to eat, no phone book, much less any information as to where to get ice for your room. ( Never found out)
3) There was no pad of paper, nor a pen to be found in the room. Not even a minifridge to use. 4) Pillows needed replaced- they were small and lumpy.
5) Vellux blankets on the bed are horrible to sleep under, and there were no cotton or acrylic alternatives.
6) A room for 4 ought to have 4 water glasses (Even plastic would have been better than ONE glass one)and 4 coffee cups with enough supplies for 4 people.
7) A room for 4 people ought to have enough towels for 4 people ( and a bathmat) with none torn or worn through ( we had one of each).
8) A room for 4 also ought to have a box of tissues, and more than ONE chair.
9) The attempts to use the phone for a local call on an outside line failed.
10) The TV remote didn't work correctly and there was no channel guide.
11) There was only one luggage stand in the closet, but it did have 4 hangers.
12) You could get drinks at the main desk, but no snacks were available.

The Ugly: The Day's Inn nearby is not as nice- and with the price rate we got it was only $12 more per night to stay at the Parker- ($99 a night ) but the online search price is shown at $164 a night. The Parker was worth $99 a night- but it still lacked items provided freely at the Day's Inn ( which we had stayed at before.) and given the above it certainly was *not* worth $164 a night. There are no other amenities available except a bar, 'smoothies' on request ( you pay) and a cafe apparently- but we never saw a menu. There wasn't one in the room either. The access to the Parker is limited to begin with, one can't park out front and walk in to check in easily, and unless you know your way around Schenectady it will be quite confusing.

Conclusion: A comfortable stay, but attention to details could really make this a great place to stay by including amenities provided by lesser hotels. We stayed 2 nights at a reduced rate and were glad we saved the extra money we could have been paying. I would certainly stay at the Parker again, but given some of the circumstances a patron has to cope with to be there it would really help them if they bothered to provide a few more standard amenities. I have never seen a torn towel, or one that was worn through, provided to a room, and we got both at the same time. A small light breakfast supply in the morning ( with coffee) could be done in the lobby- or in the bar just past the front desk, and there is no excuse for a staff person being unable or unwilling to tell someone where to park for free, particularly when the patron must walk in to the lobby. I sincerely hope someone from the Parker management reads this review.

Room Tip: Upper floors ( 4 and up ) have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you have to stay overnight in Schenectady, this is not a bad place to do it.

Our room was clean, spacious, and totally adequate. The bathroom, however, was AMAZING. It had the most incredible shower I've ever experienced. My traveling companion is still raving about it years later - how he dreams about getting one of his own :-)

The only reason I can't give it five stars is because the breakfast room was actually a bar, and didn't have a very welcoming feel during daylight hours. Other than that, no complaints.

The front desk staff were very helpful, if slightly overwhelmed and understaffed in the evening. During the daytime, there was a concierge available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Just got back from surprising my husband with a weekend getaway for our anniversary at The Parker Inn. We stayed in a newly renovated room with a full kitchen. From the moment we arrived until checkout, we experienced nothing but great service. Drinks at the bar before hitting an 8:00 show at Proctor’s theater, I could not have asked for a better atmosphere. I saw some negative reviews on here but honestly, I have to say, my experience was nothing but a success from start to finish. Thank you to the staff at Parker Inn for making this such a special weekend and I cant wait to come back!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Parker Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parker Inn and Suites

Also Known As:
The Parker Hotel Schenectady
Parker Hotel Schenectady
The Parker Hotel
Address: 434 State St, Schenectady, NY 12305
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Parker Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient. Historic. Intimate. Situated at the center of Downtown Schenectady, The Parker Inn & Suites provides an ideal destination whether your stay is for leisure or business.  Our convenient location allows for easy access to downtown businesses, restaurants, shopping and nightlife. With easy access to major interstates, enjoy all that New York's Capital Region has to offer. The studio and one bedroom rooms at The Parker Inn & Suites offer a balance of historic finishes and modern amenities including kitchens in select units.  Recently under new ownership and management, we are sure you will love the changes being made.  Whether you are enjoying a show at the famous Proctors Theatre, in town for a meeting, or with us for an extended business stay, our staff looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Parker Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Parker Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.