We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, inexpensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   759 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12307-1288   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Schenectady
alexandria va
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“ok, inexpensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

room was about $50 per night, It was convenient exit from interstate and in a convenient location in so-so neighborhood but it felt safe, This is a basic overnight stay. The room was comfortable with good TV and a refrigerator but no coffee maker. The continental breakfast started at 0730 and was basic but sufficient. Staff could be more attentative but they did their job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo,NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had to go to Schenectady due to a family emergency, so really no extra money for the trip. We took a chance on this motel.Reviews said it was clean, which is what I cared about most. And it was true. The bathroom was spotless! I am a clean freak especially when traveling..I would have checked out in a heartbeat if I was at all unhappy with cleanliness. Owners were on site and friendly. Coffee in AM. no bagels or anything else, but for 47.00 per nite, so what? Some complained about neighborhood, but the Hampton Inn we have stayed in for 165 per nite is two blocks away, as is the famous Proctor Theatre. You need to search to find places to eat, Blue Ribbon (1800 State st.) is a good diner, and there is a swanky Inn in the historic district with an upscale menu...didn't find it in time to eat there. It is your average motel, has cable, but it is clean.

Room Tip: Dedicated non smoking rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed one night for visiting Union College. The hotel looks rundown but was conveniently located, though not in the nicest part of town. The room and bathroom were very clean and
everything worked. Plenty of clean towels and good water pressure in the shower. Fairly basic but comfortable enough.

Because of prior old reviews, I did feel concerned about safety as there didn't seem to be anyone in the front office at night. Otherwise I was given a quiet room by the manager who
seemed attentive to my request.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel was recommended by Orbitz which are affiliated with Amtrak. I was told by Orbitz it was a 3.5 out of 5. My husband was picking me up at the train station, but got caught in traffice in New York. The amtrak attendant did not really know where this hotel was, so I started up the long hill on State Street. The hotel is in a terrible area, and has no curb appeal at all. I was prepaid through Orbitz. When the desk person came out, he was surly looking with red eyes. I was by myself and he asked for payment, I told him it was prepaid. He made some phone call to someone and then said ok. I fortunately had the confirmation printout with me otherwise I may have been hitting the streets again. I asked to see a room first. The rooms were spotless very clean and had been redone completely. I was the only person staying at this hotel. There was supposed to be a continental breakfast, there was some coffee thats it. I wanted to call my husband and could not get a line out of the room, I went to front desk twice and due to language barrier never did get a line out. My husband got there and we left first thing the next morning. Would not advise for woman on her own or even with another woman. Schenectady not a very appealing town police everywhere so you know somethings up.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schenectady
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Schenectady
Hampton Inn Schenectady
#1 of 12 in Schenectady
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
Mallozzi's Belvedere Inn
#2 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Schenectady
Quality Inn Schenectady
#6 of 12 in Schenectady
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Stockade Inn
The Stockade Inn
#3 of 12 in Schenectady
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Parker Inn & Suites
The Parker Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Schenectady
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West

Address: 759 State Street, Schenectady, NY 12307-1288
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Schenectady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Schenectady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Schenectady
Schenectady Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn-Schenectady/Albany West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.